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    (iv) Antiques or reproductions thereof and 
rifles held for sporting, recreational, investment 
or display purposes; 
    (v) Rifle, pistol or shotgun ammunition and 
their components. 
    (3) "Shrapnel" means any metal, ceramic, 
glass, hard plastic or other material of sufficient 
hardness to puncture human skin when pro-
pelled by force of the bomb or destructive device 
to which it is attached or in which it is contained. 
    18-3319. Unlawful Possession of Bombs or 
Destructive Devices. 
    (1) Any person who knowingly, intentionally, 
or recklessly possesses or controls a bomb or 
destructive device for a purpose unlawful pursu-
ant to title 18, Idaho Code, is guilty of a felony, 
punishable by up to a five thousand dollar 
($5,000) fine and five (5) years in prison. 
    (2) Any person who knowingly possesses an 
assembled bomb or assembled destructive de-
vice and who: 
    (a) Has been convicted of a felony; or 
    (b) Has been found guilty of any crime where 
such conviction results in the person being pro-
hibited from possessing or owning firearms; or 
    (c) Is in possession or control of any sub-
stance or paraphernalia in violation of section 
37-2732B, 37-2734A or 37-2734B, Idaho Code, 
or the felony provisions of section 37-2732, 
Idaho Code; 
    is guilty of a felony, punishable by up to a five 
thousand dollar ($5,000) fine and five (5) years 
in prison. 
    (3) Any person who possesses a bomb or 
destructive device which by its design will propel 
shrapnel is guilty of a felony, punishable by up to 

a five thousand dollar ($5,000) fine and five (5) 
years in prison. 
    18-3320. Unlawful Use of Destructive De-
vice or Bomb. Any person who knowingly, in-
tentionally, or recklessly: 
    (1) Conspires to use, uses or causes to be 
used a destructive device or bomb in the com-
mission of or an attempt to commit a felony; or 
    (2) With the intent to injure the person or 
property of another, transports a bomb or 
destructive device; or 
    (3) Injures another or conspires or attempts to 
injure another in his person or property through 
the use of a destructive device or bomb is guilty 
of a felony, punishable by up to a twenty-five 
thousand dollar ($25,000) fine and life in prison. 
    18-3321. Persons Exempt. Unless the intent 
to injure the person or property of another has 
been established, the provisions in section 18-
3319, Idaho Code, shall not apply to: 
    (1) Any public safety officer or member of the 
armed forces of the United States or national 
guard while acting in his official capacity; 
    (2) Any person possessing a valid permit is-
sued under the provisions of the international 
fire code, sections 41-253 and 41-254, Idaho 
Code, or any employee of such permittee acting 
within the scope of his employment; 
    (3) Any person possessing a valid license as 
an importer, wholesaler, or display operator un-
der the provisions of the Idaho fireworks act, 
sections 39-2602, 39-2606, 39-2607, 39-2608, 
39-2609, 39-2610, 39-2611 and 39-2612, Idaho 
Code; 
    (4) A device which falls within the definition of 
a bomb or destructive device when used on 

property owned or otherwise in the control of the 
person using the device; 
    (5) Those licensed or permitted by the federal 
government to use or possess a bomb or de-
structive device. 
    (6) Those persons who possess a destructive 
device properly registered and taxed under the 
provisions of the national firearms act, as 
amended, as to possession of destructive de-
vices properly registered to such persons. 
 
 

Title 31. Counties and County Law 
 

Chapter 8. Powers and Duties of Board of 
Commissioners 

 
    31-872. Regulation of Firearms - Control by 
State. No board of county commissioners of any 
county may in any manner regulate the lawful 
ownership, possession or transportation of fire-
arms when carried or transported for purposes 
not prohibited by the laws of the state of Idaho. 
 

Title 50. Municipal Corporations 
 

Chapter 3. Powers 
 
    50-343. Regulation of Firearms - Control by 
State. No city may in any manner regulate the 
lawful ownership, possession or transportation 
of firearms when carried or transported for pur-
poses not prohibited by the laws of the state of 
Idaho. 
 
[Current through 2007 Regular Session] 
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Act 65. Firearms Owners Identification Card 

Act 
 
    65/0.01. Short title. This Act may be cited as 
the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. 
    65/1. Legislative declaration. It is hereby de-
clared as a matter of legislative determination 
that in order to promote and protect the health, 
safety and welfare of the public, it is necessary 
and in the public interest to provide a system of 
identifying persons who are not qualified to ac-
quire or possess firearms, firearm ammunition, 
stun guns, and tasers within the State of Illinois 
by the establishment of a system of Firearm 
Owner's Identification Cards, thereby 
establishing a practical and workable system by 
which law enforcement authorities will be 
afforded an opportunity to identify those persons 
who are prohibited by Section 24-3.1 of the 
"Criminal Code of 1961", as amended, from 
acquiring or possessing firearms and firearm 
ammunition and who are prohibited by this Act 
from acquiring stun guns and tasers. 
    65/1.1. Definitions. For purposes of this Act: 
    "Has been adjudicated as a mental defective" 
means the person is the subject of a 
determination by a court, board, commission or 
other lawful authority that a person, as a result 
of marked subnormal intelligence, or mental 
illness, mental impairment, incompetency, 
condition, or disease: 
   (1) is a danger to himself, herself, or to others; 

   (2) lacks the mental capacity to manage his or 
her own affairs; 
   (3) is not guilty in a criminal case by reason of 
insanity, mental disease or defect; 
   (4) is incompetent to stand trial in a criminal 
case; 
   (5) is not guilty by reason of lack of mental 
responsibility pursuant to Articles 50a and 72b of 
the Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. 
850a, 876b  
"Counterfeit" means to copy or imitate, without 
legal authority, with intent to deceive. 
   "Federally licensed firearm dealer" means a 
person who is licensed as a federal firearms 
dealer under Section 923 of the federal Gun 
Control Act of 1968 (18 U.S.C. 923). 
   "Firearm" means any device, by whatever 
name known, which is designed to expel a 
projectile or projectiles by the action of an 
explosion, expansion of gas or escape of gas; 
excluding, however: 
   (1) any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paint ball 
gun or BB gun which either expels a single 
globular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in 
diameter and which has a maximum muzzle 
velocity of less than 700 feet per second or 
breakable paint balls containing washable 
marking colors; 
   (2) any device used exclusively for signaling or 
safety and required or recommended by the 
United States Coast Guard or the Interstate 
Commerce Commission; 

   (3) any device used exclusively for the firing of 
stud cartridges, explosive rivets or similar 
industrial ammunition; and 
   (4) an antique firearm (other than a machine-
gun) which, although designed as a weapon, the 
Department of State Police finds by reason of 
the date of its manufacture, value, design, and 
other characteristics is primarily a collector's    
item and is not likely to be used as a weapon. 
   "Firearm ammunition" means any self-
contained cartridge or shotgun shell, by 
whatever name known, which is designed to be 
used or adaptable to use in a firearm; excluding, 
however: 
   (1) any ammunition exclusively designed for 
use with a device used exclusively for signaling 
or safety and required or recommended by the 
United States Coast Guard or the Interstate 
Commerce Commission; and 
   (2) any ammunition designed exclusively for 
use with a stud or rivet driver or other similar 
industrial ammunition. 
   "Gun show" means an event or function: 
   (1) at which the sale and transfer of firearms is 
the regular and normal course of business and 
where 50 or more firearms are displayed, 
offered, or exhibited for sale, transfer, or 
exchange; or 
   (2) at which not less than 10 gun show 
vendors display, offer, or exhibit for sale, sell, 
transfer, or exchange firearms. 
   "Gun show" includes the entire premises 
provided for an event or function, including 
parking areas for the event or function, that is 
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sponsored to facilitate the purchase, sale, 
transfer, or exchange of firearms as described in 
this Section. 
   "Gun show" does not include training or safety 
classes, competitive shooting events, such as 
rifle, shotgun, or handgun matches, trap, skeet, 
or sporting clays shoots, dinners, banquets, 
raffles, or any other event where the sale or 
transfer of firearms is not the primary course of 
business. 
   "Gun show promoter" means a person who 
organizes or operates a gun show. 
   "Gun show vendor" means a person who 
exhibits, sells, offers for sale, transfers, or 
exchanges any firearms at a gun show, 
regardless of whether the person arranges with 
a gun show promoter for a fixed location from 
which to exhibit, sell, offer for sale, transfer, or 
exchange any firearm. 
   "Sanctioned competitive shooting event" 
means a shooting contest officially recognized 
by a national or state shooting sport association, 
and includes any sight-in or practice conducted 
in conjunction with the event. 
   "Stun gun or taser" has the meaning ascribed 
to it in Section 24-1 of the Criminal Code of 
1961. 
    65/2. Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
required; exceptions. 
    (a)(1) No person may acquire or possess any 
firearm, stun gun, or taser within this State 
without having in his or her possession a 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card previously 
issued in his or her name by the Department of 
State Police under the provisions of this Act. 
    (2) No person may acquire or possess firearm 
ammunition within this State without having in 
his or her possession a Firearm Owner's Identifi-
cation Card previously issued in his or her name 
by the Department of State Police under the 
provisions of this Act. 
    (b) The provisions of this Section regarding 
the possession of firearms, firearm ammunition, 
stun guns, and tasers do not apply to: 
    (1) United States Marshals, while engaged in 
the operation of their official duties; 
    (2) Members of the Armed Forces of the 
United States or the National Guard, while en-
gaged in the operation of their official duties; 
    (3) Federal officials required to carry firearms, 
while engaged in the operation of their official 
duties; 
    (4) Members of bona fide veterans organiza-
tions which receive firearms directly from the 
armed forces of the United States, while using 
the firearms for ceremonial purposes with blank 
ammunition; 
    (5) Nonresident hunters during hunting sea-
son, with valid nonresident hunting licenses and 
while in an area where hunting is permitted; 
however, at all other times and in all other 
places these persons must have their firearms 
unloaded and enclosed in a case; 
    (6) Those hunters exempt from obtaining a 
hunting license who are required to submit their 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card when hunt-
ing on Department of Natural Resources owned 
or managed sites; 
    (7) Nonresidents while on a firing or shooting 
range recognized by the Department of State 
Police; however, these persons must at all other 
times and in all other places have their firearms 
unloaded and enclosed in a case; 
    (8) Nonresidents while at a firearm showing or 
display recognized by the Department of State 
Police; however, at all other times and in all 
other places these persons must have their fire-
arms unloaded and enclosed in a case; 

    (9) Nonresidents whose firearms are un-
loaded and enclosed in a case; 
    (10) Nonresidents who are currently licensed 
or registered to possess a firearm in their resi-
dent state; 
    (11) Unemancipated minors while in the cus-
tody and immediate control of their parent or leg-
al guardian or other person in loco parentis to 
the minor if the parent or legal guardian or other 
person in loco parentis to the minor has a cur-
rently valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card; 
    (12) Color guards of bona fide veterans or-
ganizations or members of bona fide American 
Legion bands while using firearms for ceremon-
ial purposes with blank ammunition; 
    (13) Nonresident hunters whose state of resi-
dence does not require them to be licensed or 
registered to possess a firearm and only during 
hunting season, with valid hunting licenses, 
while accompanied by, and using a firearm own-
ed by, a person who possesses a valid Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card and while in an area 
within a commercial club licensed under the 
Wildlife Code [520 ILCS 5/1.1 et seq.] where 
hunting is permitted and controlled, but in no in-
stance upon sites owned or managed by the 
Department of Natural Resources; 
    (14) Resident hunters who are properly au-
thorized to hunt and, while accompanied by a 
person who possesses a valid Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card, hunt in an area within a com-
mercial club licensed under the Wildlife Code 
where hunting is permitted and controlled; and 
    (15) A person who is otherwise eligible to ob-
tain a Firearm Owner's Identification Card under 
this Act and is under the direct supervision of a 
holder of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
who is 21 years of age or older while the person 
is on a firing or shooting range or is a participant 
in a firearms safety and training course recog-
nized by a law enforcement agency or a nation-
al, statewide shooting sports organization. 
    (c) The provisions of this Section regarding 
the acquisition and possession of firearms, 
firearm ammunition, stun guns, and tasers do 
not apply to law enforcement officials of this or 
any other jurisdiction, while engaged in the 
operation of their official duties. 
    65/3. Requisites for transfer. 
    (a) Except as provided in Section 3a, no per-
son may knowingly transfer, or cause to be 
transferred, any firearm, firearm ammunition, 
stun gun, or taser to any person within this State 
unless the transferee with whom he deals 
displays a currently valid Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card which has previously been 
issued in his name by the Department of State 
Police under the provisions of this Act. In 
addition, all firearm, stun gun, and taser 
transfers by federally licensed firearm dealers 
are subject to Section 3.1. 

