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death or serious physical injury; including a 
knife, an axe, a club, metal knuckles, or an 
explosive; � 
    (18) "defensive weapon" means an electric 
stun gun, or a device to dispense mace or a 
similar chemical agent, that is not designed to 
cause death or serious physical injury; � 
    (24) "firearm" means a weapon, including a 
pistol, revolver, rifle, or shotgun, whether loaded 
or unloaded, operable or inoperable, designed 
for discharging a shot capable of causing death 
or serious physical injury; � 
    (45) "possess" means having physical pos-
session or the exercise of dominion or control 
over property; �. 
 

Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing 
 

Chapter 18.65. Police Protection 
 
    18.65.700. Permit to carry a concealed 
handgun.  
    (a) The department shall issue a permit to 
carry a concealed handgun to a person who  
    (1) applies in person at an office of the Alaska 
State Troopers;  
    (2) qualifies under AS 18.65.705;  
    (3) submits a completed application on a form 
provided by the department, that provides the in-
formation required under AS 18.65.705 and 
18.65.710; with each application form provided 
by the department, the department shall provide 
a copy of the state laws and regulations relating 
to concealed handguns, which must include a 
concise summary of where, when, and by whom 
a handgun can be carried under state and 
federal law;  
    (4) submits two complete sets of fingerprints 
on Federal Bureau of Investigation approved 
fingerprint cards that are of sufficient quality so 
that the fingerprints may be processed; the fing-
erprints must be taken by a person, group, or 
agency approved by the department; the depart-
ment shall maintain a list of persons, groups, or 
agencies approved to take fingerprints and shall 
provide the list to the public upon request;  
    (5) submits evidence of successful completion 
of a handgun course as provided in AS 
18.65.715;  
    (6) provides one frontal view color photograph 
of the person taken within the preceding 30 days 
that includes the head and shoulders of the per-
son and is of a size specified by the department;  
    (7) shows a valid Alaska driver's license or 
identification card at the time of application;  
    (8) does not suffer a physical infirmity that 
prevents the safe handling of a handgun; and  
    (9) pays the application fee required by AS 
18.65.720.  
    (b) The department shall either approve or re-
ject an application for a permit to carry a con-
cealed handgun under (a) of this section within 
30 days of receipt of the application. If the de-

partment has not received necessary fingerprint 
eligibility information from another agency by the 
end of this 30-day period, and the applicant is 
otherwise eligible, the department shall issue a 
conditional permit to the applicant subject to im-
mediate revocation under the procedure provid-
ed in AS 18.65.740(a) - (c) if the fingerprint infor-
mation subsequently discloses that the applicant 
is ineligible for a permit. The department shall 
notify the applicant in writing of the reason for a 
rejection.  
    (c) A person whose application is rejected 
under this section may appeal the rejection deci-
sion to the commissioner. A person may seek 
judicial review of the decision of the commis-
sioner under AS 44.62.560 - 44.62.570.  
    (d) A permit issued under (a) of this section is 
valid for five years from the date of issue. 
    (e) The department shall issue a permit to 
carry a concealed handgun to an honorably re-
tired peace officer of this state who applies for a 
concealed handgun permit within one year of the 
officer's retirement and who satisfies the require-
ments of this subsection. To qualify for a permit 
under this subsection, an honorably retired 
peace officer must satisfy (a)(1) - (3) and (6) - 
(9) of this section and, unless the honorably re-
tired peace officer has qualified with a handgun 
within five years of the officer's retirement, must 
also satisfy (a)(5) of this section. The depart-
ment may not require an honorably retired 
peace officer applying under this subsection to 
comply with (a)(4) of this section to receive a 
permit. The department shall issue the permit 
without submitting information to or receiving 
permit eligibility information from the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation. The department may 
adopt regulations to define an "honorably retired 
peace officer" and the evidence that must be 
submitted to establish eligibility under this sub-
section. 
   18.65.748. Permit holders from other juris-
dictions considered Alaska permit holders. A 
person holding a valid permit to carry a conceal-
ed handgun from another state or a political 
subdivision of another state  
     (1) with permit requirements similar to those 
in AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 is a permittee under 
AS 18.65.700(b) for purposes of AS 18.65.750 - 
18.65.765 if the person has not been in Alaska 
for more than 120 consecutive days; in this par-
agraph, "permit requirements similar to those in 
AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790" means that, in order 
to receive and hold the permit in  the other state 
or political subdivision, the person must 
    (A) be at least 21 years of age; 
    (B) be eligible to own or possess a handgun 
under state or federal law; 
    (C) successfully complete some type of hand-
gun or firearms safety course; and 
    (D) be subject to a fingerprint-based criminal 
records search; 

