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MARYLAND 
MD. CODE 

 
Article 27. Crimes and Punishments 

 
Carrying or Wearing Weapon 

 
    36. Carrying or wearing concealed wea-
pon; carrying openly with intent to injure; 
carrying by person under eighteen at night in 
certain counties. 
    (a) In general. 
    (1) Every person who shall wear or carry any 
dirk knife, bowie knife, switchblade knife, star 
knife, sandclub, metal knuckles, razor, nuncha-
ku, or any other dangerous or deadly weapon of 
any kind, whatsoever (penknives without switch-
blade and handguns, excepted) concealed upon 
or about his person, and every person who shall 
wear or carry any such weapon, chemical mace, 
pepper mace, or tear gas device openly with the 
intent or purpose of injuring any person in any 
unlawful manner, shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor, and upon conviction, shall be fined not 
more than $1,000 or be imprisoned in jail, or 
sentenced to the Maryland Department of 
Correction for not more than three years.  
    (2) In case of a conviction under the provi-
sions of this subsection, if it shall appear from 
the evidence that such weapon was carried, 
concealed or openly, with the deliberate purpose 
of injuring the person or destroying the life of an-
other, the court shall impose the highest sen-
tence of imprisonment prescribed.  
    (3) In Cecil, Anne Arundel, Talbot, Harford, 
Caroline, Prince George's, Montgomery, St. 
Mary's, Washington, Worcester, Kent, and Balti-
more Counties it shall also be unlawful and a 
misdemeanor, punishable as provided in para-
graph (1) of this subsection, for any person un-
der eighteen years of age to carry any danger-
ous or deadly weapon, other than a handgun, 
between one hour after sunset and one hour be-
fore sunrise, whether concealed or not, except 
while on a bona fide hunting trip, or except while 
engaged in or on the way to or returning from a 
bona fide trap shoot, sport shooting event, or 
any organized civic or military activity.  
    (b) Possession of pepper mace.-  
    (1) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this 
section, a minor may not possess pepper mace, 
either openly or concealed.  
    (2) A person who violates this subsection is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction shall 
be subject to a fine of up to $1,000 or imprison-
ment for up to 3 years or both. � 
    (f) Exceptions. Nothing in this section shall 
be construed to prevent the carrying of any of 
the weapons mentioned in subsections (a) and 
(b) of this section by:  
    (1) An officer of this State, or of any county or 
city, who is entitled or required to carry such 
weapon as part of the officer's official equip-
ment, or by any conservator of the peace, who is 
entitled or required to carry such weapon as part 
of the conservator's official equipment, or by any 
officer or conservator of the peace of some other 
state temporarily sojourning in this State;  
    (2) Any special agent of a railway;  
    (3) Any person to whom a permit to carry a 
concealed weapon has been issued under § 
36E of this article; or   
    (4) Any person who shall carry such weapon 
as a reasonable precaution against appre-
hended danger, but the tribunal before which 

any case arising under the provisions of this 
section may be tried, shall have the right to 
judge of the reasonableness of the carrying of 
any such weapon, and the proper occasion 
therefor, under the evidence in the case. 
 
Carrying Deadly Weapons on Public School 

Property 
 
    36A. Carrying or possessing deadly wea-
pon upon school property. 
    (a) In general. No person, unless otherwise 
excepted in this section, shall carry or possess 
any rifle, gun, knife, or deadly weapon of any 
kind on any public school property in this State.  
    (b) Exceptions. Nothing in this section shall 
be construed to apply to:  
    (1) Law enforcement officers in the regular 
course of their duty;  
    (2) Persons hired by the boards of education 
in the counties and Baltimore City specifically for 
the purpose of guarding public school property;  
    (3) Persons engaged in organized shooting 
activity for educational purposes; or  
    (4) Persons who, with a written invitation from 
the school principal, display or engage in histori-
cal demonstrations using weapons or replicas of 
weapons for educational purposes.  
    (c) Penalty. Any person who violates this sec-
tion shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and on 
conviction shall be sentenced to pay a fine of no 
more than $1,000 or shall be sentenced to the 
Maryland Department of Correction for a period 
of not more than 3 years. Any such person who 
shall be found to carry a handgun in violation of 
this section, shall be sentenced as provided in § 
36B of this article. 
 

Handguns 
 

    36B. Wearing, carrying or transporting 
handgun; unlawful use in commission of 
crime. 
    (a) Declaration of policy�.  
    (b) Unlawful wearing, carrying, or trans-
porting of handguns; penalties. Any person 
who shall wear, carry, or transport any handgun, 
whether concealed or open, upon or about his 
person, and any person who shall wear, carry or 
knowingly transport any handgun, whether con-
cealed or open, in any vehicle traveling upon the 
public roads, highways, waterways, or airways 
or upon roads or parking lots generally used by 
the public in this State shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor; and it shall be a rebuttable presumption 
that the person is knowingly transporting the 
handgun; and on conviction of the misdemeanor 
shall be fined or imprisoned as follows: 
    (1) If the person has not previously been con-
victed of unlawfully wearing, carrying or trans-
porting a handgun in violation of this section, or 
of unlawfully using a handgun in the commission 
of a crime in violation of subsection (d) of this 
section, or of unlawfully carrying a concealed 
weapon in violation of § 36 of this article, or of 
unlawfully carrying a deadly weapon on public 
school property in violation of § 36A of this art-
icle, he shall be fined not less than two hundred 
and fifty ($250.00) dollars, nor more than twenty-
five hundred ($2,500.00) dollars, or be impris-
oned in jail or sentenced to the Maryland Divis-
ion of Correction for a term of not less than 30 

days nor more than three years, or both; pro-
vided, however, that if it shall appear from the 
evidence that the handgun was worn, carried, or 
transported on any public school property in this 
State, the court shall impose a sentence of 
imprisonment of not less than 90 days. 
    (2) If the person has previously been once 
convicted of unlawfully wearing, carrying, or 
transporting a handgun in violation of this sec-
tion, or of unlawfully using a handgun in the 
commission of a crime in violation of subsection 
(d) of this section, or of unlawfully carrying a 
concealed weapon in violation of § 36 of this art-
icle, or of unlawfully carrying a deadly weapon 
on public school property in violation of § 36A of 
this article, he shall be sentenced to the Mary-
land Division of Correction for a term of not less 
than 1 year nor more than 10 years, and it is 
mandatory upon the court to impose no less 
than the minimum sentence of 1 year; provided, 
however, that if it shall appear from the evidence 
that the handgun was worn, carried, or trans-
ported on any public school property in this 
State, the court shall impose a sentence of im-
prisonment of not less than three years. 
    (3) If the person has previously been con-
victed more than once of unlawfully wearing, 
carrying, or transporting a handgun in violation 
of this section, or of unlawfully using a handgun 
in the commission of a crime in violation of sub-
section (d) of this section, or of unlawfully carry-
ing a concealed weapon in violation of § 36 of 
this article, or of unlawfully carrying a deadly 
weapon on public school property in violation of 
§ 36A of this article, or any combination thereof, 
he shall be sentenced to the Maryland Division 
of Correction for a term of not less than three 
years nor more than 10 years, and it is manda-
tory upon the court to impose no less than the 
minimum sentence of three years; provided, 
however, that if it shall appear from the evidence 
that the handgun was worn, carried, or trans-
ported on any public school property in this 
State, the court shall impose a sentence of im-
prisonment of not less than 5 years. 
    (4) If it shall appear from the evidence that 
any handgun referred to in this subsection was 
carried, worn, or transported with the deliberate 
purpose of injuring or killing another person, the 
court shall impose a sentence of imprisonment 
of not less than 5 years. 
    (c) Exceptions.  
    (1) Nothing in this section shall prevent the 
wearing, carrying, or transporting of a handgun 
by: (i) law-enforcement personnel of the United 
States, or of this State, or of any county or city of 
this State; (ii) members of the armed forces of 
the United States or of the National Guard while 
on duty or traveling to or from duty; (iii) law-en-
forcement personnel of some other state or sub-
division thereof temporarily in this State on offici-
al business; (iv) any jailer, prison guard, warden, 
or guard or keeper at any penal, correctional or 
detention institution in this State; or (v) sheriffs 
and temporary or full-time sheriffs' deputies, as 
to all of whom this exception shall apply only 
when they are on active assignment engaged in 
law enforcement; provided, that any such person 
mentioned in this paragraph is duly authorized at 
the time and under the circumstances he is 
wearing, carrying, or transporting the weapon to 
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wear, carry, or transport such weapon as part of 
his official equipment.  
    (2) Nothing in this section shall prevent the 
wearing, carrying, or transporting of a handgun 
by any person to whom a permit to wear, carry 
or transport any such weapon has been issued 
under § 36E of this article.  
    (3) Nothing in this section shall prevent any 
person from carrying a handgun on his person 
or in any vehicle while transporting the same to 
or from the place of legal purchase or sale, or 
between bona fide residences of the individual, 
or between his bona fide residence and his 
place of business, if the business is operated 
and substantially owned by the individual, or to 
or from any bona fide repair shop. Nothing in 
this section shall prevent any person from wear-
ing, carrying, or transporting a handgun used in 
connection with a target shoot, formal or infor-
mal target practice, sport shooting event, hunt-
ing, a Department of Natural Resources spon-
sored firearms and hunter safety class, trapping, 
dog obedience training class or show or any or-
ganized military activity while engaged in, on the 
way to, or returning from any such activity. Noth-
ing in this section shall prevent any bona fide 
gun collector from moving any part or all of his 
gun collection from place to place for public or 
private exhibition. However, while traveling to or 
from any such place or event referred to in this 
paragraph, a handgun shall be unloaded and 
carried in an enclosed case or enclosed holster.  
    (4) Nothing in this section shall prevent a per-
son from wearing, carrying, or transporting a 
handgun within the confines of real estate 
owned or leased by him or upon which he re-
sides or within the confines of a business estab-
lishment owned or leased by him. Nothing in this 
section shall prevent a supervisory employee 
from wearing, carrying, or transporting a hand-
gun within the confines of a business establish-
ment in which he is employed during such time 
as he is acting in the course of his employment 
and has been authorized to wear, carry, or 
transport the handgun by the owner or manager 
of the business establishment.  
    (5) Nothing in this section shall prevent a per-
son from carrying or transporting any signal pis-
tol or other visual distress signal approved by 
the United States Coast Guard, in any vessel 
used upon the waterways of this State, or if un-
loaded and carried in an enclosed case, in any 
vehicle.  
    (d) Unlawful use of handgun or antique 
firearm in commission of crime; penalties. 
Any person who shall use a handgun or an 
antique firearm capable of being concealed on 
the person in the commission of any felony or 
any crime of violence as defined in § 441 of this 
article, whether operable or inoperable at the 
time of the offense, shall be guilty of a separate 
misdemeanor and on conviction thereof shall, in 
addition to any other sentence imposed by virtue 
of commission of said felony or misdemeanor:� 
    36E. Permits. 
    (a) Issuance. A permit to carry a handgun 
shall be issued within a reasonable time by the 
Secretary of the State Police, upon application 
under oath therefor, to any person whom the 
Secretary finds:  
    (1) Is eighteen years of age or older; and  
    (2) Has not been convicted of a felony or of a 
misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprison-
ment for more than one year has been imposed 
or, if convicted of such a crime, has been par-
doned or has been granted relief pursuant to Ti-
tle 18, § 925 (c) of the United States Code; and  
    (3) If the person is less than 30 years of age 
and who has not been: 