(a-5) Any person who is not a federally 
licensed firearm dealer and who desires to 
transfer or sell a firearm while that person is on 
the grounds of a gun show must, before selling 
or transferring the firearm, request the 
Department of State Police to conduct a 
background check on the prospective recipient 
of the firearm in accordance with Section 3.1. 

(b) Any person within this State who transfers 
or causes to be transferred any firearm, stun 
gun, or taser shall keep a record of such transfer 
for a period of 10 years from the date of transfer. 
Such record shall contain the date of the 
transfer; the description, serial number or other 
information identifying the firearm if no serial 
number is available; and, if the transfer was 
completed within this State, the transferee's 

Firearm Owner's Identification Card number. On 
or after January 1, 2006, the record shall contain 
the date of application for transfer of the firearm. 
On demand of a peace officer such transferor 
shall produce for inspection such record of 
transfer. If the transfer or sale took place at a 
gun show, the record shall include the unique 
identification number. Failure to record the 
unique identification number is a petty offense. 

(b-5) Any resident may purchase ammunition 
from a person outside of Illinois. Any resident 
purchasing ammunition outside the State of 
Illinois must provide the seller with a copy of his 
or her valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
and either his or her Illinois driver's license or 
Illinois State Identification Card prior to the 
shipment of the ammunition. The ammunition 
may be shipped only to an address on either of 
those 2 documents. 

   (c) The provisions of this Section regarding 
the transfer of firearm ammunition shall not ap-
ply to those persons specified in paragraph (b) 
of Section 2 of this Act. 
    65/3a. Reciprocity. 
    (a) Any resident of Illinois who has obtained a 
firearm owner's identification card pursuant to 
this Act and who is not otherwise prohibited from 
obtaining, possessing or using a firearm may 
purchase or obtain a rifle or shotgun or ammuni-
tion for a rifle or shotgun in Iowa, Missouri, Indi-
ana, Wisconsin or Kentucky. 
    (b) Any resident of Iowa, Missouri, Indiana, 
Wisconsin or Kentucky or a non-resident with a 
valid non-resident hunting license, who is 18 
years of age or older and who is not prohibited 
by the laws of Illinois, the state of his domicile, 
or the United States from obtaining, possessing 
or using a firearm, may purchase or obtain a 
rifle, shotgun or ammunition for a rifle or shotgun 
in Illinois. 
    (b-5) Any non-resident who is participating in 
a sanctioned competitive shooting event, who is 
18 years of age or older and who is not prohib-
ited by the laws of Illinois, the state of his or her 
domicile, or the United States from obtaining, 
possessing, or using a firearm, may purchase or 
obtain a shotgun or shotgun ammunition in Illi-
nois for the purpose of participating in that 
event. A person may purchase or obtain a shot-
gun or shotgun ammunition under this subsec-
tion only at the site where the sanctioned com-
petitive shooting event is being held. 
    (c) Any transaction under this Section is 
subject to the provisions of the Gun Control Act 
of 1968 (18 U.S.C. 922 (b)(3)). 
    65/3.1. Dial up system.  
    (a) The Department of State Police shall 
provide a dial up telephone system or utilize 
other existing technology which shall be used by 
any federally licensed firearm dealer, gun show 
promoter, or gun show vendor who is to transfer 
a firearm, stun gun, or taser under the provisions 
of this Act. The Department of State Police may 
utilize existing technology which allows the caller 
to be charged a fee not to exceed $2. Fees 
collected by the Department of State Police shall 
be deposited in the State Police Services Fund 
and used to provide the service. 
   (b) Upon receiving a request from a federally 
licensed firearm dealer, gun show promoter, or 
gun show vendor, the Department of State 
Police shall immediately approve, or within the 
time period established by Section 24-3 of the 
Criminal Code of 1961 regarding the delivery of 
firearms, stun guns, and tasers notify the 
inquiring dealer, gun show promoter, or gun 
show vendor of any objection that would 
disqualify the transferee from acquiring or 
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possessing a firearm, stun gun, or taser. In 
conducting the inquiry, the Department of State 
Police shall initiate and complete an automated 
search of its criminal history record information 
files and those of the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation, including the National Instant 
Criminal Background Check System, and of the 
files of the Department of Human Services 
relating to mental health and developmental 
disabilities to obtain any felony conviction or 
patient hospitalization information which would 
disqualify a person from obtaining or require 
revocation of a currently valid Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card. 
   (c) If receipt of a firearm would not violate 
Section 24-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961, 
federal law, or this Act the Department of State 
Police shall: 
   (1) assign a unique identification number to 
the transfer; and 
   (2) provide the licensee, gun show promoter, 
or gun show vendor with the number. 
   (d) Approvals issued by the Department of 
State Police for the purchase of a firearm are 
valid for 30 days from the date of issue. 
   (e) The Department of State Police must act 
as the Illinois Point of Contact for the National 
Instant Criminal Background Check System.   
   (f) The Department of State Police shall 
promulgate rules not inconsistent with this 
Section to implement this system. 
   65/3.2. List of prohibited projectiles; notice 
to dealers. Prior to January 1, 2002, the Depart-
ment of State Police shall list on the Depart-
ment's World Wide Web site all firearm projec-
tiles that are prohibited under Sections 24-2.1, 
24-2.2, and 24-3.2 of the Criminal Code of 1961, 
together with a statement setting forth the sen-
tence that may be imposed for violating those 
Sections. The Department of State Police shall, 
prior to January 1, 2002, send a list of all firearm 
projectiles that are prohibited under Sections 24-
2.1, 24-2.2, and 24-3.2 of the Criminal Code of 
1961 to each federally licensed firearm dealer in 
Illinois registered with the Department. 
    65/4. Application. 
    (a) Each applicant for a Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card must: 
    (1) Make application on blank forms prepared 
and furnished at convenient locations throughout 
the State by the Department of State Police, or 
by electronic means, if and when made available 
by the Department of State Police; and 
    (2) Submit evidence to the Department of 
State Police that: 
    (i) He or she is 21 years of age or over, or if 
he or she is under 21 years of age that he or she 
has the written consent of his or her parent or le-
gal guardian to possess and acquire firearms 
and firearm ammunition and that he or she has 
never been convicted of a misdemeanor other 
than a traffic offense or adjudged delinquent, 
provided, however, that such parent or legal 
guardian is not an individual prohibited from hav-
ing a Firearm Owner's Identification Card and 
files an affidavit with the Department as pre-
scribed by the Department stating that he or she  
is not an individual prohibited from having a 
Card; 
    (ii) He or she has not been convicted of a 
felony under the laws of this or any other 
jurisdiction; 
    (iii) He or she is not addicted to narcotics; 
    (iv) He or she has not been a patient in a 
mental institution within the past 5 years and he 
or she has not been adjudicated as a mental 
defective ; 
    (v) He or she is not mentally retarded; 

    (vi) He or she is not an alien who is unlawfully 
present in the United States under the laws of 
the United States; 
    (vii) He or she is not subject to an existing 
order of protection prohibiting him or her from 
possessing a firearm; 
    (viii) He or she has not been convicted within 
the past 5 years of battery, assault, aggravated 
assault, violation of an order of protection, or a 
substantially similar offense in another jurisdic-
tion, in which a firearm was used or possessed; 
    (ix) He or she has not been convicted of do-
mestic battery or a substantially similar offense 
in another jurisdiction committed on or after the 
effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997; 
    (x) He or she has not been convicted within 
the past 5 years of domestic battery or a sub-
stantially similar offense in another jurisdiction 
committed before the effective date of this 
amendatory Act of 1997; 
    (xi) He or she is not an alien who has been 
admitted to the United States under a nonimmi-
grant visa (as that term is defined in Section 101 
(a)(26) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 
U.S.C. 1101(a)(26))), or that he or she is an ali-
en who has been lawfully admitted to the United 
States under a non-immigrant visa if that alien 
is: 
    (1) admitted to the United States for lawful 
hunting or sporting purposes; 
    (2) an official representative of a foreign gov-
ernment who is: 
    (A) accredited to the United States Govern-
ment or the Government's mission to an interna-
tional organization having its headquarters in the 
United States; or 
    (B) en route to or from another country to 
which that alien is accredited; 
    (3) an official of a foreign government or dis-
tinguished foreign visitor who has been so des-
ignated by the Department of State; 
    (4) a foreign law enforcement officer of a 
friendly foreign government entering the United 
States on official business; or 
    (5) one who has received a waiver from the  
Attorney General of the United States pursuant 
to 18 U.S.C. 922(y)(3); 
    (xii) He or she is not a minor subject to a peti-
tion filed under Section 5-520 of the Juvenile 
Court Act of 1987 alleging that the minor is a de-
linquent minor for the commission of an offense 
that if committed by an adult would be a felony; 
and 
    (xiii) He or she is not an adult who had been 
adjudicated a delinquent minor under the Juve-
nile Court Act of 1987 for the commission of an 
offense that if committed by an adult would be a 
felony; and 
    (3) Upon request by the Department of State 
Police, sign a release on a form prescribed by 
the Department of State Police waiving any right 
to confidentiality and requesting the disclosure 
to the Department of State Police of limited men-
tal health institution admission information from 
another state, the District of Columbia, any other 
territory of the United States, or a foreign nation 
concerning the applicant for the sole purpose of 
determining whether the applicant is or was a 
patient in a mental health institution and disqual-
ified because of that status from receiving a 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card. No mental 
health care or treatment records may be re-
quested. The information received shall be de-
stroyed within one year of receipt. 
    (a-5) Each applicant for a Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card who is over the age of 18 
shall furnish to the Department of State Police 