    (2) is a permittee under AS 18.65.700(b) for 
purposes of AS 18.65.750 - 18.65.765 if the per-
son has not been in Alaska for more than 120 
consecutive days and the other state or political 
subdivision allows a permittee under AS 
18.65.700 - 18.65.790 to carry a concealed 
handgun in the other state or political subdivi-
sion; the department shall determine which 
states or political subdivisions grant reciprocity 
to permittees under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 
and shall distribute a list of those jurisdictions to 
each law enforcement agency in this state .  
    18.65.778. Municipal preemption. A munici-
pality may not restrict the carrying of a conceal-
ed handgun by permit under AS 18.65.700 - 
18.65.790. 
    18.65.790. Definitions. In AS 18.65.700 - 
18.65.790, � 
    (3) "concealed handgun" means a firearm, 
that is a pistol or a revolver, and that is covered 
or enclosed in any manner so that an observer 
cannot determine that it is a handgun without re-
moving it from that which covers or encloses it 
or without opening, lifting, or removing that 
which covers or encloses it; however, "con-
cealed handgun" does not include a shotgun, 
rifle, or a prohibited weapon as defined under 
AS 11.61.200 ; 
 

Title 29. Municipal Government 
 
Chapter 29.35. Municipal Powers and Duties 
     
    29.35.145. Regulation of Firearms.  
    (a) A municipality may not, except by ordi-
nance ratified by the voters, restrict the right to 
own or possess firearms within a residence or 
transport unloaded firearms.  
    (b) This section applies to home rule and gen-
eral law municipalities. 
 
[Current through 2000 Legislative Session, 
including 2000 Alaska Sess. Laws 94 (SB 294)] 
 

Publisher�s Notes: 
 
Anchorage restricts the age at which it is law-
ful for a person to purchase or receive a fire-
arm. 
 
Fairbanks imposes recordkeeping require-
ments as a condition of lawful sale of fire-
arms. 
 
City and Borough of Juneau restricts the sale 
and possession of destructive devices which 
include tracer or incendiary ammunition (ex-
cept for shotguns) and weapons of a calibre 
greater than .60 caliber which fire fixed 
ammunition (other than shotguns). 
 

 

AMERICAN SAMOA 
AM. SAMOA CODE 

 
Title 46, Chapter 42. Weapons 

 
    46.4201. Definitions. � 
    (d) �Firearm� means any weapon that is 
designed or adapted to expel a projectile by the 
action of an explosive. 
    (e) �Firearm silencer� means any instru-
ment, attachment, or appliance that is designed 
or adapted to muffle the noise made by the firing 
of any firearm. � 

    (j) �Machinegun� means any firearm that is 
capable of firing more than two (2) shots auto-
matically, without manual reloading, by a single 
function of the trigger. 
    (l) �Rifle� means any firearm designed or 
adapted to be fired from the shoulder and to use 
the energy of the explosive in a fixed metallic 
cartridge to fire a projectile through a rifled bore 
by a single function of the trigger. 