    (i) Committed to any detention, training, or 
correctional institution for juveniles for longer 
than one year after an adjudication of delin-
quency by a juvenile court; or 
    (ii) Adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court 
for: 
    1. A crime of violence; 
    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State; or  
    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; and 
(4) Has not been convicted of any offense in-
volving the possession, use, or distribution of 
controlled dangerous substances; and is not 
presently an addict, an habitual user of any con-
trolled dangerous substance not under legiti-
mate medical direction, or an alcoholic; and  
    (5) Has, based on the results of investigation, 
not exhibited a propensity for violence or insta-
bility which may reasonably render his posses-
sion of a handgun a danger to himself or other 
law-abiding persons; and  
    (6) Has, based on the results of investigation, 
good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or 
transport a handgun, provided however, that the 
phrase "good and substantial reason" as used 
herein shall be deemed to include a finding that 
such permit is necessary as a reasonable 
precaution against apprehended danger. � 
    (e) Possession of permit; handguns to 
which applicable. Any person to whom a permit 
shall be issued or renewed shall carry such per-
mit in his possession every time he carries, 
wears, or transports a handgun. A permit issued 
pursuant to this section shall be valid for any 
handgun legally in the possession of the person 
to whom the permit was issued. � 
    (i) Persons authorized to wear or carry 
handgun without permit. Notwithstanding any 
other provision of this subheading, the following 
persons may, to the extent authorized prior to 
March 27, 1972, and subject to the conditions 
specified in this subsection and subsection (j) 
hereof, continue to wear, carry, or transport a 
handgun without a permit:  
    (1) Holders of special police commissions 
issued under Title 4, Subtitle 9 of Article 41 of 
the Annotated Code of Maryland, while actually 
on duty on the property for which the commis-
sion was issued or while traveling to or from 
such duty;  
    (2) Uniformed security guards, special railway 
police, and watchmen who have been cleared 
for such employment by the Department of State 
Police, while in the course of their employment 
or while traveling to or from the place of employ-
ment;  
    (3) Guards in the employ of a bank, savings 
and loan association, building and loan associa-
tion, or express or armored car agency, while in 
the course of their employment or while traveling 
to or from the place of employment; and  
    (4) Private detectives and employees of pri-
vate detectives previously licensed under former 
Article 56, § 90A of the Code, while in the 
course of their employment or while traveling to 
or from the place of employment. 
    (j) Same - Application for permit. Each per-
son referred to in subsection (i) hereof shall, 
within one year after March 27, 1972, make ap-
plication for a permit as provided in this section. 
Such application shall include evidence satisfac-
tory to the Secretary of the State Police that the 
applicant is trained and qualified in the use of 
handguns. The right to wear, carry, or transport 
a handgun provided for in subsection (i) hereof 
shall terminate at the expiration of one year after 
March 27, 1972, if no such application is made, 

or immediately upon notice to the applicant that 
his application for a permit has not been ap-
proved. 
    (k) Meaning of "Secretary". As used in this 
section, Secretary means the Secretary of the 
State Police, acting directly or through duly au-
thorized officers and agents of the Secretary. 
    (l) Permit holder under influence of alcohol 
or drugs. It is unlawful for a person to whom a 
permit has been issued or renewed to carry, 
wear, or transport a handgun while he is under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs. A person vio-
lating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor, 
and upon conviction he shall be fined $1,000 or 
be imprisoned for not more than one year or 
both. 
    36F. Definitions.  
    (a) As used in this subheading, the following 
words have the meanings indicated.  
    (b) "Handgun" means any pistol, revolver, or 
other firearm capable of being concealed on the 
person, including a short-barreled shotgun and a 
short-barreled rifle as these terms are defined 
below, except it does not include a shotgun, rifle 
or antique firearm as those terms are defined 
below.  
    (c) "Antique firearm" means:  
    (1) Any firearm (including any firearm with a 
matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar 
type of ignition system) manufactured in or 
before 1898; and  
    (2) Any replica of any firearm described in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection if such replica:  
    (i) Is not designed or redesigned for using 
rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammuni-
tion, or  
    (ii) Uses rimfire or conventional centerfire 
fixed ammunition which is no longer manufac-
tured in the United States and which is not readi-
ly available in the ordinary channels of commer-
cial trade.  
    (d) "Rifle" means a weapon designed or re-
designed, made or remade, and intended to be 
fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to 
fire only a single projectile through a rifled bore 
for each single pull of the trigger.  
    (e) "Short-barreled shotgun" means a shot-
gun having one or more barrels less than eigh-
teen inches in length and any weapon made 
from a shotgun (whether by alteration, modifica-
tion, or otherwise) if such weapon, as modified, 
has an overall length of less than twenty-six 
inches.  
    (f) "Short-barreled rifle" means a rifle having 
one or more barrels less than sixteen inches in 
length and any weapon made from a rifle 
(whether by alteration, modification, or other-
wise) if such weapon, as modified, has an over-
all length of less than twenty-six inches.  
    (g) "Shotgun" means a weapon designed or 
redesigned, made or remade, and intended to 
be fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire 
through a smooth bore either a number of ball 
shot or a single projectile for each single pull of 
the trigger.  
    (h) "Handgun roster" means the roster of 
permitted handguns compiled by the Board 
under section 36J of this article.  
    (i) "Law enforcement personnel" means:  
    (1) Any full-time member of a police force or 
other agency of the United States, a state, a 
county, a municipality or other political subdivi-
sion who is responsible for the prevention and 
detection of crime and the enforcement of the 
laws of the United States, a state, or of a county 



ATF P 5300.5 (2000 � 22nd ed.) 

page 144 

or municipality or other political sub-division of a 
state;  
    (2) Any part-time member of a police force of 
a county or municipality who is certified by the 
county or municipality as being trained and qual-
ified in the use of handguns; and  
    (3) Any fire investigator of the Prince George's 
County Fire Department who:   
    (i) Is certified by Prince George's County as 
being trained and qualified in the use of hand-
guns; and  
    (ii) Has met the minimum qualifications and 
has satisfactorily completed the training required 
by the Maryland Police Training Commission.  
    (j) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
State Police, or the Secretary's designee.  
    (k) "Vehicle" means any motor vehicle, as 
defined in Title 11 of the Transportation Article, 
trains, aircraft, and vessels.  
    (l) "Board" means the Handgun Roster 
Board. 
   36H. State preemption of weapons and am-
munition regulations. 
    (a) Handguns, rifles, shotguns, and ammu-
nition. Except as provided in sub-sections (b), 
(c), and (d) of this section, the State of Maryland 
hereby preempts the rights of any county, muni-
cipal corporation, or special taxing district wheth-
er by law, ordinance, or regulation to regulate 
the purchase, sale, taxation, transfer, manufac-
ture, repair, ownership, possession, and trans-
portation of the following:  
    (1) Handgun, as defined in § 36F (b) of this 
article;  
    (2) Rifle, as defined in § 36F (d) of this article;  
    (3) Shotgun, as defined in § 36F (g) of this 
article; and  
    (4) Ammunition and components for the 
above enumerated items.  
    (b) Exceptions.- Any county, municipal cor-
poration, or special taxing district may regulate 
the purchase, sale, transfer, ownership, posses-
sion, and transportation of the weapons and am-
munition listed in subsection (a) of this section:  
    (1) With respect to minors;  
    (2) With respect to these activities on or within 
100 yards of parks, churches, schools, public 
buildings, and other places of public assembly; 
howver, the teaching of firearms safety training 
or other educational or sporting use may not be 
prohibited; and  
    (3) With respect to law enforcement personnel 
of the subdivision.  
    (c) Authority to amend local laws or reg-
ulations. To the extent that local laws or regula-
tions do not create an inconsistency with the 
provisions of this section or expand existing reg-
ulatory control, any county, municipal corpora-
tion, or special taxing district may exercise its 
existing authority to amend any local laws or 
regulations that exist before January 1, 1985.  
    (d) Discharge of handguns, rifles, and 
shotguns. In accordance with law, any county, 
municipal corporation, or special taxing district 
may continue to regulate the discharge of hand-
guns, rifles, and shotguns, but may not prohibit 
the discharge of firearms at established ranges. 
 

Assault Pistols 
 
    36H-1. Assault pistols defined. In this sub-
heading, "assault pistol" means any of the fol-
lowing specified firearms or their copies regard-
less of which company produced and manufac-
tured the firearm:  
    (1) AA Arms AP-9 semiautomatics;  
    (2) Bushmaster semiautomatic pistol;  
    (3) Claridge HI-TEC, semiautomatic pistol;  
    (4) D Max Industries semiautomatic pistol;  

    (5) Encom MK-IV, MP-9, MP-45 semi-
automatic pistols;  
    (6) Heckler and Koch semiautomatic SP-89;  
    (7) Holmes MP-83 semiautomatic pistol;  
    (8) Ingram MAC 10/11 semiautomatics and 
any variation including the Partisan Avenger and 
the SWD Cobray;  
    (9) Intratec TEC-9/DC-9 in any centerfire 
variation;  
    (10) P.A.W.S. type semiautomatic pistol;  
    (11) Skorpion semiautomatic pistol;  
    (12) Spectre double action semiautomatic 
pistol (Sile, F.I.E., Mitchell);  
    (13) UZI semiautomatic pistol;  
    (14) Weaver Arms semiautomatic Nighthawk 
pistol; and  
    (15) Wilkinson semiautomatic "Linda" pistol.  
    36H-2. Exemptions from subheading. The 
prohibitions under section 36H-3 of this sub-
heading do not apply to:  
    (1) Personnel of the United States govern-
ment or any agency or department of the United 
States, members of the armed forces of the 
Untied States or of the national guard, or law 
enforcement personnel of this State or any local 
agency in this State while such persons are 
acting within the scope of their official business;  
    (2) Any firearm modified to render it 
permanently inoperative;  
    (3) Purchases, sales, and transport to or by a 
licensed gun dealer or manufacturer who is:  
    (i) Providing or servicing an assault pistol for 
law enforcement agencies or for any entity ex-
empted under paragraph (1) of this section; or  
    (ii) Acting to sell or transfer an assault pistol 
to a licensed gun dealer in another state.  
    (4) Organizations that are required or author-
ized by federal law or regulations governing their 
specific business or activity to maintain assault 
pistols and applicable ammunition;  
    (5) The receipt of an assault pistol by in-
heritance if the decedent lawfully possessed the 
assault pistol; or  
    (6) The receipt of an assault pistol by a per-
sonal representative of an estate for purposes of 
exercising the powers and duties of a personal 
representative of an estate.  
    36H-3. Transportation; possession, sale, 
transfer or purchase as of June 1, 1994. 
    (a) Transportation; possession, transfer or 
purchase. Subject to the provisions of this sub-
heading and except as provided in subsection 
(b) of this section, on or after June 1, 1994, a 
person may not:  
    (1) Transport an assault pistol into the State; 
or  
    (2) Possess, sell, offer to sell, transfer, pur-
chase, or receive an assault pistol in the State.  
    (b) Lawful possession. A person who lawful-
ly possesses an assault pistol before June 1, 
1994 may continue to possess the assault pistol 
if the person registers the assault pistol with the 
Secretary of the State Police before August 1, 
1994. 
    36H-4. Seizure and disposition. Any assault 
pistol in violation may be seized. Any assault 
pistol transported, sold, transferred, purchased, 
received, or possessed in violation of this sub-
heading may be seized by a law enforcement 
agency as contraband and disposed of accord-
ing to regulation.   
    36H-5. Detachable magazines. 
    (a) Applicability. This section does not apply 
to:  
    (1) The personnel or to the agencies specified 
under § 36H-2 (1) through (4) of this sub-
heading; or  
    (2) A transfer described under § 36H-2 (5) or 
(6) of this subheading.  