either his or her driver's license number or Illi-
nois Identification Card number. 
    (a-10) Each applicant for a Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card, who is employed as an 
armed security officer at a nuclear energy, stor-
age, weapons, or development facility regulated 
by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and who 
is not an Illinois resident, shall furnish to the De-
partment of State Police his or her driver's li-
cense number or state identification card num-
ber from his or her state of residence. The De-
partment of State Police may promulgate rules 
to enforce the provisions of this subsection (a-
10). 
    (b) Each application form shall include the fol-
lowing statement printed in bold type: "Warning: 
Entering false information on an application for a 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card is punish-
able as a Class 2 felony in accordance with 
subsection (d-5) of Section 14 of the Firearm 
Owners Identification Card Act." 
    (c) Upon such written consent, pursuant to 
Section 4, paragraph (a)(2)(i), the parent or legal 
guardian giving the consent shall be liable for 
any damages resulting from the applicant's use 
of firearm or firearm ammunition. 
    65/5. Approval or denial of application; 
fees. The Department of State Police shall eith-
er approve or deny all applications within 30 
days from the date they are received, and every 
applicant found qualified pursuant to Section 8 
of this Act by the Department shall be entitled to 
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card upon the 
payment of a $10 fee. $6 of each fee derived 
from the issuance of Firearm Owner's 
Identification Cards, or renewals thereof, shall 
be deposited in the Wildlife and Fish Fund in the 
State Treasury; $1 of such fee shall be 
deposited in the State Police Services Fund and 
$3 of such fee shall be deposited in the Firearm 
Owner's Notification Fund. Monies in the Fire-
arm Owner's Notification Fund shall be used 
exclusively to pay for the cost of sending notices 
of expiration of Firearm Owner's Identification 
Cards under Section 13.2 of this Act. Excess 
monies in the Firearm Owner's Notification Fund 
shall be used to ensure the prompt and efficient 
processing of applications received under Sec-
tion 4 of this Act. 
    65/6. Contents of Firearm Owner's Iden-
tification Card. 
    (a) A Firearm Owner's Identification Card, is-
sued by the Department of State Police at such 
places as the Director of the Department shall 
specify, shall contain the applicant's name, resi-
dence, date of birth, sex, physical description, 
recent photograph and signature such other per-
sonal identifying information as may be required 
by the Director. Each Firearm Owner's Identifica-
tion Card must have the expiration date boldly 
and conspicuously displayed on the face of the 
card. Each Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
must have printed on it the following: "CAUTION 
- This card does not permit bearer to UNLAW-
FULLY carry or use firearms." Before December 
1, 2002, the Department may use a person's 
digital photograph and signature from his or her 
Illinois driver's license or Illinois Identification 
Card, if available. On and after December 1, 
2002, the Department shall use a person's digi-
tal photograph and signature from his or her Illi-
nois driver's license or Illinois Identification Card, 
if available. The Department shall decline to use 
a person's digital photograph or signature if the 
digital photograph or signature is the result of or 
associated with fraudulent or erroneous data, 
unless otherwise provided by law. 
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    (b) A person applying for a Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card shall consent to the Depart-
ment of State Police using the applicant's digital 
driver's license or Illinois Identification Card pho-
tograph, if available, and signature on the appli-
cant's Firearm Owner's Identification Card. The 
Secretary of State shall allow the Department of 
State Police access to the photograph and sig-
nature for the purpose of identifying the ap-
plicant and issuing to the applicant a Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card. 
    (c) The Secretary of State shall conduct a 
study to determine the cost and feasibility of cre-
ating a method of adding an identifiable code, 
background, or other means on the driver's li-
cense or Illinois Identification Card to show that 
an individual is not disqualified from owning or 
possessing a firearm under State or federal law. 
The Secretary shall report the findings of this 
study 12 months after the effective date of this 
amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly. 
    65/6.1. Altered, forged or counterfeit Fire-
arm Owner's Identification Cards. 
    (a) Any person who forges or materially alters 
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card or who 
counterfeits a Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card commits a Class 2 felony. 
    (b) Any person who knowingly possesses a 
forged or materially altered Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card with the intent to use it com-
mits a Class 2 felony. A person who possesses 
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card with know-
ledge that it is counterfeit commits a Class 2 
felony. 
    65/7. Duration of identification card. Except 
as provided in Section 8 of this Act, a Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card issued under the 
provisions of this Act shall be valid for the per-
son to whom it is issued for a period of 10 years 
from the date of issuance. 
    65/8. Denial of application or revocation or 
seizure of card. The Department of State Police 
has authority to deny an application for or to re-
voke and seize a Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card previously issued under this Act only if the 
Department finds that the applicant or the per-
son to whom such card was issued is or was at 
the time of issuance: 
    (a) A person under 21 years of age who has 
been convicted of a misdemeanor other than a 
traffic offense or adjudged delinquent; 
    (b) A person under 21 years of age who does 
not have the written consent of his parent or 
guardian to acquire and possess firearms and 
firearm ammunition, or whose parent or guardi-
an has revoked such written consent, or where 
such parent or guardian does not qualify to have 
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card; 
    (c) A person convicted of a felony under the 
laws of this or any other jurisdiction; 
    (d) A person addicted to narcotics; 
    (e) A person who has been a patient of a 
mental institution within the past 5 years or has 
been adjudicated as a mental defective ; 
    (f) A person whose mental condition is of 
such a nature that it poses a clear and present 
danger to the applicant, any other person or per-
sons or the community; 
    For the purposes of this Section, "mental con-
dition" means a state of mind manifested by vio-
lent, suicidal, threatening or assaultive behavior. 
    (g) A person who is mentally retarded; 
    (h) A person who intentionally makes a false 
statement in the Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card application; 
    (i) An alien who is unlawfully present in the 
United States under the laws of the United 
States; 

   (i-5) An alien who has been admitted to the 
United States under a non-immigrant visa (as 
that term is defined in Section 101(a)(26) of the 
Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 
1101(a)(26))), except that this subsection (i-5) 
does not apply to any alien who has been 
lawfully admitted to the United States under a 
non-immigrant visa if that alien is: 
   (1) admitted to the United States for lawful 
hunting or sporting purposes; 
   (2) an official representative of a foreign 
government who is: 
  (A) accredited to the United States 
Government or the Government's mission to an 
international organization having its 
headquarters in the United States; or 
  (B) en route to or from another country to 
which that alien is accredited; 
   (3) an official of a foreign government or 
distinguished foreign visitor who has been so 
designated by the Department of State; 
   (4) a foreign law enforcement officer of a 
friendly foreign government entering the United 
States on official business; or 
   (5) one who has received a waiver from the 
Attorney General of the United States pursuant 
to 18 U.S.C. 922(y)(3); 
    (j) A person who is subject to an existing or-
der of protection prohibiting him or her from pos-
sessing a firearm; 
    (k) A person who has been convicted within 
the past 5 years of battery, assault, aggravated 
assault, violation of an order of protection, or a 
substantially similar offense in another jurisdic-
tion, in which a firearm was used or possessed; 
    (l) A person who has been convicted of do-
mestic battery or a substantially similar offense 
in another jurisdiction committed on or after Jan-
uary 1, 1998; 
    (m) A person who has been convicted within 
the past 5 years of domestic battery or a sub-
stantially similar offense in another jurisdiction 
committed before January 1, 1998;  
   (n) A person who is prohibited from acquiring 
or possessing firearms or firearm ammunition by 
any Illinois State statute or by federal law. 
    (o) A minor subject to a petition filed under 
Section 5-520 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 
alleging that the minor is a delinquent minor for 
the commission of an offense that if committed 
by an adult would be a felony; or 
    (p) An adult who had been adjudicated a de-
linquent minor under the Juvenile Court Act of 
1987 for the commission of an offense that if 
committed by an adult would be a felony. 
    65/12. Transfer of firearms upon death of 
owner or incident to legal proceedings. The 
provisions of this Act shall not apply to the 
passing or transfer of any firearm or firearm 
ammunition upon the death of the owner thereof 
to his heir or legatee or to the passing or transfer 
of any firearm or firearm ammunition incident to 
any legal proceeding or action until 60 days after 
such passing or transfer. 
    65/13. Acquisition or possession prohibit-
ed by law. Nothing in this Act shall make lawful 
the acquisition or possession of firearms or fire-
arm ammunition which is otherwise prohibited by 
law. 
    65/13.1. Municipal ordinance imposing 
greater restrictions or limitations. The provi-
sions of any ordinance enacted by any munici-
pality which requires registration or imposes 
greater restrictions or limitations on the acquisi-
tion, possession and transfer of firearms than 
are imposed by this Act, are not invalidated or 
affected by this Act. 

    65/13.2. Firearm owner’s identification car 
- Notice of expiration. The Department of State 
Police shall, 60 days prior to the expiration of a 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card, forward by 
first class mail to each person whose card is to 
expire a notification of the expiration of the card 
and an application which may be used to apply 
for renewal of the card. It is the obligation of the 
holder of a Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
to notify the Department of State Police of any 
address change since the issuance of the Fire-
arm Owner's Identification Card. 
    65/13.3. Municipal ordinance submission. 
Within 6 months after the effective date of this 
amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly, 
every municipality must submit to the Depart-
ment of State Police a copy of every ordinance 
adopted by the municipality that regulates the 
acquisition, possession, sale, or transfer of fire-
arms within the municipality and must submit, 30 
days after adoption, every such ordinance 
adopted after its initial submission of ordinances 
under this Section. The Department of State 
Police shall compile these ordinances and pub-
lish them in a form available to the public free of 
charge and shall periodically update this compil-
ation of ordinances in a manner prescribed by 
the Director of State Police. 
    65/14. Sentence. 
    (a) A violation of paragraph (1) of subsection 
(a) of Section 2, when the person's Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card is expired but the 
person is not otherwise disqualified from renew-
ing the card, is a Class A misdemeanor. 
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (a) with 
respect to an expired card, a violation of para-
graph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 2 is a 
Class A misdemeanor when the person does not 
possess a currently valid Firearm Owner's Iden-
tification Card, but is otherwise eligible under 
this Act. A second or subsequent violation is a 
Class 4 felony. 
    (c) A violation of paragraph (1) of subsection 
(a) of Section 2 is a Class 3 felony when: 
    (1) the person's Firearm Owner's  Identifica-
tion Card is revoked or subject to revocation un-
der Section 8; or 
    (2) the person's Firearm Owner's  Identifica-
tion Card is expired and not otherwise eligible 
for renewal under this Act; or 
    (3) the person does not possess a currently 
valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card, and 
the person is not otherwise eligible under this 
Act. 
    (d) A violation of subsection (a) of Section 3 is 
a Class 4 felony. A third or subsequent convic-
tion is a Class 1 felony. 
    (d-5) Any person who knowingly enters false 
information on an application for a Firearm Own-
er's Identification Card, who knowingly gives a 
false answer to any question on the application, 
or who knowingly submits false evidence in con-
nection with an application is guilty of a Class 2 
felony. 
    (e) Except as provided by Section 6.1 of this 
Act, any other violation of this Act is a Class A 
misdemeanor. 
 

Chapter 720. Criminal Offenses 
 

Act 5. Criminal Code of 1961 
 

Article 16. Theft and Related Offenses 
 
    5/16-16. Possession of a stolen firearm.  
    (a) A person commits possession of a stolen 
firearm when he or she, not being entitled to the 
possession of a firearm, possesses or delivers 
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the firearm, knowing it to have been stolen or 
converted. It may be inferred that a person who 
possesses a firearm with knowledge that its 
serial number has been removed or altered has 
knowledge that the firearm is stolen or con-
verted. 
    (b) Possession of a stolen firearm is a Class 2 
felony. 
    5/16-16.1. Aggravated possession of a sto-
len firearm. 
    (a) A person commits aggravated possession 
of a stolen firearm when he or she: 
    (1) Not being entitled to the possession of not 
less than 2 and not more than 5 firearms, pos-
sesses or delivers those firearms at the same 
time or within a one year period, knowing the 
firearms to have been stolen or converted. 
    (2) Not being entitled to the possession of not 
less than 6 and not more than 10 firearms, 
possesses or delivers those firearms at the 
same time or within a 2 year period, knowing the 
firearms to have been stolen or converted. 
    (3) Not being entitled to the possession of not 
less than 11 and not more than 20 firearms, pos-
sesses or delivers those firearms at the same 
time or within a 3 year period, knowing the fire-
arms to have been stolen or converted. 
    (4) Not being entitled to the possession of not 
less than 21 and not more than 30 firearms, pos-
sesses or delivers those firearms at the same 
time or within a 4 year period, knowing the fire-
arms to have been stolen or converted. 
    (5) Not being entitled to the possession of 
more than 31 firearms, possesses or delivers 
those firearms at the same time or within a 5 
year period, knowing the firearms to have been 
stolen or converted. 
    (b) It may be inferred that a person who pos-
sesses a firearm with knowledge that its serial 
number has been removed or altered has know-
ledge that the firearm is stolen or converted. 
    (c) Sentence. 
    (1) A person who violates paragraph (1) of 
subsection (a) of this Section commits a Class 1 
felony. 
    (2) A person who violates paragraph (2) of 
subsection (a) of this Section commits a Class X 
felony for which he or she shall be sentenced to 
a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years 
and not more than 30 years. 
    (3) A person who violates paragraph (3) of 
subsection (a) of this Section commits a Class X 
felony for which he or she shall be sentenced to 
a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years 
and not more than 40 years. 
    (4) A person who violates paragraph (4) of 
subsection (a) of this Section commits a Class X 
felony for which he or she shall be sentenced to 
a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years 
and not more than 50 years. 
    (5) A person who violates paragraph (5) of 
subsection (a) of this Section commits a Class X 
felony for which he or she shall be sentenced to 
a term of imprisonment of not less than 6 years 
and not more than 60 years. 
 