    (m) �Short barrel� means any barrel length 
of less than 16� for a rifle and 18� for a shotgun, 
or an overall rifle and shotgun length of less than 
26�. 
    (n) �Shotgun� means any firearm designed 
or adapted to be fired from the shoulder and to 
use the energy of the explosive in a fixed shot-
gun shell to fire a number of shots or single pro-
jectile through a smoothbore barrel by a single 
function of the trigger. 
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    46.4202. Prohibited weapons. 
    (a) A person commits a crime if he knowingly 
possesses, manufactures, transports, repairs, or 
sells: 
    (1) an explosive weapons; 
    (2) a machinegun;� 
    (4) a short-barreled rifle or shotgun; 
    (5) a silencer; � 
    (b) A person does not commit a crime under 
this section if his conduct: 
    (1) was incident to the performance of official 
duty by the armed forces, a governmental law 
enforcement agency, or a penal institution; 
    (2) was incident to engaging in a lawful com-
mercial or business transaction with an organi-
zation listed in paragraph (b)(1); or 
    (3) was incident to using an explosive weapon 
reasonably related to a lawful industrial or com-
mercial enterprise; 
    (4) was incident to displaying the weapon in a 
public museum or exhibition; or 
    (5) was incident to dealing with the weapon 
solely as a curio, ornament, or keepsake, or to 
using it in a manner reasonably related to a law-
ful dramatic performance; but if the weapon is a 
type described in paragraph (a)(1), (3), (4), or 
(5), it must be in a nonfunctioning condition that 
it cannot readily be made operable. No machine-
gun may be possessed, manufactured, trans-
ported, repaired, or sold as a curio, ornament, or 
keepsake even if it is inoperable and cannot be 
made readily operable. 
    (c) The defendant has the burden of injecting 
the issue of an exemption under subsection (b). 
�  
    (d) A crime under paragraph (a)(1), (2), (3), 
(4), or (5) is a class C felony; a crime under 
paragraph (a)(6), (7), or (8) is a class A 
misdemeanor. 
    46.4205. Possession of a defaced firearm. 
    (a) A person commits the crime of possession 
of a defaced firearm if he knowingly possesses a 
firearm which does not have the manufacturer�s 
or importer�s serial number engraved or cast on 
the receiver or frame of the firearm. 
    (b) Possession of a defaced firearm is a class 
B misdemeanor. 
    46.4206. Unlawful transfer of weapons. 
    (a) A person commits the crime of unlawful 
transfer of weapons if he: 
    (1) knowingly sells, leases, loans, gives away, 
or delivers a firearm or ammunition for a firearm 
to any person, who, under the provisions of 
46.4207, is not lawfully entitled to possess it. 
    (2) Knowingly sells, leases, loans, gives 
away, or delivers a � rifle, shotgun � to a per-
son less than 18 years old without the consent 
of the child's custodial parent or guardian, or 
recklessly sells, leases, loans, gives away, or 
delivers any other firearm to a person less than 
18 years old; provided, that this does not prohibit 
delivery of those weapons to any peace officer 
or member of the armed forces while performing 
his official duty; or 
    (3) recklessly sells, leases, loans, gives away, 
or delivers a firearm or ammunition for a firearm 
to a person who is intoxicated. 

    (b) Unlawful transfer of weapons under para-
graph (a)(1) is a class D felony; unlawful transfer 
of weapons under paragraphs (a)(2) and (3) is a 
class A misdemeanor.  
    46.4207. Unlawful possession of firearms 
and firearm ammunition. 
    (a) A person commits the crime of unlawful 
possession of a firearm or firearm ammunition if 
he has any firearm or firearm ammunition in his 
possession, and 
    (1) he has been convicted of a dangerous 
felony or confined therefor in this territory or 
elsewhere during the 5-year period immediately 
preceding the date of that possession; or 
    (2) he is a fugitive from justice, a habitual 
drunkard, a drug addict, or is currently adjudged 
mentally incompetent. 
    (b) Unlawful possession of a firearm or fire-
arm ammunition is a class C felony. 
    46.4220. Definition of �arms� as used in 
46.4220 through 46.4234. �Arms� includes 
guns, rifles, pistols, air rifles, gas rifles, gas pis-
tols, ammunition, shells, cartridges, gunpowder, 
dynamite, nitroglycerine, blasting powder, fire-
works, and all other firearms and explosives and 
materials for the manufacture of the same. 
    46.4221. License - Required when. 
    (a) It is unlawful of any person, whether per-
manently or temporarily resident within Ameri-
can Samoa or whether on shore or on board any 
vessel, anchored, moored, or docked in any har-
bor in American Samoa, to have in his posses-
sion any arms without first having obtained a 
license from the commissioner of public safety. 
    (b) A license to possess arms shall not be is-
sued by the commissioner of public safety un-
less the application therefor has been approved 
by the attorney general. 
    (c) A license shall be issued only for this own-
ership and possession of 12, 16, 20 and 410 
gauge shotguns and shotgun shells and 22 
caliber rifles. �. 
    46.4222. License - Required for import. 
    (a) It is unlawful of any person to import arms 
into American Samoa without having obtained a 
license therefor from the commissioner of public 
safety. 
    (b) A license to import arms shall not be issu-
ed by the commissioner of public safety unless 
the application has been approved by the 
attorney general. 
    (c) Unless otherwise authorized, only those 
shotguns and rifles referred to in section 
46.221(c) ASCA may be imported with licenses. 
�. 
    46.4223. License - Required for the sale of 
arms. 
    (a) It is unlawful for any person to sell or in 
any other way transfer the right of possession of 
any arms without having obtained from the com-
missioner of public safety a license to sell arms. 
The application for such license shall contain 
such information as may be required by the 
commissioner of public safety. 
    (b) A license to sell arms shall not be issued 
by the commissioner of public safety unless the 
application for the license has been approved by 