    (b) Detachable magazines. A person may 
not manufacture, sell, offer for sale, purchase, 
receive, or transfer a detachable magazine for 
any type of firearm, except a .22 caliber rifle with 
a tubular magazine, if the magazine has a 
capacity of more than 20 rounds of ammunition. 
    36H-6. Penalty.  
    (a) Violation of any provision. Any person 
who violates any provision of this subheading is 
upon conviction guilty of a misdemeanor and 
subject to imprisonment for not more than 3 
years or a fine of not more than $5,000 or both.  
    (b) Use in felony or crime of violence. Any 
person who uses an assault pistol, or a 
magazine that has a capacity of more than 20 
rounds of ammunition, in the commission of any 
felony or any crime of violence as defined in § 
441 of this article shall be guilty of a separate 
misdemeanor and on conviction thereof shall, in 
addition to any other sentence imposed by virtue 
of commission of the felony or misdemeanor:  
    (1) For a first offense, be sentenced to the 
Maryland Division of Correction for a term of not 
less than 5 nor more than 20 years, and:  
    (i) It is mandatory upon the court to impose no 
less than the minimum sentence of 5 years no 
part of which shall be suspended; and  
    (ii) Except as otherwise provided in Article 
31B, § 11 of the Code, the person is not eligible 
for parole in less than 5 years; and  
    (2) For a second or subsequent offense, be 
sentenced to the Maryland Division of Correction 
for a term of not less than 10 nor more than 20 
years, and it is mandatory upon the court to im-
pose no less than a minimum sentence of 10 
years which shall be served consecutively and 
not concurrently to any other sentence imposed 
by virtue of the commission of the felony or mis-
demeanor. 
    36I. Manufacture, sale or offer for sale of 
handguns not included on handgun roster; 
obliteration, removal, etc., of manufacturer's 
identification mark. 
    (a) Manufacture for distribution or sale 
generally. Except as provided in subsection (f) 
of this section, a person may not manufacture 
for distribution or sale any handgun that is not 
included on the handgun roster in the State.  
    (b) Sale or offer for sale generally. A person 
may not sell or offer for sale in the State a hand-
gun manufactured after January 1, 1985 that is 
not on the handgun roster.  
    (c) Obliteration, removal, etc., of manufac-
turer's identification mark. A person may not 
manufacture, sell, or offer for sale any handgun 
on which the manufacturer's identification mark 
or number is obliterated, removed, changed, or 
otherwise altered.  
    (d) Injunctions. The Secretary may seek a 
permanent or temporary injunction from a circuit 
court to enjoin the willful and continuous manu-
facture, sale, or offer for sale, in violation of this 
section, of a handgun not included on the hand-
gun roster.  
    (e) Rules and regulations. Subject to the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
the Secretary of the State Police shall adopt 
rules and regulations necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this section and § 36J of this sub-
heading.  
    (f) Manufacture for distribution or sale of 
other weapons. Nothing in this section shall be 
construed to interfere with:  
    (1) A person's ability to:  
    (i) Manufacture, sell, or offer to sell rifles or 
other weapons not defined as handguns in § 
36F (b) of this article; or  
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    (ii) Manufacture prototype handgun models 
required for design, development, testing, and 
approval by the Board; and  
    (2) The manufacturing in the State of a hand-
gun not on the handgun roster by a federally li-
censed gun manufacturer that was also licensed 
as a regulated firearms dealer in the State as of 
January 1, 1998, for direct sale to a unit of:  
    (i) The federal government;  
    (ii) A state other than the State of Maryland;  
    (iii) An out-of-state local government; or  
    (iv) An out-of-state law enforcement agency.  
    (g) Violation of section.  
    (1) Any person who manufactures a handgun 
for distribution or sale in violation of this section 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be 
fined not more than $10,000 for each violation.  
    (2) Any person or entity who sells or offers to 
sell a handgun in violation of this section shall 
be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined 
not more than $2,500 for each violation.  
    (3) For purposes of this subsection, each 
handgun manufactured, sold, or offered for sale 
in violation of this subsection shall be a separate 
violation.  
    (h) Liability for damages.  
    (1) A person or entity may not be held strictly 
liable for damages of any kind resulting from in-
juries to another person sustained as a result of 
the criminal use of any firearm by a third person, 
unless the person or entity conspired with the 
third person to commit, or willfully aided, abe-
tted, or caused the commission of the criminal 
act in which the firearm was used.  
    (2) This section may not be construed to 
otherwise negate, limit, or modify the doctrine of 
negligence or strict liability relating to abnormally 
dangerous products or activities and defective 
products. 
    36J. Handgun roster; Handgun Roster 
Board. 
    (a) Handgun Roster Board. 
    (1) There is a Handgun Roster Board in the 
Department of State Police.  
    (2) The Board shall consist of 11 members, 
appointed by the Governor with the advice and 
consent of the Senate, each of whom shall serve 
for a term of 4 years.  
    (3) The members of the Board shall be:  
    (i) The Secretary;  
    (ii) A representative of the Association of 
Chiefs of Police;  
    (iii) A representative of the Maryland State's 
Attorneys' Association;  
    (iv) A handgun dealer, a gunsmith, or a rep-
resentative of a handgun manufacturer;  
    (v) A representative of the National Rifle As-
sociation or its affiliated State association, who 
is a resident of the State;  
    (vi) A representative of the Marylanders 
Against Handgun Abuse; and  
    (vii) 5 citizen members, 2 of whom shall be 
mechanical or electrical engineers.  
    (4) The Secretary shall serve as Chairman of 
the Board.  
    (5) The Board shall meet at the request of the 
Chairman of the Board or by request of a 
majority of the members.  
    (b) Establishment of roster; factors to con-
sider in placing handgun on roster; publica-
tion. 
    (1) There is a handgun roster that the Board 
shall compile and publish in the Maryland Regis-
ter by July 1, 1989, and thereafter maintain, of 
permitted handguns that are useful for legitimate 
sporting, self-protection, or law enforcement pur-
poses.  
    (2) The Board shall consider the following 
characteristics of a handgun in determining 

whether any handgun should be placed on the 
handgun roster:  
    (i) Concealability;  
    (ii) Ballistic accuracy;  
    (iii) Weight;  
    (iv) Quality of materials;  
    (v) Quality of manufacture;  
    (vi) Reliability as to safety;  
    (vii) Caliber;  
    (viii) Detectability by the standard security 
equipment commonly used at airports or court-
houses and approved by the Federal Aviation 
Administration for use at airports in the United 
States; and  
    (ix) Utility for legitimate sporting activities, 
self-protection, or law enforcement.  
    (3) In determining whether any handgun 
should be placed on the handgun roster, the 
Board shall carefully consider each of the char-
acteristics listed under paragraph (2) of this sub-
section and may not place undue weight on any 
one characteristic.  
    (4) The Board shall semiannually:  
    (i) Publish the handgun roster in the Maryland 
Register; and  
    (ii) Send a copy of the handgun roster to all 
regulated firearm dealers that are licensed under 
§ 443 of this article.  
    (c) Placement of handgun on roster.  
    (1) The Board may place a handgun on the 
handgun roster upon the Board's own initiative.  
    (2) On the successful petition of any person, 
subject to the provisions of subsections (e) and 
(f) of this section, the Board shall place a hand-
gun on the handgun roster unless a court, after 
all appeals are exhausted, has made a finding 
that the decision of the Board shall be affirmed.  
    (d) Burden of proof and form of petition to 
place handgun on roster. 
    (1) A person who petitions for placement of a 
handgun on the handgun roster shall bear the 
burden of proof that the handgun should be 
placed on the roster.  
    (2) A petition to place a handgun on the hand-
gun roster shall be submitted in writing and shall 
be in the form and manner prescribed by the 
Board.  
    (e) Action by Board upon petition. 
    (1) Upon receipt of a petition to place a hand-
gun on the handgun roster, the Board shall, 
within 45 days of receipt of the petition:  
    (i) Deny the petition in writing, stating the 
reasons for denial; or  
    (ii) Approve the petition and publish a descrip-
tion of the handgun in the Maryland Register, in-
cluding notice that any objection to its inclusion 
in the handgun roster must be filed with the 
Board within 30 days.  
    (2) If the Board fails to deny or approve a peti-
tion within the time required under paragraph (1) 
of this subsection, the petition shall be consid-
ered denied.  
    (f) Notice and hearing upon denial of 
petition; appeal; construction of section.  
    (1) (i) If the Board denies a petition to place a 
handgun on the handgun roster, the Board shall 
notify the petitioner by certified mail, return 
receipt requested.  
    (ii) The petitioner may request a hearing with-
in 15 days from the date that the Board's denial 
letter is received. 
    (2) The Board shall, within a reasonable time 
not to exceed 90 days after receiving a request 
for a hearing, both hold a hearing on the petition 
and issue a written final decision on the petition.  
    (3) The Board shall provide notice of the hear-
ing in accordance with the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act.  

    (4) At a hearing held under this subsection, 
the petitioner shall have the burden of proving to 
the Board that the handgun at issue is useful for 
legitimate sporting, law enforcement, or self-
protection purposes, and therefore should be 
placed on the roster.  
    (5) Any aggrieved party of record may appeal 
within 30 days a final decision of the Board in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act.  
    (6) Nothing in this section shall be construed 
as requiring the Board to test any handgun or 
have any handgun tested at the Board's 
expense. 
    36K. Access to firearms by minors. 
    (a) Definitions. 
    (1) In this section the following words have 
the meanings indicated.  
    (2) (i) "Firearm" means a pistol, revolver, 
rifle, shotgun, short-barreled rifle, short-barreled 
shotgun, or any other firearm.  
    (ii) "Firearm" does not include antique fire-
arms as defined in § 36F of this article.  
    (3) "Minor" means an individual under the 
age of 16.  
    (4) "Ammunition" means any ammunition 
cartridge, shell or other device containing explo-
sive or incendiary material designed and in-
tended for use in a firearm.  
    (b) Prohibited acts.- Except as provided in 
this section, an individual may not store or leave 
a loaded firearm in any location where the indi-
vidual knew or should have known that an unsu-
pervised minor would gain access to the firearm.  
    (c) Applicability. This section does not apply 
if:  
    (1) A minor's access to a firearm is supervised 
by a person 18 years old or older;  
    (2) A minor's access to a firearm was 
obtained as a result of an unlawful entry;  
    (3) A firearm is in the possession or control of 
a law enforcement officer while the officer is en-
gaged in official duties; or  
    (4) A minor has a certificate of firearm and 
hunter safety as set forth in § 10-301.1 of the 
Natural Resources Article.  
    (d)  Effect of violation. 
    (1) A violation of this section may not:  
    (i) Be considered evidence of negligence;  
    (ii) Be considered evidence of contributory 
negligence;  
    (iii) Limit liability of a party or an insurer; or  
    (iv) Diminish recovery for damages arising out 
of the ownership, maintenance, or operation of a 
firearm or ammunition.  
    (2) A party, witness, or counsel may not make 
reference to a violation of this section during a 
trial of a civil action that involves property dam-
age, personal injury, or death.  
    (e) Penalty. Any person who violates this sec-
tion is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon convic-
tion shall be fined not more than $1,000. 
 

Destructive Devices 
 
    139A. Definitions. 
    (a) Definitions. In this subheading the 
following words have the meanings indicated. 
    (b) "Child" means a person under the age of 
18 years. 
    (c) Destructive device. 
    (1) "Destructive device" means explosive, in-
cendiary, or toxic material that has been com-
bined with a delivery or detonating apparatus so 
as to be capable of inflicting injury to persons or 
damage to property.  
    (2) "Destructive device" includes:  
    (i) Devices which are primarily designed and 
manufactured for military purposes as instru-
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mentalities of destruction, including any bomb, 
grenade, mine, shell, missile, flamethrower, or 
poison gas; and  
    (ii) Any explosive, incendiary, or toxic material 
which has been deliberately modified, contain-
erized or otherwise equipped with any sort of 
special delivery, activation or detonation com-
ponent so as to give it the destructive character-
istics of a military ordnance, including a Molotov 
cocktail, pipe bomb, or petroleum soaked am-
monium nitrate.  
    (d) Explosive material.  
    (1) "Explosive material" means material which 
explodes when detonated and has a destructive 
capability.  
    (2) "Explosive material" includes:  
    (i) Explosives as defined in Article 38A, § 26 
of the Code; and  
    (ii) Dynamite for construction work, ammoni-
um nitrate, natural gas in pipelines and storage 
tanks, ether, and cannisterized oxygen for health 
care facilities.  
    (3) "Explosive material" does not include 
those items excluded as explosives in Article 
38A, § 26 of the Code when those items are 
used in their original configuration.  
    (e) Incendiary material. 
    (1) "Incendiary material" means a flammable 
or combustible liquid.  
    (2) "Incendiary material" includes gasoline, 
acetone, benzene, butane, jet fuel, fuel oil, kero-
sene, and diesel fuel.  
    (f) Toxic material. 
    (1) "Toxic material" means material which is 
capable of causing death or serious bodily injury 
almost immediately on being absorbed through 
the skin, inhaled, or ingested.  
    (2)"Toxic material" includes but is not limited 
to: 
    (i) Nerve gas, mustard gas, cyanide gas, 
chlorine gas, or sulphuric acid, or their pre-
cursors; and 
    (ii) A biological substance containing a 
disease organism or microorganism. 
    139B. Exemptions from application of sub-
heading. The prohibitions of this subheading do 
not apply to:  
    (1) Law enforcement personnel of the United 
States government or any agency or department 
of the United States, members of the armed 
forces of the United States or of the National 
Guard, or law enforcement personnel of the 
State or a political subdivision of the State while 
acting within the scope of their official duties;  
    (2) Officers or employees of the United 
States, the State, or a political subdivision of the 
State who are authorized to handle a destructive 
device within the scope of their official duties 
and who are acting within the scope of their 
official duties;  
    (3) A person authorized or licensed under law 
to possess the explosive, incendiary, or toxic 
material while the person is acting within the 
scope of the authorization or license if posses-
sion of a particular explosive, incendiary, or toxic 
material is specifically regulated or licensed 
under law; or  
    (4) A person who:  
    (i) Possesses smokeless or black gunpowder 
under the provisions of Article 38A of the Code; 
and  
    (ii) Uses smokeless or black gunpowder for 
loading or reloading small arms ammunition, 
antique firearms, or replicas of antique firearms.  
    139C. Prohibitions. A person may not 
knowingly:  
    (1) Manufacture, transport, possess, control, 
store, sell, distribute, or use a destructive de-
vice; or  

    (2) Possess any explosive, incendiary, or tox-
ic material with intent to create a destructive de-
vice. 
    139D. Penalties. 
    (a) In general. A person who violates the pro-
visions of this subheading is guilty of a felony 
and on conviction is subject to a fine of not more 
than $250,000 or by imprisonment for not more 
than 25 years or both.  
    (b) Sentencing. The sentence imposed under 
this section may be imposed separate from and 
consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence for 
an offense based on the act or acts establishing 
the violation of this subheading.  
    (c) Restitution.  
    (1) In addition to the penalty provided in this 
section, a person convicted under this subhead-
ing may be ordered by the court to pay restitu-
tion to:  
    (i) The State, county, municipal corporation, 
bicounty agency, or special taxing district for ac-
tual costs reasonably incurred due to the place-
ment, delivery, or detonation of a destructive de-
vice, including the search for, removal of, and 
damages caused by a destructive device; and  
    (ii) The owner or tenant of a property for the 
actual value of any goods, services, or income 
lost as a result of the evacuation of the property 
or damage sustained due to the placement, de-
livery, or detonation of a destructive device.  
    (2) This subsection may not be construed to 
limit the right of a person to restitution under § 
807 of this article. 
    (3)(i) If the person convicted or found to have 
committed a delinquent act under this subhead-
ing is a child, the court may order the child, the 
child's parent, or both to pay the restitution 
described in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 
    (ii) Except as otherwise provided in this sec-
tion, the provisions of § 807 of this article apply 
to an order of restitution under this paragraph. 
    (d) In addition to any other penalty authorized 
by law, if the person convicted or found to have 
committed a delinquent act under this subhead-
ing is a child, the court may order the Motor 
Vehicle Administration to initiate an action, un-
der the motor vehicle laws, to suspend the driv-
ing privilege of the child for a specified period 
not to exceed: 
    (1) For a first offense, 6 months; and 
    (2) For a second or subsequent offense, 1 
year or until the person is 21 years old, which-
ever is longer. 
 