Article 24. Deadly Weapons 
 
    5/24-1. Unlawful use of weapons. 
   (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
use of weapons when he knowingly: 
   (1) Sells, manufactures, purchases, possesses 
or carries any bludgeon, black-jack, slung-shot, 
sand-club, sand-bag, metal knuckles, throwing 
star, or any knife, commonly referred to as a 
switchblade knife, which has a blade that opens 
automatically by hand pressure applied to a 
button, spring or other device in the handle of 

the knife, or a ballistic knife, which is a device 
that propels a knifelike blade as a projectile by 
means of a coil spring, elastic material or 
compressed gas; or 
   (2) Carries or possesses with intent to use the 
same unlawfully against another, a dagger, dirk, 
billy, dangerous knife, razor, stiletto, broken 
bottle or other piece of glass, stun gun or taser 
or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or 
instrument of like character; or 
  (3) Carries on or about his person or in any 
vehicle, a tear gas gun projector or bomb or any 
object containing noxious liquid gas or 
substance, other than an object containing a 
non-lethal noxious liquid gas or substance 
designed solely for personal defense carried by 
a person 18 years of age or older; or 
   (4) Carries or possesses in any vehicle or 
concealed on or about his person except when 
on his land or in his own abode or fixed place of 
business any pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser 
or other firearm, except that this subsection (a) 
(4) does not apply to or affect transportation of 
weapons that meet one of the following 
conditions: 
   (i) are broken down in a non-functioning state; 
or 
   (ii) are not immediately accessible; or 
   (iii) are unloaded and enclosed in a case, 
firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other 
container by a person who has been issued a 
currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card; or 
   (5) Sets a spring gun; or 
   (6) Possesses any device or attachment of 
any kind designed, used or intended for use in 
silencing the report of any firearm; or 
   (7) Sells, manufactures, purchases, possesses 
or carries: 
   (i) a machine gun, which shall be defined for 
the purposes of this subsection as any weapon, 
which shoots, is designed to shoot, or can be 
readily restored to shoot, automatically more 
than one shot without manually reloading by a 
single function of the trigger, including the frame 
or receiver of any such weapon, or sells, 
manufactures, purchases, possesses, or carries 
any combination of parts designed or intended 
for use in converting any weapon into a machine 
gun, or any combination or parts from which a 
machine gun can be assembled if such parts are 
in the possession or under the control of a 
person; 
   (ii) any rifle having one or more barrels less 
than 16 inches in length or a shotgun having one 
or more barrels less than 18 inches in length or 
any weapon made from a rifle or shotgun, 
whether by alteration, modification, or otherwise, 
if such a weapon as modified has an overall 
length of less than 26 inches; or 
   (iii) any bomb, bomb-shell, grenade, bottle or 
other container containing an explosive 
substance of over one-quarter ounce for like 
purposes, such as, but not limited to, black 
powder bombs and Molotov cocktails or artillery 
projectiles; or 
   (8) Carries or possesses any firearm, stun gun 
or taser or other deadly weapon in any place 
which is licensed to sell intoxicating beverages, 
or at any public gathering held pursuant to a 
license issued by any governmental body or any 
public gathering at which an admission is 
charged, excluding a place where a showing, 
demonstration or lecture involving the exhibition 
of unloaded firearms is conducted. 
   This subsection (a)(8) does not apply to any 
auction or raffle of a firearm held pursuant to a 
license or permit issued by a governmental 

body, nor does it apply to persons engaged in 
firearm safety training courses; or 
   (9) Carries or possesses in a vehicle or on or 
about his person any pistol, revolver, stun gun or 
taser or firearm or ballistic knife, when he is 
hooded, robed or masked in such manner as to 
conceal his identity; or 
   (10) Carries or possesses on or about his 
person, upon any public street, alley, or other 
public lands within the corporate limits of a city, 
village or incorporated town, except when an 
invitee thereon or therein, for the purpose of the 
display of such weapon or the lawful commerce 
in weapons, or except when on his land or in his 
own abode or fixed place of business, any pistol, 
revolver, stun gun or taser or other firearm, 
except that this subsection (a) (10) does not 
apply to or affect transportation of weapons that 
meet one of the following conditions: 
   (i) are broken down in a non-functioning state; 
or 
   (ii) are not immediately accessible; or 
   (iii) are unloaded and enclosed in a case, 
firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other 
container by a person who has been issued a 
currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card. 
   A "stun gun or taser", as used in this 
paragraph (a) means (i) any device which is 
powered by electrical charging units, such as, 
batteries, and which fires one or several barbs 
attached to a length of wire and which, upon 
hitting a human, can send out a current capable 
of disrupting the person's nervous system in 
such a manner as to render him incapable of 
normal functioning or (ii) any device which is 
powered by electrical charging units, such as 
batteries, and which, upon contact with a human 
or clothing worn by a human, can send out 
current capable of disrupting the person's 
nervous system in such a manner as to render 
him incapable of normal functioning; or 
   (11) Sells, manufactures or purchases any 
explosive bullet. For purposes of this paragraph 
(a) "explosive bullet" means the projectile 
portion of an ammunition cartridge which 
contains or carries an explosive charge which 
will explode upon contact with the flesh of a 
human or an animal. "Cartridge" means a 
tubular metal case having a projectile affixed at 
the front thereof and a cap or primer at the rear 
end thereof, with the propellant contained in 
such tube between the projectile and the cap; or 
   (12) (Blank). 
   (b) Sentence. A person convicted of a 
violation of subsection 24-1(a)(1) through (5), 
subsection 24-1(a)(10), or subsection 24-
1(a)(11) commits a Class A misdemeanor. A 
person convicted of a violation of subsection 24-
1(a)(8) or 24-1(a)(9) commits a Class 4 felony; a 
person convicted of a violation of subsection 24-
1(a)(6) or 24-1(a)(7)(ii) or (iii) commits a Class 3 
felony. A person convicted of a violation of 
subsection 24-1(a)(7)(i) commits a Class 2 
felony and shall be sentenced to a term of 
imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not 
more than 7 years, unless the weapon is 
possessed in the passenger compartment of a 
motor vehicle as defined in Section 1-146 of the 
Illinois Vehicle Code, or on the person, while the 
weapon is loaded, in which case it shall be a 
Class X felony. A person convicted of a second 
or subsequent violation of subsection 24-1(a)(4), 
24-1(a)(8), 24-1(a)(9), or 24-1(a)(10) commits a 
Class 3 felony. The possession of each weapon 
in violation of this Section constitutes a single 
and separate violation. 
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   (c) Violations in specific places. 
   (1) A person who violates subsection 24-
1(a)(6) or 24-1(a)(7) in any school, regardless of 
the time of day or the time of year, in residential 
property owned, operated or managed by a 
public housing agency or leased by a public 
housing agency as part of a scattered site or 
mixed-income development, in a public park, in 
a courthouse, on the real property comprising 
any school, regardless of the time of day or the 
time of year, on residential property owned, 
operated or managed by a public housing 
agency or leased by a public housing agency as 
part of a scattered site or mixed-income 
development, on the real property comprising 
any public park, on the real property comprising 
any courthouse, in any conveyance owned, 
leased or contracted by a school to transport 
students to or from school or a school related 
activity, or on any public way within 1,000 feet of 
the real property comprising any school, public 
park, courthouse, or residential property owned, 
operated, or managed by a public housing 
agency or leased by a public housing agency as 
part of a scattered site or mixed-income 
development commits a Class 2 felony and shall 
be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not 
less than 3 years and not more than 7 years. 
   (1.5) A person who violates subsection 24-
1(a)(4), 24-1(a)(9), or 24-1(a)(10) in any school, 
regardless of the time of day or the time of year, 
in residential property owned, operated, or 
managed by a public housing agency or leased 
by a public housing agency as part of a 
scattered site or mixed-income development, in 
a public park, in a courthouse, on the real 
property comprising any school, regardless of 
the time of day or the time of year, on residential 
property owned, operated, or managed by a 
public housing agency or leased by a public 
housing agency as part of a scattered site or 
mixed-income development, on the real property 
comprising any public park, on the real property 
comprising any courthouse, in any conveyance 
owned, leased, or contracted by a school to 
transport students to or from school or a school 
related activity, or on any public way within 
1,000 feet of the real property comprising any 
school, public park, courthouse, or residential 
property owned, operated, or managed by a 
public housing agency or leased by a public 
housing agency as part of a scattered site or 
mixed-income development commits a Class 3 
felony. 
   (2) A person who violates subsection 24-
1(a)(1), 24-1(a)(2), or 24-1(a)(3) in any school, 
regardless of the time of day or the time of year, 
in residential property owned, operated or 
managed by a public housing agency or leased 
by a public housing agency as part of a 
scattered site or mixed-income development, in 
a public park, in a courthouse, on the real 
property comprising any school, regardless of 
the time of day or the time of year, on residential 
property owned, operated or managed by a 
public housing agency or leased by a public 
housing agency as part of a scattered site or 
mixed-income development, on the real property 
comprising any public park, on the real property 
comprising any courthouse, in any conveyance 
owned, leased or contracted by a school to 
transport students to or from school or a school 
related activity, or on any public way within 
1,000 feet of the real property comprising any 
school, public park, courthouse, or residential 
property owned, operated, or managed by a 
public housing agency or leased by a public 
housing agency as part of a scattered site or 