the attorney general. No license shall be issued 
for the sale of arms other than shotguns and .22 
caliber rifles as set out in 46.221(c) and ammu-
nition therefor. 
    46.4224. License - Information required. 
    (a) Every person who obtains a license to 
possess, import, or sell arms shall, upon the wri-
tten request of the Governor or his designated 
representative, furnish such information con-
cerning such arms as may be reasonably 
required. 
    (b) Each license issued shall specify the num-
ber, quantity, and description of the arms which 
may be possessed, imported, or sold, or other-
wise transferred under it. �. 
    46.4226. License - Revocation. Any license 
issued under authority of this Title may be alter-
ed or revoked by the Governor or his designated 
representative at any time for good cause. 
    46.227. License - Renewal. 
    (a) Licenses to possess arms shall expire on 
10 January of the year following their issue. 
Each holder of a license to possess arms shall, 
between the 1st and the 10th of January of each 
year, submit his license to possess arms for the 
previous year, together with the annual license 
fee, to the commissioner of public safety. 
    (b) The commissioner of public safety may 
renew the license with or without examining the 
arms for which the license is to be issued; but 
the holder of the license shall, upon the demand 
of the commissioner of public safety, submit the 
arms to him for examination. 
    46.4229. Sales to persons without 
licenses. (a) No person shall sell or otherwise 
transfer any arms to any person who does not 
hold a valid and existing license to possess the 
particular firearms to be sold. �. 
    46.4233. Authorized possession and use of 
arms without license. 
    (a) This chapter does not prohibit the posses-
sion and use of arms and other police weapons 
by any member of the police force, armed forces 
of the United States or employees if the govern-
ment of the United States and law enforcement 
officers of other states or territories if these arms 
are properly issued by the issuing authorities 
and are brought into the Territory in the course 
of performance of official duties. 
    (b) The Governor or his designated represent-
ative may authorize the police of any village to 
possess and use arms in connection with his 
official duties without first obtaining a license.  
    (c) The Governor may enter into reciprocal 
agreements with states whose law enforcement 
officers may be assigned on official duty to the 
Territory to permit these law enforcement 
officers to carry firearms without registration. 
    46.4234. Violation penalty - Disposition of 
confiscated arms. (a) Any person who violates 
any of the provisions of this chapter or who 
refuses to obey any lawful order issued under 
the authority of this chapter is guilty of a class A 
misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be 
sentenced accordingly, and any arms involved 
may be confiscated by the government. �. 
 

 

ARIZONA 
ARIZ. REV. STATS. 

 
Title 13. Criminal Code 

 
Chapter 9. Probation and Restoration of Civil 

Rights 
 

    13-912. Restoration of civil rights; auto-
matic for first offenders; persons excluded. 
    A. Upon completion of the term of probation, 
or upon absolute discharge from imprisonment, 
and upon the completion of payment of any fine 
or restitution imposed, any person who has not 

previously been convicted of any other felony 
shall automatically be restored any civil rights 
which were lost or suspended by the conviction. 
    B. This section does not apply to a person's 
right to possess weapons as defined in section 