Health - Controlled Dangerous Substances 
 
    291A. Possession, ownership, transpor-
tation, etc., of a firearm. 
    (a) Definition. In this section "firearm" 
includes:  
    (1) Handgun, antique firearm, rifle, shotgun, 
short-barreled shotgun, and short-barreled rifle, 
as those terms are defined in § 36F of this 
article;  
    (2) Machine gun, as defined in § 372 of this 
article; and  
    (3) Regulated firearm, as defined in § 441 of 
this article.  
    (b) Prohibited acts. A person may not pos-
sess, own, carry, or transport a firearm if the 
person has been convicted of:  
    (1) A felony under this subheading;  
    (2) An offense under the laws of the United 
States, another state, or the District of Columbia 
that would be a felony under this subheading if 
committed in this State; or  
    (3) Conspiracy or attempt to commit any of 
the offenses listed in paragraphs (1) and (2) of 
this subsection.  

    (c) Penalty. A person who violates this sec-
tion is guilty of a felony and shall, on conviction, 
be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned 
for not more than 5 years or both. 
 

Machine Guns 
 
    372. Definitions.   
    "Machine gun" as used in this subtitle, 
means a weapon, of any description, by what-
ever name known, loaded or unloaded, from 
which more than one shot or bullet may be auto-
matically discharged from a magazine, by a 
single function of the firing device.  
    "Crime of violence" applies to and includes 
any of the following crimes or an attempt to com-
mit any of the same, namely, murder of any de-
gree, manslaughter, kidnapping, rape in any de-
gree, assault in the first degree, robbery under § 
486 or § 487 of this article, burglary in any de-
gree, and theft.  
    "Person" applies to and includes firm, par-
tnership, association, or corporation.  
    373. Use of machine gun for crime. Posses-
sion or use of a machine gun in the perpetration 
or attempted perpetration of a crime of violence 
is hereby declared to be a felony punishable by 
imprisonment in the State penitentiary for a term 
of not more than twenty years.  
    374. Use of machine gun for aggressive 
purpose. Possession or use of a machine gun 
for offensive or aggressive purpose is hereby 
declared to be a crime punishable by imprison-
ment in the State penitentiary for a term of not 
more than ten years.  
    375. What constitutes aggressive purpose. 
Possession or use of a machine gun shall be 
presumed to be for offensive or aggressive 
purpose:  
    (a) When the machine gun is on premises not 
owned or rented, for bona fide permanent resi-
dence or business occupancy, by the person in 
whose possession the machine gun may be 
found; or  
    (b) When in the possession of, or used by, an 
unnaturalized foreign-born person, or a person 
who has been convicted of a crime of violence in 
any court of record, state or federal, of the 
United States of America, its territories or insular 
possessions; or  
    (c) When the machine gun is of the kind 
described in section 379 and has not been 
registered as in said section required; or  
    (d) When empty or loaded shells which have 
been used or are susceptible of being used in 
the machine gun are found in the immediate 
vicinity thereof.  
    376. Presence prima facie evidence of use. 
The presence of a machine gun in any room, 
boat, or vehicle shall be evidence of the posses-
sion or use of the machine gun by each person 
occupying the room, boat, or vehicle where the 
weapon is found.  
    377. Exceptions. Nothing contained in this 
subtitle shall prohibit or interfere with:  
    (1) The manufacture for, and sale of, machine 
guns to the military forces or the peace officers 
of the United States, the several states or of any 
political subdivision thereof, or the transportation 
required for that purpose;  
    (2) The possession of a machine gun for sci-
entific purpose; or the possession of a machine 
gun not usable as a weapon and possessed as 
a curiosity, ornament, or keepsake;   
    (3) The possession of a machine gun for a 
purpose manifestly not aggressive or offensive.  
    378. Manufacturer's register; inspection of 
stock. Every manufacturer shall keep a register 
of all machine guns manufactured or handled by 
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him. This register shall show the method and se-
rial number, date of manufacture, sale, loan, gift, 
delivery or receipt, of every machine gun, the 
name, address, and occupation of the person to 
whom the machine gun was sold, loaned, given 
or delivered, or from whom it was received; and 
the purpose for which it was acquired by the per-
son to whom the machine gun was sold, loaned, 
given or delivered, or from whom received. Upon 
demand every manufacturer shall permit any 
marshal, sheriff or police officer to inspect his 
entire stock of machine guns, parts, and sup-
plies therefor, and shall produce the register, 
herein required, for inspection. A violation of any 
provision of this section shall be punishable by a 
fine of not more than one hundred dollars.   
    379. Registration of machine guns.  
    (a) In general. Except in the calendar year it 
was purchased, every machine gun in this State 
shall be registered with the Secretary of the 
State Police annually during the month of May. 
Also, every machine gun shall be registered 
within 24 hours after its acquisition. Blanks for 
registration shall be prepared by the Secretary 
of the State Police and furnished upon applica-
tion. To comply with this section the application 
as filed must show the make, model, serial num-
ber, caliber, type, barrel length, finish, country of 
origin of the gun, and the name, address, race, 
sex, date of birth, Maryland driver's license num-
ber, and occupation of the person in possession 
of the gun, from whom and the purpose for 
which the gun was acquired. The registration 
data shall not be subject to inspection by the 
public. Any person failing to register any gun as 
required by this section shall be presumed to 
possess the same for offensive or aggressive 
purpose.  
    (b) Fee. Each registration application filed 
with the Secretary shall be accompanied by a 
nonrefundable registration fee of $10. 
    382. Uniformity of interpretation. This sub-
title shall be so interpreted and construed as to 
effectuate its general purpose to make uniform 
the law of those states which enact it. 
    383. Short title. This subtitle may be cited as 
the Uniform Machine Gun Act. 
 

Regulated Firearms 
 
    441. Definitions.  
    (a) In this subheading the following words 
have the meanings indicated.  
    (b) "Alcohol offense" means an offense 
under section 21-902(a), (b), or (c) of the Trans-
portation Article.  
    (c) "Antique firearm" means:  
    (1) Any firearm (including any firearm with a 
matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar 
type of ignition system) manufactured prior to 
1899; or  
    (2) Any replica of any firearm described in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection if the replica:  
    (i) Is not designed or redesigned for using 
rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammuni-
tion; or  
    (ii) Uses rimfire or conventional centerfire 
fixed ammunition which is no longer manufac-
tured in the United States and which is not readi-
ly available in the ordinary channels of commer-
cial trade.  
    (d) "Assault weapon" means any of the fol-
lowing specific firearms or their copies regard-
less of which company produced and manufac-
tured that firearm:  
    (1) American Arms Spectre DA semiautomatic 
carbine;  
    (2) AK-47 in all forms;  
    (3) Algimec AGM-1 type semi-auto;  

    (4) AR 100 type semi-auto;  
    (5) AR 180 type semi-auto;  
    (6) Argentine L.S.R. semi-auto;  
    (7) Australian Automatic Arms SAR type 
semi-auto;  
    (8) Auto-Ordnance Thompson M1 and 1927 
semi-automatics;  
    (9) Barrett light .50 cal. semi-auto;  
    (10) Beretta AR70 type semi-auto;  
    (11) Bushmaster semi-auto rifle;  
    (12) Calico models M-100 and M-900;  
    (13) CIS SR 88 type semi-auto;  
    (14) Claridge HI TEC C-9 carbines;  
    (15) Colt AR-15, CAR-15, and all imitations 
except Colt AR-15 Sporter H-BAR rifle; (16) 
Daewoo MAX 1 and MAX 2, aka AR 100, 110C, 
K-1, and K-2;  
    (17) Dragunov Chinese made semi-auto;  
    (18) Famas semi-auto (.223 caliber);  
    (19) Feather AT-9 semi-auto;  
    (20) FN LAR and FN FAL assault rifle;  
    (21) FNC semi-auto type carbine;  
    (22) F.I.E./Franchi LAW 12 and SPAS 12 
assault shotgun;  
    (23) Steyr-AUG-SA semi-auto;  
    (24) Galil models AR and ARM semi-auto;  
    (25) Heckler and Koch HK-91 A3, HK-93 A2, 
HK-94 A2 and A3;  
    (26) Holmes model 88 shotgun;  
    (27) Avtomat Kalashnikov semiautomatic rifle 
in any format;  
    (28) Manchester Arms "Commando" MK-45, 
MK-9;  
    (29) Mandell TAC-1 semi-auto carbine;  
    (30) Mossberg model 500 Bullpup assault 
shotgun;  
    (31) Sterling Mark 6; 
    (32) P.A.W.S. carbine;  
    (33) Ruger mini-14 folding stock model (.223 
caliber);  
    (34) SIG 550/551 assault rifle (.223 caliber);  
    (35) SKS with detachable magazine;  
    (36) AP-74 commando type semi-auto;  
    (37) Springfield Armory BM-59, SAR-48, G3, 
SAR-3, M-21 sniper rifle, M1A, excluding the M1 
Garand;  
    (38) Street sweeper assault type shotgun;  
    (39) Striker 12 assault shotgun in all formats;  
    (40) Unique F11 semi-auto type;  
    (41) Daewoo USAS 12 semi-auto shotgun;  
    (42) UZI 9mm carbine or rifle;  
    (43) Valmet M-76 and M-78 semi-auto;  
    (44) Weaver Arms "Nighthawk" semi-auto 
carbine; or  
    (45) Wilkinson Arms 9mm semi-auto "Terry".  
    (e) "Crime of violence" means:  
    (1) Abduction;  
    (2) Arson in the first degree;  
    (3) Assault in the first or second degree;  
    (4) Burglary in the first, second, or third 
degree;  
    (5) Carjacking and armed carjacking;  
    (6) Escape in the first degree;  
    (7) Kidnapping;  
    (8) Voluntary manslaughter;  
    (9) Maiming;  
    (10) Mayhem as previously proscribed under 
former § 384 of this article;  
    (11) Murder in the first or second degree;  
    (12) Rape in the first or second degree;  
    (13) Robbery under § 486 or § 487 of this 
article;  
    (14) Sexual offense in the first, second, or 
third degree;  
    (15) An attempt to commit any of the 
aforesaid offenses; or  
    (16) Assault with intent to commit any of the 
aforesaid offenses or any offense punishable by 
imprisonment for more than 1 year.  