mixed-income development commits a Class 4 
felony. "Courthouse" means any building that is 
used by the Circuit, Appellate, or Supreme Court 
of this State for the conduct of official business. 
   (3) Paragraphs (1), (1.5), and (2) of this 
subsection (c) shall not apply to law 
enforcement officers or security officers of such 
school, college, or university or to students 
carrying or possessing firearms for use in 
training courses, parades, hunting, target 
shooting on school ranges, or otherwise with the 
consent of school authorities and which firearms 
are transported unloaded enclosed in a suitable 
case, box, or transportation package. 
   (4) For the purposes of this subsection (c), 
"school" means any public or private elementary 
or secondary school, community college, 
college, or university. 
   (d) The presence in an automobile other than 
a public omnibus of any weapon, instrument or 
substance referred to in subsection (a)(7) is 
prima facie evidence that it is in the possession 
of, and is being carried by, all persons 
occupying such automobile at the time such 
weapon, instrument or substance is found, 
except under the following circumstances: (i) if 
such weapon, instrument or instrumentality is 
found upon the person of one of the occupants 
therein; or (ii) if such weapon, instrument or 
substance is found in an automobile operated 
for hire by a duly licensed driver in the due, 
lawful and proper pursuit of his trade, then such 
presumption shall not apply to the driver. 
   (e) Exemptions. Crossbows, Common or 
Compound bows and Underwater Spearguns 
are exempted from the definition of ballistic knife 
as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of 
this Section. 
   5/24-1.1. Unlawful use or possession of 
weapons by felons or persons in the custody 
of the Department of Corrections facilities. 
   (a) It is unlawful for a person to knowingly 
possess on or about his person or on his land or 
in his own abode or fixed place of business any 
weapon prohibited under Section 24-1 of this Act 
or any firearm or any firearm ammunition if the 
person has been convicted of a felony under the 
laws of this State or any other jurisdiction. This 
Section shall not apply if the person has been 
granted relief by the Director of the Department 
of State Police under Section 10 of the Firearm 
Owners Identification Card Act. 
   (b) It is unlawful for any person confined in a 
penal institution, which is a facility of the Illinois 
Department of Corrections, to possess any 
weapon prohibited under Section 24-1 of this 
Code or any firearm or firearm ammunition, 
regardless of the intent with which he possesses 
it. 
   (c) It shall be an affirmative defense to a 
violation of subsection (b), that such possession 
was specifically authorized by rule, regulation, or 
directive of the Illinois Department of Corrections 
or order issued pursuant thereto. 
   (d) The defense of necessity is not available to 
a person who is charged with a violation of 
subsection (b) of this Section. 
   (e) Sentence. Violation of this Section by a 
person not confined in a penal institution shall 
be a Class 3 felony for which the person, if 
sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be 
sentenced to no less than 2 years and no more 
than 10 years and any second or subsequent 
violation shall be a Class 2 felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to a term of 
imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not 
more than 14 years. Violation of this Section by 
a person not confined in a penal institution who 

has been convicted of a forcible felony, a felony 
violation of Article 24 of this Code or of the 
Firearm Owners Identification Card Act, stalking 
or aggravated stalking, or a Class 2 or greater 
felony under the Illinois Controlled Substances 
Act, the Cannabis Control Act, or the 
Methamphetamine Control and Community 
Protection Act is a Class 2 felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to not less than 3 
years and not more than 14 years. Violation of 
this Section by a person who is on parole or 
mandatory supervised release is a Class 2 
felony for which the person, if sentenced to a 
term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to not 
less than 3 years and not more than 14 years. 
Violation of this Section by a person not 
confined in a penal institution is a Class X felony 
when the firearm possessed is a machine gun. 
Any person who violates this Section while 
confined in a penal institution, which is a facility 
of the Illinois Department of Corrections, is guilty 
of a Class 1 felony, if he possesses any weapon 
prohibited under Section 24-1 of this Code 
regardless of the intent with which he possesses 
it, a Class X felony if he possesses any firearm, 
firearm ammunition or explosive, and a Class X 
felony for which the offender shall be sentenced 
to not less than 12 years and not more than 50 
years when the firearm possessed is a machine 
gun. A violation of this Section while wearing or 
in possession of body armor as defined in 
Section 33F-1 is a Class X felony punishable by 
a term of imprisonment of not less than 10 years 
and not more than 40 years. The possession of 
each firearm or firearm ammunition in violation 
of this Section constitutes a single and separate 
violation.  
    5/24-1.6. Aggravated unlawful use of a 
weapon. 
   (a) A person commits the offense of 
aggravated unlawful use of a weapon when he 
or she knowingly: 
   (1) Carries on or about his or her person or in 
any vehicle or concealed on or about his or her 
person except when on his or her land or in his 
or her abode or fixed place of business any 
pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser or other 
firearm; or 
   (2) Carries or possesses on or about his or her 
person, upon any public street, alley, or other 
public lands within the corporate limits of a city, 
village or incorporated town, except when an 
invitee thereon or therein, for the purpose of the 
display of such weapon or the lawful commerce 
in weapons, or except when on his or her own 
land or in his or her own abode or fixed place of 
business, any pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser 
or other firearm; and 
   (3) One of the following factors is present: 
   (A) the firearm possessed was uncased, 
loaded and immediately accessible at the time of 
the offense; or 
   (B) the firearm possessed was uncased, 
unloaded and the ammunition for the weapon 
was immediately accessible at the time of the 
offense; or 
   (C) the person possessing the firearm has not 
been issued a currently valid Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card; or 
   (D) the person possessing the weapon was 
previously adjudicated a delinquent minor under 
the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 for an act that if 
committed by an adult would be a felony; or 
   (E) the person possessing the weapon was 
engaged in a misdemeanor violation of the 
Cannabis Control Act, in a misdemeanor 
violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances 
Act, or in a misdemeanor violation of the 



 

Page 159 

Methamphetamine Control and Community 
Protection Act; or 
   (F) the person possessing the weapon is a 
member of a street gang or is engaged in street 
gang related activity, as defined in Section 10 of 
the Illinois Streetgang Terrorism Omnibus 
Prevention Act; or 
   (G) the person possessing the weapon had a 
order of protection issued against him or her 
within the previous 2 years; or 
   (H) the person possessing the weapon was 
engaged in the commission or attempted 
commission of a misdemeanor involving the use 
or threat of violence against the person or 
property of another; or 
   (I) the person possessing the weapon was 
under 21 years of age and in possession of a 
handgun as defined in Section 24-3, unless the 
person under 21 is engaged in lawful activities 
under the Wildlife Code or described in 
subsection 24-2(b)(1), (b)(3), or 24-2(f). 
   (b) "Stun gun or taser" as used in this Section 
has the same definition given to it in Section 24-
1 of this Code. 
   (c) This Section does not apply to or affect the 
transportation or possession of weapons that: 
   (i) are broken down in a non-functioning state; 
or 
   (ii) are not immediately accessible; or 
   (iii) are unloaded and enclosed in a case, 
firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other 
container by a person who has been issued a 
currently valid Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card. 
   (d) Sentence. Aggravated unlawful use of a 
weapon is a Class 4 felony; a second or 
subsequent offense is a Class 2 felony for which 
the person shall be sentenced to a term of 
imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not 
more than 7 years. Aggravated unlawful use of a 
weapon by a person who has been previously 
convicted of a felony in this State or another 
jurisdiction is a Class 2 felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to a term of 
imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not 
more than 7 years. Aggravated unlawful use of a 
weapon while wearing or in possession of body 
armor as defined in Section 33F-1 by a person 
who has not been issued a valid Firearms 
Owner's Identification Card in accordance with 
Section 5 of the Firearm Owners Identification 
Card Act is a Class X felony. The possession of 
each firearm in violation of this Section 
constitutes a single and separate violation. 
5/24-2. Exemptions. 
   (a) Subsections 24-1(a)(3), 24-1(a)(4) and 24-
1(a)(10) and Section 24-1.6 do not apply to or 
affect any of the following: 
   (1) Peace officers, and any person summoned 
by a peace officer to assist in making arrests or 
preserving the peace, while actually engaged in 
assisting such officer. 
   (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or 
convicted of an offense, while in the 
performance of their official duty, or while 
commuting between their homes and places of 
employment. 
   (3) Members of the Armed Services or 
Reserve Forces of the United States or the 
Illinois National Guard or the Reserve Officers 
Training Corps, while in the performance of their 
official duty. 
   (4) Special agents employed by a railroad or a 
public utility to perform police functions, and 
guards of armored car companies, while actually 
engaged in the performance of the duties of their 

employment or commuting between their homes 
and places of employment; and watchmen while 
actually engaged in the performance of the 
duties of their employment. 
   (5) Persons licensed as private security 
contractors, private detectives, or private alarm 
contractors, or employed by an agency certified 
by the Department of Professional Regulation, if 
their duties include the carrying of a weapon 
under the provisions of the Private Detective, 
Private Alarm, Private Security, and Locksmith 
Act of 2004, while actually engaged in the 
performance of the duties of their employment or 
commuting between their homes and places of 
employment, provided that such commuting is 
accomplished within one hour from departure 
from home or place of employment, as the case 
may be. Persons exempted under this 
subdivision (a)(5) shall be required to have 
completed a course of study in firearms handling 
and training approved and supervised by the 
Department of Professional Regulation as 
prescribed by Section 28 of the Private 
Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, and 
Locksmith Act of 2004, prior to becoming eligible 
for this exemption. The Department of 
Professional Regulation shall provide suitable 
documentation demonstrating the successful 
completion of the prescribed firearms training. 
Such documentation shall be carried at all times 
when such persons are in possession of a 
concealable weapon. 
   (6) Any person regularly employed in a 
commercial or industrial operation as a security 
guard for the protection of persons employed 
and private property related to such commercial 
or industrial operation, while actually engaged in 
the performance of his or her duty or traveling 
between sites or properties belonging to the 
employer, and who, as a security guard, is a 
member of a security force of at least 5 persons 
registered with the Department of Professional 
Regulation; provided that such security guard 
has successfully completed a course of study, 
approved by and supervised by the Department 
of Professional Regulation, consisting of not less 
than 40 hours of training that includes the theory 
of law enforcement, liability for acts, and the 
handling of weapons. A person shall be 
considered eligible for this exemption if he or 
she has completed the required 20 hours of 
training for a security officer and 20 hours of 
required firearm training, and has been issued a 
firearm authorization card by the Department of 
Professional Regulation. Conditions for the 
renewal of firearm authorization cards issued 
under the provisions of this Section shall be the 
same as for those cards issued under the 
provisions of the Private Detective, Private 
Alarm, Private Security, and Locksmith Act of 
2004. Such firearm authorization card shall be 
carried by the security guard at all times when 
he or she is in possession of a concealable 
weapon. 
   (7) Agents and investigators of the Illinois 
Legislative Investigating Commission authorized 
by the Commission to carry the weapons 
specified in subsections 24-1(a)(3) and 24-
1(a)(4), while on duty in the course of any 
investigation for the Commission. 
   (8) Persons employed by a financial institution 
for the protection of other employees and 
property related to such financial institution, 
while actually engaged in the performance of 
their duties, commuting between their homes 
and places of employment, or traveling between 
sites or properties owned or operated by such 
financial institution, provided that any person so 