    (f) "Dealer" means any person who is en-
gaged in the business of:  
    (1) Selling, renting, or transferring firearms at 
wholesale or retail; or  
    (2) Repairing firearms.  
    (g) "Designated law enforcement agency" 
means any law enforcement agency approved 
and designated by the Secretary to process ap-
plications to purchase regulated firearms for 
secondary sales.  
    (h) "Engaged in the business" means any 
person who:  
    (1) Is licensed as a Maryland regulated fire-
arms dealer;  
    (2) Is licensed as a federal firearms dealer;  
    (3) Devotes time, attention, and labor to deal-
ing in firearms as a regular course of trade or 
business with the principal objective of earning a 
profit through the repeated purchase and resale 
of firearms; or  
    (4) Repairs firearms as a regular course of 
trade or business.  
    (i) "Firearms" means:  
    (1) Any weapon (including a starter gun) 
which will or is designed to or may readily be 
converted to expel a projectile by the action of 
an explosive; or  
    (2) The frame or receiver of any such 
weapon.  
    (j) "Fugitive from justice" means any person 
who has fled from a sheriff or other peace officer 
within this State, or who has fled from any state, 
the District of Columbia, or territory or posses-
sion of the United States, to avoid prosecution 
for a crime or to avoid giving testimony in any 
criminal proceeding.  
    (k) "Gun show" means any organized 
gathering open to the public at which any firearm 
is displayed.  
    (l) "Habitual drunkard" means any person 
who has been found guilty of any three alcohol 
offenses, one of which occurred within the past 
year.  
    (m) "Habitual user of controlled dangerous 
substances" means any person who has been 
found guilty of two controlled dangerous sub-
stance offenses, one of which occurred within 
the past 5 years.  
    (n) "Handgun" means any firearm with a bar-
rel less than 16 inches in length including signal, 
starter, and blank pistols.  
    (o) "Minor" means any person under the age 
of 18 years.  
    (p) "Pepper mace" means any aerosol pro-
pelled combination of highly disabling irritant 
pepper based products and is also known as 
Oleo-Resin Capsicum (O.C.) spray.  
    (q) "Person" means an individual, partner-
ship, association, or corporation.  
    (r) "Regulated firearm" means:  
    (1) Any handgun as defined in this section; or  
    (2) Any assault weapon as defined in this 
section.  
    (s) "Regulated firearms dealer" means any 
person who possesses a valid Maryland regu-
lated firearms dealers license issued by the 
Secretary.  
    (t) "Rent" means the temporary transfer of a 
regulated firearm for consideration where the 
firearm is taken from the firearm owner's 
property.  
    (u) "Secondary sale" means any sale of a 
regulated firearm where neither party to the 
transaction is engaged in the business as 
defined in this section.  
    (v) "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
State Police or the Secretary's designee.  
    (w) "Straw purchase" means any sale of a 
regulated firearm where an individual uses an-
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other person (the straw purchaser) to complete 
the application to purchase a regulated firearm, 
take initial possession of that firearm, and sub-
sequently transfer that firearm to the individual. 
    441A. Exemptions from application of sub-
heading. The prohibitions of this subhead-ing 
do not apply to:  
    (1) The transfer or possession of a regulated 
firearm or detachable magazine by a licensed 
manufacturer, dealer, or importer for the pur-
poses of testing or experimentation authorized 
by the Secretary;  
    (2) The transfer or possession of an antique 
firearm;  
    (3) Law enforcement personnel of the United 
States government or any agency or department 
of the United States, members of the armed 
forces of the United States or of the national 
guard, or law enforcement personnel of this 
State or any local agency in this State while 
such persons are acting within the scope of their 
official duties;  
    (4) Any regulated firearm modified to render it 
permanently inoperative;  
    (5) Purchases, sales, and transport to or by a 
licensed gun dealer, manufacturer, or importer;  
    (6) Organizations that are required or author-
ized by federal law or regulations governing their 
specific business or activity to maintain firearms; 
or  
    (7) The receipt of a regulated firearm by inher-
itance, provided the heir completes an applica-
tion for the purchase or transfer of a regulated 
firearm and forwards it to the Secretary.  
    442. Sale or transfer of regulated firearms. 
    (a) Right to regulate sales preempted by 
State. All restrictions imposed by the laws, ordi-
nances or regulations of all subordinated juris-
dictions within the State of Maryland on sales of 
regulated firearms are superseded by this sec-
tion, and the State of Maryland hereby preempts 
the rights of such jurisdictions to regulate the 
sale of regulated firearms.  
    (b) Straw purchase.  
    (1) Except as otherwise provided in this sub-
section, a person may not knowingly or will-fully 
participate in a straw purchase of a regulated 
firearm. 
    (2) The prohibitions of this subsection do not 
apply to a person purchasing a regulated firearm 
as a gift provided:  
    (i) The recipient of the gift is a resident of this 
State; and  
    (ii) Both the purchaser and recipient of the gift 
comply with the requirements under this sub-
heading pertaining to the possession, sale, ren-
tal, receipt, transfer, or purchase of a regulated 
firearm, unless the gift is in the form of a gift cer-
tificate, in which case only the recipient shall 
com-ply with the requirements.  
    (3) If the regulated firearm is a gift to a 
spouse, parent, grandparent, grandchild, broth-
er, sister, son, or daughter:  
    (i) An application to purchase or transfer a 
regulated firearm shall be completed by the re-
cipient and forwarded to the Secretary within 5 
days of receipt of the regulated firearm; and  
    (ii) The $10 application fee, as provided by 
subsection (g) of this section, shall be waived by 
the Secretary.  
    (c) Sale by regulated firearms dealer. No 
regulated firearms dealer shall sell, rent, or 
transfer any regulated firearm until after seven 
days shall have elapsed from the time an appli-
cation to purchase or transfer shall have been 
executed by the prospective purchaser or trans-
feree, in triplicate, and the original copy is for-
warded by the prospective seller or transferor to 
the Secretary.  

    (d) Sale by other than regulated firearms 
dealer. 
    (1) A person who is not a regulated firearms 
dealer may not sell, rent, transfer, or purchase 
any regulated firearm until after 7 days shall 
have elapsed from the time an application to 
purchase or transfer shall have been executed 
by the prospective purchaser or transferee, in 
triplicate, and the original copy is forwarded by a 
regulated firearms dealer to the Secretary.  
    (2) As an alternative to completing a secon-
dary sale of a regulated firearm through a regu-
lated firearms dealer, the prospective seller or 
transferor and the prospective purchaser or 
transferee may complete the transaction through 
a designated law enforcement agency.  
    (3) A person who makes an application to pur-
chase, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm by 
secondary sale shall pay a processing fee not to 
exceed $20 to the regulated firearms dealer.  
    (e) Disposition of copies of application. 
The regulated firearms dealer or designated law 
enforcement agency shall promptly after receiv-
ing an application to purchase, rent, or transfer, 
completed in accordance with subsection (h) 
below, forward one copy of the same, by certi-
fied mail or by facsimile machine, to the Secre-
tary. The copy forwarded to the Secretary shall 
contain the name, address, and signature of the 
prospective seller, lessor, or transferor. The pro-
spective seller, lessor, or transferor shall retain 
one copy of the application for a period of not 
less than three years. The prospective purchas-
er, lessee, or transferee shall be entitled to the 
remaining copy of the application.  
    (f) Application fee.  
    (1) A person who makes an application to pur-
chase, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm shall 
pay to the regulated firearms dealer or desig-
nated law enforcement agency a $10 application 
fee with the application to purchase, rent, or 
transfer.  
    (2) The regulated firearms dealer or desig-
nated law enforcement agency shall forward the 
$10 application fee along with the application to 
the Secretary.  
    (3) If the regulated firearms dealer or desig-
nated law enforcement agency utilizes a facsim-
ile machine to forward the application to the 
Secretary, the dealer or designated law enforce-
ment agency shall:  
    (i) Be billed $10 for each application for-
warded to the Secretary during the month; and  
    (ii) Pay the total application fee by the 15th 
day of the next month.  
    (g) Warning on application. The application 
to purchase, rent, or transfer shall bear the fol-
lowing legend: "Any false information supplied or 
statement made in this application is a crime 
which may be punished by imprisonment for a 
period of not more than three years, or a fine of 
not more than $5,000, or both."  
    (h) Contents of application. The application 
to purchase, rent, or transfer shall contain the 
following information:  
    (1) Applicant's name, address, driver's or pho-
tographic identification soundex number, Social 
Security number, occupation, place and date of 
birth, height, weight, race, eye and hair color 
and signature and regulated firearm information 
for each firearm to be purchased, rented, or 
transferred. In the event the applicant is a corpo-
ration, the application shall be completed and 
executed by a corporate officer who is a resident 
of this State.  
    (2) A statement by the applicant under the 
penalty of perjury that he or she:  
    (i) Has never been convicted of:  
    1. A crime of violence;  

    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State;  
    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; or  
    4. Any violation classified as a common law 
offense where the person received a term of 
imprisonment of more than 2 years.  
    (ii) Is not a fugitive from justice.  
    (iii) Is not a habitual drunkard.  
    (iv) Is not an addict or habitual user of any 
controlled dangerous substances.  
    (v) Has never spent more than thirty consecu-
tive days in any medical institution for treatment 
of a mental disorder or disorders, unless there is 
attached to the application a physician's certifi-
cate, issued within thirty days prior to the date of 
application, certifying that the applicant is cap-
able of possessing a regulated firearm without 
undue danger to himself or herself, or to others.  
    (vi) Is at least 21 years of age.  
    (vii) Is not a respondent against whom a cur-
rent non ex parte civil protective order has been 
entered under § 4-506 of the Family Law Article. 
    (viii) Is less than 30 years of age at the time 
of application and has not been: adjudicated 
delinquent by a juvenile court for: 
    1. A crime of violence; 
    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State; or  
    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; and 
    (ix) Subject to subsection (h-1) of this section, 
for an application made on or after January 1, 
2002 has completed a certified firearms safety 
training course conducted free of charge by the 
Maryland Police Training Commission or that 
meets standards by the Maryland Police Train-
ing Commission as provided Article 41, § 4-
201(d-l) of the Code. 
    (3) The date and hour the application was de-
livered in completed form to the prospective sel-
ler or transferor by the prospective purchaser, 
lessee, or transferee.  
    (h-1) A person is not required to complete a 
certified firearms training course under subsec-
tion (h)(2)(ix) of this section and § 445(b)(4) of 
this subheading if the person: 
    (1) Has completed a certified firearms training 
course required under subsection (h)(2)(ix) of 
this section and § 445(b)(4) of this subheading; 
    (2) Is a law enforcement officer of the State or 
any local law enforcement agency in the State; 
    (3) Is a member, retired member, or honor-
ably discharged member of the Armed Forces of 
the United States or the National Guard; 
    (4) Is a member of an organization that is re-
quired by Federal law or regulations governing 
their specific business or activity to maintain 
handguns and applicable ammunition; or 
    (5) Has been issued a permit to carry a hand-
gun under § 36E of this article. 
    (i) Investigation of applicant. The Secretary 
may request the assistance of the Police Com-
missioner of Baltimore City, the chief of police in 
any county maintaining a police force, or the 
sheriff in a county not maintaining a police force 
and shall promptly upon receipt of an application 
to purchase, rent, or transfer conduct an investi-
gation in order to determine the truth or falsity of 
the information supplied and statements made in 
the application. If it be thereupon determined 
that any false information or statement has been 
supplied or made by the applicant, that the 
application has not been properly completed, or 
that written notification from the applicant's li-
censed attending physician has been received 
stating that the applicant is suffering from a 
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mental disorder or disorders and is a danger to 
himself or herself or to others, the Secretary 
shall notify the prospective seller, lessor, or 
transferor, in writing, within seven days from the 
date the executed application to purchase or 
transfer was forwarded by certified mail or fac-
simile machine, of his disapproval of the applica-
tion. Written notification of such disapproval 
shall be thereafter forwarded by the Secretary to 
the prospective purchaser, lessee, or transferee. 
The date upon which the executed application to 
purchase, rent, or transfer was forwarded by 
certified mail or by facsimile machine to the 
Secretary by the prospective seller, lessor, or 
transferor shall be considered as the first day of 
the seven-day period allowed for notice of disap-
proval to the prospective seller, lessor, or trans-
feror. If the seventh day of the seven-day period 
allowed for the notice of disapproval shall fall on 
a Sunday or legal holiday, the computation peri-
od shall be extended to the first day next follow-
ing, which is neither a Sunday nor a legal holi-
day.  
    (j) Limitations on sale. 
    (1) No regulated firearms dealer or person 
shall sell, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm to 
an applicant whose application has been placed 
on hold because of an open disposition of crimi-
nal proceedings against the applicant or disap-
proved, unless such disapproval has been sub-
sequently withdrawn by the Secretary or over-
ruled by the action of the courts pursuant to sub-
section (k) of this section.  
    (2) An approved application is valid only for 
the purchase, rental, or transfer of the regulated 
firearm listed in the application.  
    (k) Hearing; judicial review.-  
    (1) Any prospective purchaser, lessee, or 
transferee aggrieved by the action of the State 
Police may request a hearing within 30 days 
from the date when written notice was forwarded 
to the aggrieved person by writing to the Secre-
tary, who shall grant the hearing within fifteen 
days of the request. 
    (2) The hearing and subsequent proceedings 
of judicial review, if any, thereupon following 
shall be conducted in accordance with the pro-
visions of the Administrative Procedure Act.  
    (3) The hearing shall be held in the county of 
the legal residence of the aggrieved person.  
    (l) Notice of completed transaction. Any 
regulated firearms dealer or person who sells, 
rents, or transfers a regulated firearm in compli-
ance with this subtitle shall forward a copy of the 
written notification of such completed transac-
tion, within seven days from the date of delivery 
of the regulated firearm, to the Secretary, whose 
duty it shall be to maintain a permanent record 
of all such completed sales, rentals, and trans-
fers of regulated firearms in the State. The notifi-
cation shall contain an identifying description of 
the regulated firearm sold, rented, or transferred 
including it caliber, make, model, manufacturer's 
serial number, if any, and any other special or 
peculiar characteristics or marking by which the 
regulated firearm may be identified.  
    (m) Sale must be completed within 90 
days. 
    (1) A regulated firearms dealer or person shall 
complete the sale, rental, or transfer of a regu-
lated firearm within 90 days of the date the appli-
cation of the prospective purchaser, lessee, or 
transferee was stamped by the Secretary as not 
being disapproved.  
    (2) A regulated firearms dealer or person shall 
within 7 days, return to the Secretary any appli-
cation for which the sale, rental, or transfer of a 
regulated firearm was not completed within 90 
days of the date the application was stamped by 

the Secretary as not being disapproved. All such 
applications returned to the Secretary shall be 
voided as an incomplete sale, rental, or transfer.  
    (n) Construction of section. Nothing in this 
section shall be construed to affect sales and/or 
transfers for bona fide resale in the ordinary 
course of business of a person duly licensed un-
der § 443 of this subtitle, or sales, rentals, trans-
fers, and/or the use of regulated firearms by any 
person authorized or required to sell, rent, trans-
fer, and/or use regulated firearms as part of his 
or her duties as a member of any official police 
force or other law enforcement agency, the 
armed forces of the United States, including all 
official reserve organizations, or the Maryland 
National Guard. 
    442A. Purchase of firearms in a 30-day 
period. 
    (a) Purchase limited to one regulated fire-
arm; exceptions. 
    (1) Except as provided in this subsection, a 
person may not purchase more than one regu-
lated firearm in a 30-day period.  
    (2) The provisions of this subsection do not 
apply to:  
    (i) A law enforcement agency;  
    (ii) An agency duly authorized to perform law 
enforcement duties;  
    (iii) State or local correctional facilities;  
    (iv) A private security company licensed to do 
business within the State;  
    (v) The purchase of antique firearms as 
defined in § 441 of this article;  
    (vi) Purchases by a licensed firearms dealer;  
    (vii) The exchange or replacement of a regu-
lated firearm by a seller for a regulated firearm 
purchased from the seller by the same person 
seeking the exchange or replacement within the 
30-day period immediately preceding the date of 
exchange or replacement; or  
    (viii) A person whose regulated firearm is 
stolen or irretrievably lost and who considers it 
essential that the regulated firearm be replaced 
immediately, if:  
    1. The person provides the licensed regulated 
firearms dealer with a copy of the official police 
report or an official summary of the report a copy 
of which shall be attached to the application to 
purchase or transfer a regulated firearm;  
    2. The official police report or official summary 
of the report contains the name and address of 
the regulated firearm owner, a description of the 
regulated firearm, the location of the loss or 
theft, the date of the loss or theft, and the date 
which the loss or theft was reported to the law 
enforcement agency; and  
    3. The date of the loss or theft as reflected on 
the official police report or official summary of 
the report occurred within 30 days of the per-
son's attempt to replace the regulated firearm.  
    (b) Purchase of more than one regulated 
firearm.  
    (1) Upon application for a multiple purchase to 
and approval by the Secretary, purchases in 
excess of one regulated firearm in a 30-day 
period may be made under the following circum-
stances:  
    (i) The purchase of the regulated firearms is 
for a private collection or is a collector series;  
    (ii) The purchase of the regulated firearms is 
a bulk purchase from an estate sale;  
    (iii) The purchase of not more than two regu-
lated firearms is a multiple purchase for the pur-
pose of taking advantage of a regulated firearms 
dealer's discounted price available only for a 
multiple purchase, provided that the purchaser is 
prohibited from purchasing a regulated firearm 
the following 30-day period unless approved for 

a multiple purchase under item (i) or (ii) of this 
paragraph; or  
    (iv) Other similar purposes.  
    (2) The application shall:  
    (i) Contain a list of the regulated firearms to 
be purchased or transferred;  
    (ii) State the purpose of the purchase in ex-
cess of one regulated firearm in a 30-day period;  
    (iii) Be witnessed by a regulated firearms 
dealer or designated law enforcement agency; 
and  
    (iv) Be signed under the penalty of perjury by 
the applicant.  
    (c) Application for purchase of more than 
one regulated firearm. The application for a 
multiple purchase of regulated firearms shall be 
attached to a completed application to purchase 
a regulated firearm and forwarded to the Secre-
tary by a licensed regulated firearms dealer or 
designated law enforcement agency.  
    (d) Background investigation. Upon receipt 
of the application to purchase a regulated fire-
arm and the application for a multiple purchase, 
the Secretary shall complete a background 
investigation as defined in § 442 of this subtitle.  
    (e) Sale to disapproved applicant prohib-
ited. A dealer or person may not sell, rent, or 
transfer any regulated firearms to a person 
whose application has been placed on hold be-
cause of an open disposition of criminal pro-
ceedings against the applicant or disapproved, 
unless the hold or disapproval has been subse-
quently withdrawn by the Secretary or overruled 
by actions of the courts. 
 
    442B. [Handgun identification] 
    (a)(1) In this section the following words have 
the meanings indicated. 
    (2) "Manufacturer" means any person who 
possesses a valid Federal license issued by the 
Secretary of the Treasury that permits that per-
son to engage in the business of manufacturing 
firearms or ammunition for the purpose of sale 
or distribution. 
    (3) "Projectile" means that part of handgun 
ammunition that is, by means of an explosion, 
expelled through the barrel of the handgun. 
    (4) "Shell casing" means that part of hand-
gun ammunition that contains the primer and 
propellent powder to discharge the projectile. 
    (b) Any manufacturer that ships or transports 
a handgun to be sold, rented, or transferred in 
the state shall include in the box with the hand-
gun in a separate sealed container: 
    (1) A shell casing of a projectile discharged 
from that handgun; and 
    (2) Additional information that identifies the 
type of handgun and shell casing as required by 
the Secretary to meet the provisions of this 
section. 
    (c) Upon receipt of a handgun from the manu-
facturer, the dealer shall confirm to the Depart-
ment of State Police that the manufacturer 
complied with the provisions of subsection (b). 
    (d) Upon the sale or transfer of the handgun, 
the dealer shall forward the sealed container to 
the Department of State Police Crime Labora-
tory. 
    (e) Upon receipt of the shell casing and re-
quired information, the Department of State Po-
lice Crime Laboratory shall enter the information 
in all pertinent databases. 
    (f) The Secretary shall promulgate regulations 
to carry out the provisions of this section. 
    442C. [Handgun safety devices] 
    (a)(1) In this section the following words have 
the meanings indicated. 
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    (2) "Authorized user" means the owner and 
any person authorized by the owner to possess 
and use the handgun. 
    (3) "External safety lock" means an external 
device that is: 
    (i) Attached to a handgun with a key or com-
bination lock; and 
    (ii) Designed to prevent a handgun from being 
discharged unless the device has been 
deactivated. 
    (4) "Handgun" has the meaning stated in § 
441(n) of this subheading but does not include 
signal, starter, and blank pistols. 
    (5) "Handgun Roster Board" has the 
meaning stated in § 36J(a) of this article. 
    (6) �Integrated mechanical safety device" 
means a disabling or locking device that: 
    (i) Is built into a handgun; and 
    (ii) Is designed to prevent the handgun from 
being discharged unless the device has been 
deactivated. 
    (7) "Personalized handgun" means a hand-
gun manufactured with incorporated design 
technology allowing it to be fired only by a per-
son who is the authorized user of the handgun 
and that prevents any of the safety charac-
teristics from being readily deactivated. 
    (b) The provisions of this section do not apply 
to: 
    (1) Purchases, sales, and transport to or by a 
licensed gun dealer or manufacturer that pro-
vides or services a handgun for: 
    (i) Personnel of the United States govern-
ment or any agency or department of the United 
States; 
    (ii) Members of the Armed Forces of the 
United States or the National Guard 
    (iii) Law enforcement personnel of the State 
or any local law enforcement agency in the State 
while that personnel is acting within the scope of 
their official business; and 
    (iv) Organizations that are required by Feder-
al law or regulations governing their specific 
business or activity to maintain handguns and 
applicable ammunition; 
    (2) Any firearm modified to render it per-
manently inoperative; 
    (3) Sales or transfers by any licensed gun 
dealer or manufacturer covered under para-
graph (1) of this subsection; 
    (4) Sales or transfers by a licensed gun dealer 
or manufacturer to a lawful customer outside the 
State; or 
    (5) Antique firearms. 
    (c) A dealer may not sell, offer for sale, rent, 
or transfer in the State any handgun manufac-
tured on or before December 31, 2002 unless 
the handgun is sold, offered for sale, rented, or 
transferred with an external safety lock. 
    (d) Beginning on January 1, 2003, a dealer 
may not sell, offer for sale, rent, or transfer in the 
state any handgun manufactured after Decem-
ber 31, 2002 unless the handgun has an inte-
grated mechanical safety device. 
    (e)(1) The Handgun Roster Board shall review 
the status of personalized handgun technology 
and report its findings to the Governor and, in 
accordance with § 2-1246 of the State Govern-
ment Article, to the General Assembly on an 
annual basis, beginning on or before July 1, 
2002. 
    (2) In reviewing the status of personalized 
handgun technology under paragraph (1) of this 
subsection, the Handgun Roster Board shall 
consider: 
    (i) The number and variety of models and cali-
bers of personalized handguns that are available 
for sale; 

    (ii) Any studies, analyses, or other evalua-
tions of personalized handguns conducted by or 
commissioned by the National Institute of Just-
ice, any Federal, State, or local law enforcement 
laboratory, or any other entity with an expertise 
in the field of handgun technology; and 
    (iii) Any other information that the Handgun 
Roster Board considers relevant. 
   443. Regulated firearms dealer's license. 
    (a) Required. No person shall engage in the 
business of selling, renting, or transferring regu-
lated firearms unless he lawfully possesses and 
conspicuously displays at his place of business, 
in addition to any other license required by law, 
a regulated firearms dealer's license issued by 
the Secretary. Such license shall identify the li-
censee and the location of the licensee's place 
of business. One such license shall be required 
for each place of business where regulated fire-
arms are sold.  
    (b) Expiration date; fees; change of place 
of business; fingerprint record check. 
    (1) The license required by subsection (a) 
above shall expire on the 30th day of June of 
each year.  
    (2) The initial fee for the license shall be $50, 
and the annual renewal shall be $25, payable to 
the Comptroller of the State of Maryland.  
    (3) The license shall not be transferable nor 
shall any refund or proration of the annual fee 
therefor be allowed. Provided, however, that be-
fore any licensee changes his or her place of 
business, the licensee shall so inform the Secre-
tary and surrender his or her license, whereupon 
the Secretary shall, if no cause exists for the 
revocation of the license, issue a new license, 
without fee, covering the new place of business 
for the duration of the unexpired term of the sur-
rendered license.  
    (4) As part of the application for a license, the 
applicant shall submit to the Department of State 
Police:  
    (i) A complete set of the applicant's legible 
fingerprints taken on standard fingerprint cards; 
and  
    (ii) Payment for the cost of the fingerprint card 
record checks.  
    (c) Warning on application. Every annual 
application for a regulated firearms dealer's li-
cense shall bear the following legend: "Any false 
information supplied or statement made in this 
application is a crime which may be punished by 
imprisonment for a period of not more than 3 
years, or a fine of not more than $5,000 or both."  
    (d) Contents of application. The application 
for a regulated firearms dealer's license shall 
contain the following information:  
    (1) Applicant's name, address, Social Security 
number, place and date of birth, height, weight, 
race, eye and hair color and signature. In the 
event the applicant is a corporation, the applica-
tion shall be completed and executed by a 
corporate officer who is a resident of this State.  
    (2) A clear and recognizable photograph of 
the applicant, except where such photograph 
has been submitted with a prior year's applica-
tion.  
    (3) A set of the applicant's fingerprints, except 
where such fingerprints have been submitted 
with a prior year's application.  
    (4) A statement by the applicant that he or 
she:  
    (i) Is a citizen of the United States.  
    (ii) Is at least 21 years of age.  
    (iii) Has never been convicted of:  
    1. A crime of violence;  
    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State;  