employed has successfully completed a course 
of study, approved by and supervised by the 
Department of Professional Regulation, 
consisting of not less than 40 hours of training 
which includes theory of law enforcement, 
liability for acts, and the handling of weapons. A 
person shall be considered to be eligible for this 
exemption if he or she has completed the 
required 20 hours of training for a security officer 
and 20 hours of required firearm training, and 
has been issued a firearm authorization card by 
the Department of Professional Regulation. 
Conditions for renewal of firearm authorization 
cards issued under the provisions of this Section 
shall be the same as for those issued under the 
provisions of the Private Detective, Private 
Alarm, Private Security, and Locksmith Act of 
2004. Such firearm authorization card shall be 
carried by the person so trained at all times 
when such person is in possession of a 
concealable weapon. For purposes of this 
subsection, "financial institution" means a bank, 
savings and loan association, credit union or 
company providing armored car services. 
   (9) Any person employed by an armored car 
company to drive an armored car, while actually 
engaged in the performance of his duties. 
   (10) Persons who have been classified as 
peace officers pursuant to the Peace Officer Fire 
Investigation Act. 
   (11) Investigators of the Office of the State's 
Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor authorized by 
the board of governors of the Office of the 
State's Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor to carry 
weapons pursuant to Section 7.06 of the State's 
Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor's Act. 
   (12) Special investigators appointed by a 
State's Attorney under Section 3-9005 of the 
Counties Code. 
   (12.5) Probation officers while in the 
performance of their duties, or while commuting 
between their homes, places of employment or 
specific locations that are part of their assigned 
duties, with the consent of the chief judge of the 
circuit for which they are employed. 
   (13) Court Security Officers while in the 
performance of their official duties, or while 
commuting between their homes and places of 
employment, with the consent of the Sheriff. 
   (13.5) A person employed as an armed 
security guard at a nuclear energy, storage, 
weapons or development site or facility 
regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission who has completed the background 
screening and training mandated by the rules 
and regulations of the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission. 
   (14) Manufacture, transportation, or sale of 
weapons to persons authorized under 
subdivisions (1) through (13.5) of this subsection 
to possess those weapons. 
   (b) Subsections 24-1(a)(4) and 24-1(a)(10) 
and Section 24-1.6 do not apply to or affect any 
of the following: 
   (1) Members of any club or organization 
organized for the purpose of practicing shooting 
at targets upon established target ranges, 
whether public or private, and patrons of such 
ranges, while such members or patrons are 
using their firearms on those target ranges. 
   (2) Duly authorized military or civil 
organizations while parading, with the special 
permission of the Governor. 
   (3) Hunters, trappers or fishermen with a 
license or permit while engaged in hunting, 
trapping or fishing. 
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   (4) Transportation of weapons that are broken 
down in a non-functioning state or are not 
immediately accessible. 
   (c) Subsection 24-1(a)(7) does not apply to or 
affect any of the following: 
   (1) Peace officers while in performance of their 
official duties. 
   (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or 
convicted of an offense. 
   (3) Members of the Armed Services or 
Reserve Forces of the United States or the 
Illinois National Guard, while in the performance 
of their official duty. 
   (4) Manufacture, transportation, or sale of 
machine guns to persons authorized under 
subdivisions (1) through (3) of this subsection to 
possess machine guns, if the machine guns are 
broken down in a non-functioning state or are 
not immediately accessible. 
   (5) Persons licensed under federal law to 
manufacture any weapon from which 8 or more 
shots or bullets can be discharged by a single 
function of the firing device, or ammunition for 
such weapons, and actually engaged in the 
business of manufacturing such weapons or 
ammunition, but only with respect to activities 
which are within the lawful scope of such 
business, such as the manufacture, 
transportation, or testing of such weapons or 
ammunition. This exemption does not authorize 
the general private possession of any weapon 
from which 8 or more shots or bullets can be 
discharged by a single function of the firing 
device, but only such possession and activities 
as are within the lawful scope of a licensed 
manufacturing business described in this 
paragraph. 
   During transportation, such weapons shall be 
broken down in a non-functioning state or not 
immediately accessible. 
   (6) The manufacture, transport, testing, 
delivery, transfer or sale, and all lawful 
commercial or experimental activities necessary 
thereto, of rifles, shotguns, and weapons made 
from rifles or shotguns, or ammunition for such 
rifles, shotguns or weapons, where engaged in 
by a person operating as a contractor or 
subcontractor pursuant to a contract or 
subcontract for the development and supply of 
such rifles, shotguns, weapons or ammunition to 
the United States government or any branch of 
the Armed Forces of the United States, when 
such activities are necessary and incident to 
fulfilling the terms of such contract. 
   The exemption granted under this subdivision 
(c)(6) shall also apply to any authorized agent of 
any such contractor or subcontractor who is 
operating within the scope of his employment, 
where such activities involving such weapon, 
weapons or ammunition are necessary and 
incident to fulfilling the terms of such contract. 
   During transportation, any such weapon shall 
be broken down in a non-functioning state, or 
not immediately accessible. 
   (d) Subsection 24-1(a)(1) does not apply to 
the purchase, possession or carrying of a black-
jack or slung-shot by a peace officer. 
   (e) Subsection 24-1(a)(8) does not apply to 
any owner, manager or authorized employee of 
any place specified in that subsection nor to any 
law enforcement officer. 
   (f) Subsection 24-1(a)(4) and subsection 24-
1(a)(10) and Section 24-1.6 do not apply to 
members of any club or organization organized 
for the purpose of practicing shooting at targets 
upon established target ranges, whether public 

or private, while using their firearms on those 
target ranges. 
   (g) Subsections 24-1(a)(11) and 24-3.1(a)(6) 
do not apply to: 
   (1) Members of the Armed Services or 
Reserve Forces of the United States or the 
Illinois National Guard, while in the performance 
of their official duty. 
   (2) Bona fide collectors of antique or surplus 
military ordinance. 
   (3) Laboratories having a department of 
forensic ballistics, or specializing in the 
development of ammunition or explosive 
ordinance. 
   (4) Commerce, preparation, assembly or 
possession of explosive bullets by 
manufacturers of ammunition licensed by the 
federal government, in connection with the 
supply of those organizations and persons 
exempted by subdivision (g)(1) of this Section, 
or like organizations and persons outside this 
State, or the transportation of explosive bullets 
to any organization or person exempted in this 
Section by a common carrier or by a vehicle 
owned or leased by an exempted manufacturer. 
(g-5) Subsection 24-1(a)(6) does not apply to or 
affect persons licensed under federal law to 
manufacture any device or attachment of any 
kind designed, used, or intended for use in 
silencing the report of any firearm, firearms, or 
ammunition for those firearms equipped with 
those devices, and actually engaged in the 
business of manufacturing those devices, 
firearms, or ammunition, but only with respect to 
activities that are within the lawful scope of that 
business, such as the manufacture, 
transportation, or testing of those devices, 
firearms, or ammunition. This exemption does 
not authorize the general private possession of 
any device or attachment of any kind designed, 
used, or intended for use in silencing the report 
of any firearm, but only such possession and 
activities as are within the lawful scope of a 
licensed manufacturing business described in 
this subsection (g-5). During transportation, 
those devices shall be detached from any 
weapon or not immediately accessible. 
   (h) An information or indictment based upon a 
violation of any subsection of this Article need 
not negative any exemptions contained in this 
Article. The defendant shall have the burden of 
proving such an exemption. 
   (i) Nothing in this Article shall prohibit, apply 
to, or affect the transportation, carrying, or 
possession, of any pistol or revolver, stun gun, 
taser, or other firearm consigned to a common 
carrier operating under license of the State of 
Illinois or the federal government, where such 
transportation, carrying, or possession is 
incident to the lawful transportation in which 
such common carrier is engaged; and nothing in 
this Article shall prohibit, apply to, or affect the 
transportation, carrying, or possession of any 
pistol, revolver, stun gun, taser, or other firearm, 
not the subject of and regulated by subsection 
24-1(a)(7) or subsection 24-2(c) of this Article, 
which is unloaded and enclosed in a case, 
firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other 
container, by the possessor of a valid Firearm 
Owners Identification Card. 
    5/24-2.1. Unlawful use of firearm projec-
tiles. 
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
use of firearm projectiles when he or she know-
ingly manufactures, sells, purchases, pos-
sesses, or carries any armor piercing bullet, dra-
gon's breath shotgun shell, bolo shell, or fle-
chette shell. 

    For the purposes of this Section: 
    "Armor piercing bullet" means any handgun 
bullet or handgun ammunition with projectiles or 
projectile cores constructed entirely (excluding 
the presence of traces of other substances) from 
tungsten alloys, steel, iron, brass, bronze, beryl-
lium copper or depleted uranium, or fully jack-
eted bullets larger than 22 caliber designed and 
intended for use in a handgun and whose jacket 
has a weight of more than 25% of the total 
weight of the projectile, and excluding those 
handgun projectiles whose cores are composed 
of soft materials such as lead or lead alloys, zinc 
or zinc alloys, frangible projectiles designed pri-
marily for sporting purposes, and any other pro-
jectiles or projectile cores that the U.S. Secre-
tary of the Treasury finds to be primarily in-
tended to be used for sporting purposes or in-
dustrial purposes or that otherwise does not 
constitute "armor piercing ammunition" as that 
term is defined by federal law. 
    The definition contained herein shall not be 
construed to include shotgun shells. 
    "Dragon's breath shotgun shell" means 
any shotgun shell that contains exothermic pyro-
phoric mesh metal as the projectile and is de-
signed for the purpose of throwing or spewing a 
flame or fireball to simulate a flame-thrower. 
    "Bolo shell" means any shell that can be 
fired in a firearm and expels as projectiles 2 or 
more metal balls connected by solid metal wire. 
    "Flechette shell" means any shell that can 
be fired in a firearm and expels 2 or more pieces 
of fin-stabilized solid metal wire or 2 or more 
solid dart-type projectiles. 
    (b) Exemptions. This Section does not apply 
to or affect any of the following: 
    (1) Peace officers. 
    (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or con-
victed of an offense. 
    (3) Members of the Armed Services or Re-
serve Forces of the United States or the Illinois 
National Guard while in the performance of their 
official duties. 
    (4) Federal officials required to carry firearms, 
while engaged in the performance of their official 
duties. 
    (5) United States Marshals, while engaged in 
the performance of their official duties. 
    (6) Persons licensed under federal law to 
manufacture, import, or sell firearms and firearm 
ammunition, and actually engaged in any such 
business, but only with respect to activities 
which are within the lawful scope of such busi-
ness, such as the manufacture, transportation, 
or testing of such bullets or ammunition. 
    This exemption does not authorize the gener-
al private possession of any armor piercing bul-
let, dragon's breath shotgun shell, bolo shell, or 
flechette shell, but only such possession and 
activities which are within the lawful scope of a 
licensed business described in this paragraph. 
    (7) Laboratories having a department of foren-
sic ballistics or specializing in the development 
of ammunition or explosive ordnance. 
    (8) Manufacture, transportation or sale of arm-
or piercing bullets, dragon's breath shotgun 
shells, bolo shells, or flechette shells to persons 
specifically authorized under paragraphs (1) 
through (7) of this subsection to possess such 
bullets or shells. 
    (c) An information or indictment based upon a 
violation of this Section need not negate any ex-
emption herein contained. The defendant shall 
have the burden of proving such an exemption. 



 

Page 161 

    (d) Sentence. A person convicted of unlawful 
use of armor piercing bullets shall be guilty of a 
Class 3 felony. 
    5/24-2.2. Manufacture, sale or transfer of 
bullets or shells represented to be armor 
piercing bullets, dragon's breath shotgun 
shells, bolo shells, or flechette shells. 
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of 
this Section, it is unlawful for any person to 
knowingly manufacture, sell, offer to sell, or 
transfer any bullet or shell which is represented 
to be an armor piercing bullet, a dragon's breath 
shotgun shell, a bolo shell, or a flechette shell as 
defined in Section 24-2.1 of this Code. 
    (b) Exemptions. This Section does not apply 
to or affect any person authorized under Section 
24-2.1 to manufacture, sell, purchase, possess, 
or carry any armor piercing bullet or any dra-
gon's breath shotgun shell, bolo shell, or fle-
chette shell with respect to activities which are 
within the lawful scope of the exemption therein 
granted. 
    (c) An information or indictment based upon a 
violation of this Section need not negate any ex-
emption herein contained. The defendant shall 
have the burden of proving such an exemption 
and that the activities forming the basis of any 
criminal charge brought pursuant to this Section 
were within the lawful scope of such exemption. 
    (d) Sentence. A violation of this Section is a 
Class 4 felony. 
5/24-3. Unlawful sale of firearms. 
   (A) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
sale of firearms when he or she knowingly does 
any of the following: 
   (a) Sells or gives any firearm of a size which 
may be concealed upon the person to any 
person under 18 years of age. 
   (b) Sells or gives any firearm to a person 
under 21 years of age who has been convicted 
of a misdemeanor other than a traffic offense or 
adjudged delinquent. 
   (c) Sells or gives any firearm to any narcotic 
addict. 
   (d) Sells or gives any firearm to any person 
who has been convicted of a felony under the 
laws of this or any other jurisdiction. 
   (e) Sells or gives any firearm to any person 
who has been a patient in a mental hospital 
within the past 5 years. 
   (f) Sells or gives any firearms to any person 
who is mentally retarded. 
   (g) Delivers any firearm of a size which may 
be concealed upon the person, incidental to a 
sale, without withholding delivery of such firearm 
for at least 72 hours after application for its 
purchase has been made, or delivers any rifle, 
shotgun or other long gun, or a stun gun or 
taser, incidental to a sale, without withholding 
delivery of such rifle, shotgun or other long gun, 
or a stun gun or taser for at least 24 hours after 
application for its purchase has been made. 
However, this paragraph (g) does not apply to:    
(1) the sale of a firearm to a law enforcement 
officer if the seller of the firearm knows that the 
person to whom he or she is selling the firearm 
is a law enforcement officer or the sale of a 
firearm to a person who desires to purchase a 
firearm for use in promoting the public interest 
incident to his or her employment as a bank 
guard, armed truck guard, or other similar 
employment; (2) a mail order sale of a firearm to 
a nonresident of Illinois under which the firearm 
is mailed to a point outside the boundaries of 
Illinois; (3) the sale of a firearm to a nonresident 
of Illinois while at a firearm showing or display 
recognized by the Illinois Department of State 
Police; or (4) the sale of a firearm to a dealer 

licensed as a federal firearms dealer under 
Section 923 of the federal Gun Control Act of 
1968 (18 U.S.C. 923). For purposes of this 
paragraph (g), "application" means when the 
buyer and seller reach an agreement to 
purchase a firearm. 
   (h) While holding any license as a dealer, 
importer, manufacturer or pawnbroker under the 
federal Gun Control Act of 1968, manufactures, 
sells or delivers to any unlicensed person a 
handgun having a barrel, slide, frame or receiver 
which is a die casting of zinc alloy or any other 
nonhomogeneous metal which will melt or 
deform at a temperature of less than 800 
degrees Fahrenheit. For purposes of this 
paragraph, (1) "firearm" is defined as in the 
Firearm Owners Identification Card Act; and (2) 
"handgun" is defined as a firearm designed to be 
held and fired by the use of a single hand, and 
includes a combination of parts from which such 
a firearm can be assembled. 
   (i) Sells or gives a firearm of any size to any 
person under 18 years of age who does not 
possess a valid Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card. 
   (j) Sells or gives a firearm while engaged in 
the business of selling firearms at wholesale or 
retail without being licensed as a federal 
firearms dealer under Section 923 of the federal 
Gun Control Act of 1968 (18 U.S.C. 923). In this 
paragraph (j): 
   A person "engaged in the business" means a 
person who devotes time, attention, and labor to 
engaging in the activity as a regular course of 
trade or business with the principal objective of 
livelihood and profit, but does not include a 
person who makes occasional repairs of 
firearms or who occasionally fits special barrels, 
stocks, or trigger mechanisms to firearms. 
   "With the principal objective of livelihood and 
profit" means that the intent underlying the sale 
or disposition of firearms is predominantly one of 
obtaining livelihood and pecuniary gain, as 
opposed to other intents, such as improving or 
liquidating a personal firearms collection; 
however, proof of profit shall not be required as 
to a person who engages in the regular and 
repetitive purchase and disposition of firearms 
for criminal purposes or terrorism. 
   (k) Sells or transfers ownership of a firearm to 
a person who does not display to the seller or 
transferor of the firearm a currently valid Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card that has previously 
been issued in the transferee's name by the 
Department of State Police under the provisions 
of the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. 
This paragraph (k) does not apply to the transfer 
of a firearm to a person who is exempt from the 
requirement of possessing a Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card under Section 2 of the 
Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. For the 
purposes of this Section, a currently valid 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card means (i) a 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card that has not 
expired or (ii) if the transferor is licensed as a 
federal firearms dealer under Section 923 of the 
federal Gun Control Act of 1968 (18 U.S.C. 923), 
an approval number issued in accordance with 
Section 3.1 of the Firearm Owners Identification 
Card Act shall be proof that the Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card was valid. 
   (B) Paragraph (h) of subsection (A) does not 
include firearms sold within 6 months after 
enactment of Public Act 78-355 (approved 
August 21, 1973, effective October 1, 1973), nor 
is any firearm legally owned or possessed by 
any citizen or purchased by any citizen within 6 
months after the enactment of Public Act 78-355 

subject to confiscation or seizure under the 
provisions of that Public Act. Nothing in Public 
Act 78-355 shall be construed to prohibit the gift 
or trade of any firearm if that firearm was legally 
held or acquired within 6 months after the 
enactment of that Public Act. 
   (C) Sentence. 
   (1) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of any of paragraphs (c) 
through (h) of subsection (A) commits a Class 4 
felony. 
   (2) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (b) or (i) of 
subsection (A) commits a Class 3 felony. 
   (3) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (a) of 
subsection (A) commits a Class 2 felony. 
   (4) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (a), (b), or (i) of 
subsection (A) in any school, on the real 
property comprising a school, within 1,000 feet 
of the real property comprising a school, at a 
school related activity, or on or within 1,000 feet 
of any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted 
by a school or school district to transport 
students to or from school or a school related 
activity, regardless of the time of day or time of 
year at which the offense was committed, 
commits a Class 1 felony. Any person convicted 
of a second or subsequent violation of unlawful 
sale of firearms in violation of paragraph (a), (b), 
or (i) of subsection (A) in any school, on the real 
property comprising a school, within 1,000 feet 
of the real property comprising a school, at a 
school related activity, or on or within 1,000 feet 
of any conveyance owned, leased, or contracted 
by a school or school district to transport 
students to or from school or a school related 
activity, regardless of the time of day or time of 
year at which the offense was committed, 
commits a Class 1 felony for which the sentence 
shall be a term of imprisonment of no less than 5 
years and no more than 15 years. 
   (5) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (a) or (i) of 
subsection (A) in residential property owned, 
operated, or managed by a public housing 
agency or leased by a public housing agency as 
part of a scattered site or mixed-income 
development, in a public park, in a courthouse, 
on residential property owned, operated, or 
managed by a public housing agency or leased 
by a public housing agency as part of a 
scattered site or mixed-income development, on 
the real property comprising any public park, on 
the real property comprising any courthouse, or 
on any public way within 1,000 feet of the real 
property comprising any public park, courthouse, 
or residential property owned, operated, or 
managed by a public housing agency or leased 
by a public housing agency as part of a 
scattered site or mixed-income development 
commits a Class 2 felony. 
   (6) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (j) of 
subsection (A) commits a Class A misdemeanor. 
A second or subsequent violation is a Class 4 
felony. 
   (7) Any person convicted of unlawful sale of 
firearms in violation of paragraph (k) of 
subsection (A) commits a Class 4 felony. A third 
or subsequent conviction for a violation of 
paragraph (k) of subsection (A) is a Class 1 
felony. 
   (D) For purposes of this Section: 
   "School" means a public or private elementary 
or secondary school, community college, 
college, or university. 
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   "School related activity" means any sporting, 
social, academic, or other activity for which 
students' attendance or participation is 
sponsored, organized, or funded in whole or in 
part by a school or school district. 
   (E) A prosecution for a violation of paragraph 
(k) of subsection (A) of this Section may be 
commenced within 6 years after the commission 
of the offense. A prosecution for a violation of 
this Section other than paragraph (g) of 
subsection (A) of this Section may be 
commenced within 5 years after the commission 
of the offense defined in the particular 
paragraph. 
    5/24-3A. Gunrunning. 
    (a) A person commits gunrunning when he or 
she transfers 3 or more firearms in violation of 
any of the paragraphs of Section 24-3 of this 
Code. 
    (b) Sentence. A person who commits gunrun-
ning: 
    (1) is guilty of a Class 1 felony; 
    (2) is guilty of a Class X felony for which the 
sentence shall be a term of imprisonment of not 
less than 8 years and not more than 40 years if 
the transfer is of not less than 11 firearms and 
not more than 20 firearms; 
    (3) is guilty of a Class X felony for which the 
sentence shall be a term of imprisonment of not 
less than 10 years and not more than 50 years if 
the transfer is of more than 20 firearms. 
    A person who commits gunrunning by trans-
ferring firearms to a person who, at the time of 
the commission of the offense, is under 18 years 
of age is guilty of a Class X felony. 
    5/24-3.1. Unlawful possession of firearms 
and firearm ammunition. 
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
possession of firearms or firearm ammunition 
when: 
    (1) He is under 18 years of age and has in his 
possession any firearm of a size which may be 
concealed upon the person; or 
    (2) He is under 21 years of age, has been 
convicted of a misdemeanor other than a traffic 
offense or adjudged delinquent and has any fire-
arms or firearm ammunition in his possession; or 
    (3) He is a narcotic addict and has any fire-
arms or firearm ammunition in his possession; or 
    (4) He has been a patient in a mental hospital 
within the past 5 years and has any firearms or 
firearm ammunition in his possession; or 
    (5) He is mentally retarded and has any fire-
arms or firearm ammunition in his possession; or 
    (6) He has in his possession any explosive 
bullet. 
    For purposes of this paragraph "explosive bul-
let" means the projectile portion of an ammuni-
tion cartridge which contains or carries an ex-
plosive charge which will explode upon contact 
with the flesh of a human or an animal. "Cart-
ridge" means a tubular metal case having a pro-
jectile affixed at the front thereof and a cap or 
primer at the rear end thereof, with the propel-
lant contained in such tube between the projec-
tile and the cap. 
    (b) Sentence. Unlawful possession of fire-
arms, other than handguns, and firearm ammu-
nition is a Class A misdemeanor. Unlawful pos-
session of handguns is a Class 4 felony. The 
possession of each firearm or firearm 
ammunition in violation of this Section 
constitutes a single and separate violation. 
    (c) Nothing in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) 
of this Section prohibits a person under 18 years 
of age from participating in any lawful recreation-
al activity with a firearm such as, but not limited 
to, practice shooting at targets upon established 

public or private target ranges or hunting, trap-
ping, or fishing in accordance with the Wildlife 
Code or the Fish and Aquatic Life Code. 
    5/24-3.3. Unlawful sale or delivery of fire-
arms on the premises of any school. Unlawful 
sale or delivery of firearms on the premises of 
any school, regardless of the time of day or the 
time of year, or any conveyance owned, leased 
or contracted by a school to transport students 
to or from school or a school related activity, or 
residential property owned, operated or manag-
ed by a public housing agency. Any person 18 
years of age or older who sells, gives or delivers 
any firearm to any person under 18 years of age 
in any school, regardless of the time of day or 
the time of year or residential property owned, 
operated or managed by a public housing 
agency or leased by a public housing agency as 
part of a scattered site or mixed-income devel-
opment, on the real property comprising any 
school, regardless of the time of day or the time 
of year or residential property owned, operated 
and managed by a public housing agency or 
leased by a public housing agency as part of a 
scattered site or mixed-income development 
commits a Class 3 felony. School is defined, for 
the purposes of this Section, as any public or 
private elementary or secondary school, com-
munity college, college or university. This does 
not apply to peace officers or to students carry-
ing or possessing firearms for use in school 
training courses, parades, target shooting on 
school ranges, or otherwise with the consent of 
school authorities and which firearms are trans-
ported unloaded and enclosed in a suitable 
case, box or transportation package. 
    5/24-3.4. Unlawful sale of firearms by 
liquor licensee. 
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person who 
holds a license to sell at retail any alcoholic liq-
uor issued by the Illinois Liquor Control Commis-
sion or local liquor control commissioner under 
the Liquor Control Act of 1934 [235 ILCS 5/1-1 
et seq.] or an agent or employee of the licensee 
to sell or deliver to any other person a firearm in 
or on the real property of the establishment 
where the licensee is licensed to sell alcoholic 
liquors unless the sale or delivery of the firearm 
is otherwise lawful under this Article and under 
the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. 
    (b) Sentence. A violation of subsection (a) of 
this Section is a Class 4 felony. 
    5/24-3.5. Unlawful purchase of a firearm. 
    (a) For purposes of this Section, "firearms 
transaction record form" means a form: 
    (1) executed by a transferee of a firearm stat-
ing: (i) the transferee's name and address (in-
cluding county or similar political subdivision); (ii) 
whether the transferee is a citizen of the United 
States; (iii) the transferee's State of residence; 
and (iv) the date and place of birth, height, 
weight, and race of the transferee; and 
    (2) on which the transferee certifies that he or 
she is not prohibited by federal law from trans-
porting or shipping a firearm in interstate or for-
eign commerce or receiving a firearm that has 
been shipped or transported in interstate or for-
eign commerce or possessing a firearm in or af-
fecting commerce. 
    (b) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
purchase of a firearm who knowingly purchases 
or attempts to purchase a firearm with the intent 
to deliver that firearm to another person who is 
prohibited by federal or State law from posses-
sing a firearm. 
    (c) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
purchase of a firearm when he or she, in pur-
chasing or attempting to purchase a firearm, in-