    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; or  
    4. Any violation classified as a common law 
offense where the person received a term of 
imprisonment of more than 2 years.  
    (iv) Is not a fugitive from justice.  
    (v) Is not a habitual drunkard.  
    (vi) Is not an addict or a habitual user of any 
controlled dangerous substances.  
    (vii) Has never spent more than thirty consec-
utive days in any medical institution for treat-
ment of a mental disorder or disorders, unless 
there is attached to the application a physician's 
certificate, issued within thirty days prior to the 
date of application, certifying that the applicant is 
capable of possessing a pistol or revolver with-
out undue danger to himself or herself, or to 
others.  
    (e) Investigation of applicant. The Secretary 
shall conduct an investigation in order to deter-
mine the truth or falsity of the information sup-
plied and statements made in an application for 
a regulated firearms dealer's license. If it be 
thereupon determined that any false information 
or statement has been supplied or made by the 
applicant, a written notification is received from 
the applicant's licensed attending physician that 
the applicant is suffering from a mental disorder 
or disorders and is a danger to himself or herself 
or to others, or that the application has not been 
properly completed, the Secretary shall forward 
written notification to the prospective licensee of 
the Secretary's disapproval of said application.  
    (f) Effect of disapproval. No person shall en-
gage in the business of selling regulated fire-
arms whose application for a regulated firearms 
dealer's license has been disapproved, unless 
such disapproval has been subsequently with-
drawn by the Secretary or overruled by the ac-
tion of the courts pursuant to subsection (g) 
below.  
    (g) Appeal of disapproval. Any person ag-
grieved by the action of the Secretary may ap-
peal the disapproval of his or her application for 
a regulated firearms dealer's license to the cir-
cuit court of the county where the applicant's in-
tended place of business is to be conducted. 
Such appeal must be filed not later than thirty 
days from the date written notification of disap-
proval to the prospective licensee was mailed by 
the Secretary. The court wherein an appeal is 
properly and timely filed shall affirm or reverse 
the determination of disapproval rendered by the 
Secretary, depending upon whether it finds that 
any false information or statement was supplied 
or made by the applicant, or that the application 
was not properly completed. A further appeal to 
the Court of Special Appeals may be prosecuted 
by either the Secretary or the applicant from the 
decision reached by the circuit court in accord-
ance with this subsection.  
    (h) Suspension of license. The Secretary 
shall suspend an issued regulated firearms deal-
er's license by written notification forwarded to 
the licensee under any of the following circum-
stances if the licensee:  
    (1) Is under indictment for a crime of violence; 
or  
    (2) Is arrested for any violation of this sub-
heading that would prohibit the purchase or pos-
session of a regulated firearm.  
    (i) Revocation of license. The Secretary 
shall revoke an issued regulate dfirearm dealer's 
license, by written notification forwarded to the 
licensee, under any of the following circum-
stances:  
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    (1) When it is discovered false information or 
statements have been supplied or made in an 
application required by this section; or  
    (2) If the licensee:  
    (i) Is convicted of a crime of violence;  
    (ii) Is convicted of any violation classified as a 
felony in this State;  
    (iii) Is convicted of any violation classified as 
a misdemeanor in this State that carries a 
statutory penalty of more than 2 years;  
    (iv) Is convicted of any violation classified as 
a common law offense where the licensee re-
ceived a term of imprisonment of more than 2 
years;  
    (v) Is a fugitive from justice;  
    (vi) Is a habitual drunkard;  
    (vii) Is addicted to or a habitual user of any 
controlled dangerous substance; 
    (viii) Has spent more than 30 consecutive 
days in any medical institution for treatment of a 
mental disorder or disorders, unless the licensee 
produces a physician's certificate, issued subse-
quent to the last period of institutionalization, 
certifying that the licensee is capable of posses-
sing a regulated firearm without undue danger to 
himself or herself, or to others;  
    (ix) Has knowingly or willfully manufactured, 
offered to sell, or sold a handgun not on the 
handgun roster in violation of § 36-I of this 
article; or  
    (x) Has knowingly or willfully participated in a 
straw purchase of a regulated firearm.  
    (j) Effect of suspension or revocation. No 
person shall engage in the business of selling 
regulated firearms whose regulated firearms 
dealer's license has been suspended or re-
voked, unless such suspension or revocation 
has been subsequently withdrawn by the Secre-
tary or overruled by the action of the courts 
pursuant to subsection (k) below.  
    (k) Hearing; judicial review. Any prospec-
tive dealer aggrieved by the action of the Secre-
tary may request a hearing within 30 days from 
the date when written notice was forwarded to 
such aggrieved person by writing to the Secre-
tary, who shall grant the hearing within 15 days 
of said request. Said hearing and subsequent 
proceedings of judicial review, if any, thereupon 
following shall be conducted in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act. A revocation shall not take effect while an 
appeal is pending. 
    443A. Sale or transfer of regulated firearm 
at gun show. 
    (a) Temporary transfer permit.  
    (1) (i) A person who displays a regulated fire-
arm for sale or transfer from a table or fixed dis-
play at a gun show shall first obtain a temporary 
transfer permit from the Secretary.  
    (ii) The cost of an initial temporary transfer 
permit each calendar year is $10.  
    (iii) An additional temporary transfer permit 
during the same calendar year shall be issued 
without charge.  
    (iv) A person may not receive more than five 
temporary transfer permits during a single 
calendar year.  
    (v) A temporary transfer permit shall be 
clearly labeled "temporary" and shall include the 
statement: "This is not a license to engage in the 
business of selling firearms."  
    (vi) The application for a temporary transfer 
permit shall contain any information that is nec-
essary for the Secretary to conduct a computer 
background investigation.  
    (vii) Every application for a temporary transfer 
permit shall bear the following statement: "Any 
false information supplied or statement made in 

this application is a crime which may be pun-
ished by imprisonment for a period of not more 
than 3 years or a fine of not more than $5,000 or 
both."  
    (2)(i) The Secretary shall conduct an 
investigation to determine the truth or falsity of 
the information supplied, and the statements 
made in the application for a temporary transfer 
permit.  
    (ii) If there is no reason to disapprove the ap-
plication for a temporary transfer permit, the 
Secretary shall issue the permit within 7 days of 
the date of application.  
    (3) The Secretary shall forward written notifi-
cation of the disapproval to the applicant, if it is 
determined that:  
    (i) The application is improperly completed;  
    (ii) Any false information has been supplied; 
or  
    (iii) A false statement has been made.  
    (4) The temporary transfer permit shall be 
placed in public view as part of any display.  
    (5) Any person who holds a valid regulated 
firearms dealer's license issued under § 443 of 
this article is exempt from the requirements of 
this subsection.  
    (b) Sale or transfer governed by §§ 442 
and 442A. Any sale or transfer of a regulated 
firearm from a table or a fixed display at a gun 
show shall be governed by the provisions of §§ 
442 and 442A of this article.  
    (c) Displays must comply with § 443. Any 
person who, in any calendar year, displays a 
regulated firearm for sale, trade, or transfer at 
more than five gun shows shall comply with § 
443 of this article. 
    444. Obliterating, etc., identification mark 
or number. It shall be unlawful for anyone to 
obliterate, remove, change or alter the manu-
facturer's identification mark or number on any 
firearms. Whenever on trial for a violation of this 
section the defendant is shown to have or have 
had possession of any such firearms, such fact 
shall be presumptive evidence that the defen-
dant obliterated, removed, changed or altered 
the manufacturer's identification mark or num-
ber.  
    445. Restrictions on sale, transfer and pos-
session of regulated firearms. 
    (a) Rights of subordinate jurisdictions. All 
restrictions imposed by the laws, ordinances or 
regulations of all subordinate jurisdictions within 
the State of Maryland on possession or transfers 
by private parties of regulated firearms are su-
perseded by this section and the State of Mary-
land hereby preempts the right of such jurisdic-
tions to regulate the possession and transfer of 
regulated firearms.  
    (b) Sale, rent, or transfer by dealer or 
person - In general. A dealer or person may not 
sell, rent, or transfer a regulated firearm to any 
person whom he knows or has reasonable 
cause to believe:  
    (1) Has been convicted of:  
    (i) A crime of violence;  
    (ii) Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State or any conspiracy to commit any crimes 
established by those sections;  
    (iii) Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; or  
    (iv) Any violation classified as a common law 
offense where the person received a term of 
imprisonment of more than 2 years.  
    (2) Is:  
    (i) A fugitive from justice;  
    (ii) A habitual drunkard;  
    (iii) Addicted to or a habitual user of any 
controlled dangerous substance or substances;  

    (iv) Suffering from a mental disorder as de-
fined in § 10-101 (f) (2) of the Health-General 
Article and has a history of violent behavior 
against another person or self, or has been con-
fined for more than 30 consecutive days to a 
facility as defined in § 10-101 of the Health-Gen-
eral Article, unless the person possesses a phy-
sician's certification that the person is capable of 
possessing a regulated firearm without undue 
danger to the person or to others;  
    (v) Visibly under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs;  
    (vi) Under 21 years of age;  
    (vii) A participant in a "straw purchase" as de-
fined in § 441 of this article; or 
    (viii) A respondent against whom a current 
non ex parte civil protective order has been 
entered under § 4-506 of the Family Law Article.  
    (3) Is less than 30 years of age at the time of 
transaction and has been adjudicated delinquent 
by a juvenile court for committing: 
    1. A crime of violence; 
    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State; or  
    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years. 
    (4) Subject to subsection (b-1) of this section, 
for an application made on or after January 1, 
2002 has completed a certified firearms safety 
training course conducted free of charge by the 
Maryland Police Training Commission or that 
meets standards by the Maryland Police Train-
ing Commission as provided Article 41, § 4-
201(d-l) of the Code. 
    (b-1) A person is not required to complete a 
certified firearms training course under subsec-
tion (b)(4) of this section and § 442(h)(2) (ix) of 
this subheading if the person: 
    (1) Has completed a certified firearms training 
course required under subsection(b)(4) of this 
section and § 442(h)(2)(ix) of this subheading; 
    (2) Is a law enforcement officer of the State or 
any local law enforcement agency in the State; 
    (3) Is a member, retired member, or honor-
ably discharged member of the Armed Forces of 
the United States or the National Guard; 
    (4) Is a member of an organization that is re-
quired by Federal law or regulations governing 
their specific business or activity to maintain 
handguns and applicable ammunition; or 
    (5) Has been issued a permit to carry a hand-
gun under § 36E of this article. 
    (c) Same - Minors. A person may not sell, 
rent, or transfer:  
    (1) Ammunition solely designed for a regu-
lated firearm to a person who is under 21 years 
of age; or  
    (2) A firearm, other than a regulated firearm, 
ammunition for a firearm, pepper mace, or other 
deadly weapon to a minor.  
    (d) Restrictions on possession - In gen-
eral. A person may not possess a regulated 
firearm if the person:  
    (1) Has been convicted of:  
    (i) A crime of violence;  
    (ii) Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State;  
    (iii) Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years; or  
    (iv) Any violation classified as a common law 
offense where the person received a term of 
imprisonment of more than 2 years.  
    (2) Is:  
    (i) A fugitive from justice;  
    (ii) A habitual drunkard;  
    (iii) Addicted to or a habitual user of any 
controlled dangerous substances;  
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    (iv) Suffering from a mental disorder as de-
fined in § 10-101 (f) (2) of the Health-General 
Article and has a history of violent behavior 
against another person or self, or has been con-
fined for more than 30 consecutive days to a 
facility as defined in § 10-101 of the Health-Gen-
eral Article, unless the person possesses a phy-
sician's certification that the person is capable of 
possessing a regulated firearm without undue 
danger to the person or to others; or  
    (v) A respondent against whom a current non 
ex parte civil protective order has been entered 
under § 4-506 of the Family Law Article. 
    (3) Is less than 30 years of age at the time of 
possessing and has been adjudicated delin-
quent by a juvenile court for committing: 
    1. A crime of violence; 
    2. Any violation classified as a felony in this 
State; or  
    3. Any violation classified as a misdemeanor 
in this State that carries a statutory penalty of 
more than 2 years. 
    (e) Same - Minors. 
    (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this 
subsection, a person who is under 21 years of 
age may not possess a regulated firearm or am-
munition solely designed for a regulated firearm.  
    (2) Unless a person is otherwise prohibited 
from possessing a regulated firearm, this sub-
section does not apply to:  
    (i) The temporary transfer or possession of a 
regulated firearm or regulated firearm ammuni-
tion if the person is under 21 years of age and 
is:  
    1. Under the supervision of a person at least 
21 years of age who is not prohibited by State or 
federal law from possessing firearms; and  
    2. Acting with the permission of the parent or 
legal guardian of the transferee or person in 
possession;  
    (ii) The transfer by inheritance of title, and not 
of possession, of a regulated firearm;  
    (iii) A person who is a member of the armed 
forces of the United States or of the national 
guard while performing official duties;  
    (iv) The temporary transfer or possession of a 
regulated firearm or regulated firearm ammuni-
tion if the person is under 21 years of age and 
is:  
    1. Participating in marksmanship training of a 
recognized organization; and  
    2. Under the supervision of a qualified 
instructor;  
    (v) A person who is required to possess a 
regulated firearm for employment purposes and 
has been issued a permit under § 36E of this 
article; or  
    (vi) The possession of a firearm or ammuni-
tion for the purpose of self-defense or the de-
fense of others against a trespasser into the res-
idence of the person in possession or into a resi-
dence in which the person in possession is an 
invited guest. 
    445A. Purchase of regulated firearms from 
out-of-state seller. 
    (a) In general.- Any person who purchases a 
regulated firearm from an out-of-state licensed 
importer, licensed manufacturer, or licensed 
dealer where the regulated firearm will be owned 
by that person shall:  
    (1) Have the licensed importer, licensed man-
ufacturer, or licensed dealer ship the regulated 
firearm to a regulated firearms dealer in this 
State for processing; and  
    (2) Comply with §§ 442 and 442A of this sub-
heading.  
    (b) Waiting period waived for law enforce-
ment personnel. The Secretary may waive the 
7-day waiting period for law enforcement per-

sonnel of the United States government or any 
agency or department of the United States, 
members of the armed forces of the United 
States or of the national guard, or law enforce-
ment personnel of this State or any local agency 
in this State when the person is purchasing the 
regulated firearm for use within the scope of his 
or her official duties. 
    445B. Firearms subject to seizure. Any reg-
ulated firearm sold, rented, transferred, pos-
sessed, received, or purchased in violation of 
this subheading may be seized by a law en-
forcement agency as contraband and, after a 
finding of guilt, disposed of in accordance with § 
36C of this Article. 
    446. Sale, transfer, etc., of stolen regulated 
firearm. It shall be unlawful for any person to 
possess, sell, transfer or otherwise dispose of 
any stolen regulated firearm, knowing or having 
reasonable cause to believe same to have been 
stolen. 
    447. Antique or unserviceable firearms ex-
cepted. The provisions of this subtitle shall not 
be construed to include any antique or unser-
viceable firearms sold or transferred and/or held 
as curios or museum pieces. 
    447A. Marine signal pistols, etc. This sub-
title does not apply to any signal pistol or other 
visual distress signal approved by the United 
States Coast Guard for use as a marine safety 
device. 
    448. Regulations. The Secretary shall prom-
ulgate regulations to carry out the provisions of 
this subheading. 
    449. Penalties. 
    (a) Penalties generally. Any person who vio-
lates any of the provisions of § 445 (c) of this 
subheading is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon 
conviction shall be fined not more than $1,000 or 
imprisoned for not more than 1 year or both.  
    (b) False information or material misstate-
ment on application. Any person who knowing-
ly gives any false information or makes any ma-
terial misstatement in an application to purchase 
a regulated firearm or an application for a regu-
lated firearms dealer's license shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and upon conviction be fined not 
more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more 
than 3 years, or both.  
    (c) Violation of 30-day purchase period. 
Any person who violates any of the provisions of 
§ 442A of this subheading is guilty of a misde-
meanor and shall upon conviction be fined not 
more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more 
than 3 years or both.  
    (d) Knowing participants in straw pur-
chase or trafficking. Any person or dealer who 
is a knowing participant in a straw purchase of a 
reguated firearm to a prohibited person or to a 
minor, or transports regulated firearms into this 
State for the purpose of illegal sale or trafficking 
of a regulated firearm shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor and upon conviction be fined not more 
than $25,000 or imprisoned for not more than 10 
years, or both. Each violation shall be con-
sidered a separate offense.  
    (e) A person who was previously convicted of 
a crime of violence as defined in § 441(e) of this 
article or convicted of a violation of § 286 or § 
286A of this article, and who is in illegal posses-
sion of a firearm as defined in § 445(d)(1)(i) and 
(ii) of this article, is guilty of a felony and upon 
conviction shall be imprisoned for not less than 5 
years, no part of which may be suspended and 
the person may not be eligible for parole. Each 
violation shall be considered a separate offense. 
    (f) Knowing participants in sale, rental, etc. 
Except as otherwise provided in this section, any 
dealer or person who knowingly participates in 

the illegal sale, rental, transfer, purchase, pos-
session, or receipt of a regulated firearm in vio-
lation of this subheading shall be guilty of a 
misde-meanor and upon conviction shall be 
fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for 
not more than 5 years, or both. Each violation 
shall be considered a separate offense. 
 

Rifles and Shotguns 
 
    481A. Purchase from licensed dealer in ad-
joining state. It shall be lawful for any Maryland 
resident to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a 
federally licensed gun dealer in an adjoining 
state provided the purchaser is eligible to pur-
chase a rifle or shotgun under the laws of such 
state. 
    481B. Purchase by resident of adjacent 
state from licensed dealer in Maryland. It 
shall be lawful for any resident of an adjacent 
state (Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, West 
Virginia) to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a 
federally licensed gun dealer in this State pro-
vided the purchaser is eligible to purchase a rifle 
or shotgun under the laws of the State of Mary-
land 
    481C. Possession of short-barreled rifles 
and short-barreled shotguns prohibited - 
exceptions - penalty.  
    (a) (1) In this section, the following words 
have the meanings indicated.  
    (2) "Rifle" means a weapon designed or re-
designed, made or remade, and intended to be 
fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to 
fire only a single projectile through a rifled bore 
for each single pull of the trigger.  
    (3) "Short-barreled shotgun" means a shot-
gun having one or more barrels less than 18 
inches in length and any weapon made from a 
shotgun (whether by alteration, modification, or 
otherwise) if such weapon as modified has an 
overall length of less than 26 inches.  
    (4) "Short-barreled rifle" means a rifle hav-
ing one or more barrels less than 16 inches in 
length and any weapon made from a rifle 
(whether by alteration, modification, or other-
wise) if such weapon, as modified, has an over-
all length of less than 26 inches.   
    (5) "Shotgun" means a weapon designed or 
redesigned, made or remade, and intended to 
be fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire 
through a smooth bore either a number of ball 
shot or a single projectile for each single pull of 
the trigger.  
    (6) The terms short-barreled shotgun and 
short-barreled rifle do not include:  
    (i) Antique firearms as defined in section 
36F(c) of this article;  
    (ii) Any device which is neither designed nor 
redesigned for use as a weapon, which is rede-
signed for use as a signaling, pyrotechnic, line 
throwing, safety, or similar device; or  
    (iii) Any firearm which is incapable of dis-
charging a shot by means of an explosive and 
incapable of being readily restored to a firing 
condition. 
    (b) Possession of short-barreled rifle or 
short-barreled shotgun prohibited. Except as 
provided in subsection (c), a person may not 
possess a short-barreled rifle or short-barreled 
shotgun.  
    (c) Exceptions; registration. 
    (1) The provisions of subsection (b) of this 
section do not apply to the following individuals, 
while on official business:  
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    (i) Law enforcement personnel of the United 
States or of this State, or of any political sub-
division of this State;  
    (ii) A member of the armed forces of the 
United States or the National Guard while on 
duty or travelling to or from duty;  
    (iii) Law enforcement personnel of another 
state or of a political subdivision of another 
state, while temporarily in this State;  
    (iv) A jailer, prison guard, warden, or guard or 
keeper of any penal, correctional, or detention 
institution in this State; and  
    (v) A sheriff, and a temporary or full-time 
deputy sheriff.  
    (2) A person may possess a short-barreled 
shotgun or short-barreled rifle which has been 
registered with the United States government in 
accordance with United States statutes. In any 
prosecution under this section, the defendant 
has the burden of proving the lawful registration 
of the short-barreled shotgun or short-barreled 
rifle.  
    (d) Penalty. Any person violating the provi-
sions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and upon conviction is subject to a fine not ex-
ceeding $5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 
five years, or both. 

    481D. Possession by persons suffering 
from mental disorder having history of 
violent behavior. 
    (a) In general. A person may not possess a 
rifle or a shotgun if the person is suffering from a 
mental disorder as defined in § 10-101 (f) (2) of 
the Health-General Article and has a history of 
violent behavior against another person or self, 
or has been confined for more than 30 consecu-
tive days to a facility as defined in § 10-101 of 
the Health-General Article, unless the person 
possesses a physician's certification that the 
person is capable of possessing a rifle or a shot-
gun without undue danger to the person or to 
others.  
    (b) Penalty. Any person violating the provi-
sions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and upon conviction is subject to a fine not ex-
ceeding $1,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 
3 years, or both. 
 
[Current through 2000 Regular Session, 
including 2000 Md. Laws 1, (SB 158), 2 (SB 
211, eff. Oct. 1, 2000) & 288 (SB 591; eff. Oct. 
1, 2000)] 
 

Publisher�s Notes: 

 
The following jurisdictions restrict the age at 
which it is legal for a person to purchase or 
receive a firearm: Annapolis, Baltimore County, 
and Montgomery County. 
 
Montgomery County prohibits the sale, pos-
session, or receipt of any type of firearm by a 
particular class of persons (e.g. convicted 
felons, fugitives, illegal aliens, mental 
incompetents, illegal drug users or addicts). 
 
Cumberland prohibits concealed weapons. 
 
Annapolis imposes recordkeeping require-
ments as a condition of lawful sale of fire-
arms and ammunition and requires sellers to 
register with the city clerk. 
 
Montgomery County requires ammunition 
dealers to register with the police and main-
tain receipts. 
 
Baltimore County holds parents/guardians of 
underage persons liable for acts wrongfully 
committed with firearms. 
 

 

MASSACHUSETTS 
MASS. GEN. L. 

 
Chapter 140. Licenses - Sale of Firearms 

 
    121. Definitions. As used in sections 122 to 
131P, inclusive, the following words shall, unless 
the context clearly requires otherwise, have the 
following meanings:  
    "Ammunition", cartridges or cartridge cases, 
primers (igniter), bullets or propellant powder 
designed for use in any firearm, rifle or shotgun.  
The term "ammunition" shall also mean tear gas 
cartridges, chemical mace or any device or 
instrument which contains or emits a liquid, gas, 
powder or any other substance designed to 
incapacitate. 
    "Assault weapon", shall have the same 
meaning as a semiautomatic assault weapon as 
defined in the federal Public Safety and Recrea-
tional Firearms Use Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. 
section 921(a)(30), and shall include, but not be 
limited to, any of the weapons, or copies or du-
plicates of the weapons, of any caliber, known 
as: (i) Avtomat Kalashnikov (AK) (all models); (ii) 
Action Arms Israeli Military Industries UZI and 
Galil; (iii) Beretta Ar70 (SC-70); (iv) Colt AR-15; 
(v) Fabrique National FN/FAL, FN/LAR and 
FNC; (vi) SWD M-10, M-11, M-11/9 and M-12; 
(vi) Steyr AUG; (vii) INTRATEC TEC-9, TEC-
DC9 and TEC-22; and (viii) revolving cylinder 
shotguns, such as, or similar to, the Street 
Sweeper and Striker 12; provided, however, that 
the term assault weapon shall not include: (i) 
any of the weapons, or replicas or duplicates of 
such weapons, specified in appendix A to 18 
U.S.C. section 922, as such weapons were 
manufactured on October 1, 1993; (ii) any wea-
pon that is operated by manual bolt, pump, lever 
or slide action; (iii) any weapon that has been 
rendered permanently inoperable or otherwise 
rendered permanently unable to be designated a 
semiautomatic assault weapon; (iv) any weapon 
that was manufactured prior to the year 1899; 
(v) any weapon that is an antique or relic, the-
atrical prop or other weapon that is not capable 
of firing a projectile and which is not intended for 
use as a functional weapon and cannot be read-
ily modified through a combination of available 

parts into an operable assault weapon; (vi) any 
semiautomatic rifle that cannot accept a detach-
able magazine that holds more than five rounds 
of ammunition; or (vii) any semiautomatic shot-
gun that cannot hold more than five rounds of 
ammunition in a fixed or detachable magazine.  
    "Conviction", a finding or verdict of guilt or a 
plea of guilty, whether or not final sentence is 
imposed. 
    "Firearm", a pistol, revolver or other weapon 
of any description, loaded or unloaded, from 
which a shot or bullet can be discharged and of 
which the length of the barrel or barrels is less 
than 16 inches or 18 inches in the case of a 
shotgun as originally manufactured; provided, 
however, that the term firearm shall not include 
any weapon that is: (i) constructed in a shape 
that does not resemble a handgun, short-barrel-
ed rifle or short-barreled shotgun including, but 
not limited to, covert weapons that resemble 
key-chains, pens, cigarette-lighters or cigarette-
packages; or (ii) not detectable as a weapon or 
potential weapon by x-ray machines commonly 
used at airports or walk-through metal detectors.  
    "Gunsmith", any person who engages in the 
business of repairing, altering, cleaning, polish-
ing, engraving, blueing or performing any me-
chanical operation on any firearm, rifle, shotgun 
or machine gun.  
    "Imitation firearm", any weapon which is 
designed, manufactured or altered in such a way 
as to render it incapable of discharging a shot or 
bullet.  
    "Large capacity feeding device", (i) a fixed 
or detachable magazine, box, drum, feed strip or 
similar device capable of accepting, or that can 
be readily converted to accept, more than ten 
rounds of ammunition or more than five shotgun 
shells; or (ii) a large capacity ammunition feed-
ing device as defined in the federal Public Safety 
and Recreational Firearms Use Protection Act, 
18 U.S.C. section 921(a)(31). The term "large 
capacity feeding device" shall not include an 
attached tubular device designed to accept, and 
capable of operating only with, .22 caliber 
ammunition. 

    "Large capacity weapon", any firearm, rifle 
or shotgun: (i) that is semiautomatic with a fixed 
large capacity feeding device; (ii) that is 
semiautomatic and capable of accepting, or 
readily modifiable to accept, any detachable 
large capacity feeding device; (iii) that employs a 
rotating cylinder capable of accepting more than 
ten rounds of ammunition in a rifle or firearm and 
more than five shotgun shells in the case of a 
shotgun or firearm; or (iv) that is an assault 
weapon. The term "large capacity weapon" shall 
be a secondary designation and shall apply to a 
weapon in addition to its primary designation as 
a firearm, rifle or shotgun and shall not include: 
(i) any weapon that was manufactured in or prior 
to the year 1899; (ii) any weapon that operates 
by manual bolt, pump, lever or slide action; (iii) 
any weapon that is a single-shot weapon; (iv) 
any weapon that has been modified so as to 
render it permanently inoperable or otherwise 
rendered permanently unable to be designated a 
large capacity weapon; or (v) any weapon that is 
an antique or relic, theatrical prop or other 
weapon that is not capable of firing a projectile 
and which is not intended for use as a functional 
weapon and cannot be readily modified through 
a combination of available parts into an operable 
large capacity weapon.  
    "Length of barrel" or "barrel length", that 
portion of a firearm, rifle, shotgun or machine 
gun through which a shot or bullet is driven, 
guided or stabilized and shall include the 
chamber. 
    "Licensing authority", the chief of police or 
the board or officer having control of the police 
in a city or town, or persons authorized by them.  
    "Machine gun", a weapon of any description, 
by whatever name known, loaded or unloaded, 
from which a number of shots or bullets may be 
rapidly or automatically discharged by one con-
tinuous activation of the trigger, including a sub-
machine gun. 
    "Purchase" and "sale" shall include ex-
change; the word "purchaser" shall include ex-
changer; and the verbs "sell" and "purchase", in 