tentionally provides false or misleading informa-
tion on a United States Department of the Treas-
ury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms 
firearms transaction record form. 
    (d) Exemption. It is not a violation of subsec-
tion (b) of this Section for a person to make a gift 
or loan of a firearm to a person who is not pro-
hibited by federal or State law from possessing a 
firearm if the transfer of the firearm is made in 
accordance with Section 3 of the Firearm Own-
ers Identification Card Act. 
    (e) Sentence. 
    (1) A person who commits the offense of un-
lawful purchase of a firearm: 
    (A) is guilty of a Class 4 felony for purchasing 
or attempting to purchase one firearm; 
    (B) is guilty of a Class 3 felony for purchasing 
or attempting to purchase not less than 2 fire-
arms and not more than 5 firearms at the same 
time or within a one year period; 
    (C) is guilty of a Class 2 felony for purchasing 
or attempting to purchase not less than 6 fire-
arms and not more than 10 firearms at the same 
time or within a 2 year period; 
    (D) is guilty of a Class 1 felony for purchasing 
or attempting to purchase not less than 11 fire-
arms and not more than 20 firearms at the same 
time or within a 3 year period; 
    (E) is guilty of a Class X felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to a term of imprison-
ment of not less than 6 years and not more than 
30 years for purchasing or attempting to pur-
chase not less than 21 firearms and not more 
than 30 firearms at the same time or within a 4 
year period; 
    (F) is guilty of a Class X felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to a term of imprison-
ment of not less than 6 years and not more than 
40 years for purchasing or attempting to pur-
chase not less than 31 firearms and not more 
than 40 firearms at the same time or within a 5 
year period; 
    (G) is guilty of a Class X felony for which the 
person shall be sentenced to a term of imprison-
ment of not less than 6 years and not more than 
50 years for purchasing or attempting to pur-
chase more than 40 firearms at the same time or 
within a 6 year period. 
    (2) In addition to any other penalty that may 
be imposed for a violation of this Section, the 
court may sentence a person convicted of a vio-
lation of subsection (c) of this Section to a fine 
not to exceed $250,000 for each violation. 
    (f) A prosecution for unlawful purchase of a 
firearm may be commenced within 6 years after 
the commission of the offense. 
    5/24-3.6. Unlawful use of a firearm in the 
shape of a wireless telephone. 
    (a) For the purposes of this Section, "wireless 
telephone" means a device that is capable of 
transmitting or receiving telephonic communica-
tions without a wire connecting the device to the 
telephone network. 
    (b) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
use of a firearm in the shape of a wireless 
telephone when he or she manufactures, sells, 
transfers, purchases, possesses, or carries a 
firearm shaped or designed to appear as a 
wireless telephone. 
    (c) This Section does not apply to or affect the 
sale to or possession of a firearm in the shape of 
a wireless telephone by a peace officer. 
    (d) Sentence. Unlawful use of a firearm in the 
shape of a wireless telephone is a Class 4 
felony. 
    5/24-4. Register of sales by dealer. 
    (a) Any seller of firearms of a size which may 
be concealed upon the person, other than a 
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manufacturer selling to a bona fide wholesaler or 
retailer or a wholesaler selling to a bona fide re-
tailer, shall keep a register of all firearms sold or 
given away. 
    (b) Such register shall contain the date of the 
sale or gift, the name, address, age and occupa-
tion of the person to whom the weapon is sold or 
given, the price of the weapon, the kind, descrip-
tion and number of the weapon, and the purpose 
for which it is purchased and obtained. 
    (c) Such seller on demand of a peace officer 
shall produce for inspection the register and al-
low such peace officer to inspect such register 
and all stock on hand. 
    (d) Sentence. Violation of this Section is a 
Class B misdemeanor. 
    5/24-5. Defacing identification marks of 
firearms. 
    (a) Any person who shall knowingly or inten-
tionally change, alter, remove or obliterate the 
name of the importer's or manufacturer's serial 
number of any firearm commits a Class 2 felony. 
    (b) A person who possesses any firearm upon 
which any such importer's or manufacturer's ser-
ial number has been changed, altered, removed 
or obliterated commits a Class 3 felony. 
    (c) Nothing in this Section shall prevent a per-
son from making repairs, replacement of parts, 
or other changes to a firearm if those repairs, re-
placement of parts, or changes cause the re-
moval of the name of the maker, model, or other 
marks of identification other than the serial num-
ber on the firearm's frame or receiver 
    (d) A prosecution for a violation of this Section 
may be commenced within 6 years after the 
commission of the offense. 
    5/24-7. Weapons offenses; community ser-
vice. In addition to any other sentence that may 
be imposed, a court shall order any person con-
victed of a violation of this Article to perform 
community service for not less than 30 and not 
more than 120 hours, if community service is 
available in the jurisdiction and is funded and 
approved by the county board of the county 
where the offense was committed. In addition, 
whenever any person is placed on supervision 
for an alleged offense under this Article, the su-
pervision shall be conditioned upon the perform-
ance of the community service. 
    This Section does not apply when the court 
imposes a sentence of incarceration. 
    5/24-8. Firearm tracing. 
    (a) Upon recovering a firearm from the pos-
session of anyone who is not permitted by fed-
eral or State law to possess a firearm, a local 
law enforcement agency shall use the best avail-
able information, including a firearms trace when 
necessary, to determine how and from whom 
the person gained possession of the firearm. 
Upon recovering a firearm that was used in the 
commission of any offense classified as a felony 
or upon recovering a firearm that appears to 
have been lost, mislaid, stolen, or otherwise 
unclaimed, a local law enforcement agency shall 
use the best available information, including a 
firearms trace when necessary, to determine 
prior ownership of the firearm. 
    (b) Local law enforcement shall, when appro-
priate, use the National Tracing Center of the 
Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire-
arms in complying with subsection (a) of this 
Section. 
    (c) Local law enforcement agencies shall use 
the Illinois Department of State Police Law En-
forcement Agencies Data System (LEADS) Gun 
File to enter all stolen, seized, or recovered fire-
arms as prescribed by LEADS regulations and 
policies. 

    5/24-9. Firearms; Child Protection. 
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (c), it is 
unlawful for any person to store or leave, within 
premises under his or her control, a firearm if the 
person knows or has reason to believe that a 
minor under the age of 14 years who does not 
have a Firearm Owners Identification Card is 
likely to gain access to the firearm without the 
lawful permission of the minor's parent, guard-
ian, or person having charge of the minor, and 
the minor causes death or great bodily harm 
with the firearm, unless the firearm is: 
    (1) secured by a device or mechanism, other 
than the firearm safety, designed to render a 
firearm temporarily inoperable; or 
    (2) placed in a securely locked box or con-
tainer; or 
    (3) placed in some other location that a rea-
sonable person would believe to be secure from 
a minor under the age of 14 years. 
    (b) Sentence. A person who violates this 
Section is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and 
shall be fined not less than $1,000. A second or 
sub-sequent violation of this Section is a Class A 
misdemeanor. 
    (c) Subsection (a) does not apply: 
    (1) if the minor under 14 years of age gains 
access to a firearm and uses it in a lawful act of 
self-defense or defense  of another; or 
    (2) to any firearm obtained by a minor under 
the age of 14 because of an unlawful entry of 
the premises by the minor or another person. 
    (d) For the purposes of this Section, "firearm" 
as the meaning ascribed to it in Section 1.1 of 
the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. 
    24-9.5. Handgun safety devices. 
    (a) It is unlawful for a person licensed as a 
federal firearms dealer under Section 923 of the 
federal Gun Control Act of 1968 (18 U.S.C. 923) 
to offer for sale, sell, or transfer a handgun to a 
person not licensed under that Act, unless he or 
she sells or includes with the handgun a device 
or mechanism, other than the firearm safety, 
designed to render the handgun temporarily 
inoperable or inaccessible. This includes but is 
not limited to: 
    (1) An external device that is: 
    (i) attached to the handgun with a key or 
combination lock; and 
    (ii) designed to prevent the handgun from 
being discharged unless the device has been 
deactivated. 
    (2) An integrated mechanical safety, 
disabling, or locking device that is: 
    (i) built into the handgun; and 
    (ii) designed to prevent the handgun from 
being discharged unless the device has been 
deactivated.    
    (b) Sentence. A person who violates this 
Section is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and 
shall be fined not less than $1,000. A second or 
subsequent violation of this Section is a Class A 
misdemeanor. 
    (c) For the purposes of this Section, 
"handgun" has the meaning ascribed to it in 
clause (h)(2) of subsection (A) of Section 24-3 of 
this Code. 
    (d) This Section does not apply to: 
    (1) the purchase, sale, or transportation of a 
handgun to or by a federally licensed firearms 
dealer or manufacturer that provides or services 
a handgun for: 
    (i) personnel of any unit of the federal 
government; 
    (ii) members of the armed forces of the 
United States or the National Guard; 
    (iii) law enforcement personnel of the State or 
any local law enforcement agency in the State 

while acting within the scope of their official 
duties; and 
    (iv) an organization that is required by federal 
law governing its specific business or activity to 
maintain handguns and applicable ammunition; 
    (2) a firearm modified to be permanently 
inoperative; 
    (3) the sale or transfer of a handgun by a 
federally licensed firearms dealer or 
manufacturer described in item (1) of this 
subsection (d); 
    (4) the sale or transfer of a handgun by a 
federally licensed firearms dealer or 
manufacturer to a lawful customer outside the 
State; or 
    (5) an antique firearm. 
CREDIT(S)  
Laws 1961, P. 1983, § 24-9.5, added by P.A. 
94-390, § 5, eff. Jan. 1, 2006. 
    24-10. Municipal ordinance regulating fire-
arms; affirmative defense to a violation. It is 
an affirmative defense to a violation of a munici-
pal ordinance that prohibits, regulates, or re-
stricts the private ownership of firearms if the in-
dividual who is charged with the violation used 
the firearm in an act of self-defense or defense 
of another as defined in Sections 7-1 and 7-2 of 
this Code when on his or her land or in his or her 
abode or fixed place of business. 
 
[Current through P.A. 95-711, Dec. 15, 2007] 
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Chapter 29. Offenses - Miscellaneous 

Article III. Offenses Against or Endangering 
the Person 

 
    29-43. Unlawful use of weapons. 
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
use of weapons when he knowingly: ... 
    (4) Carries or possesses in any vehicle or 
concealed on or about his person except when 
on his land or in his own abode or fixed place of 
business any pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser 
or other firearm; or ... 
    (6) Possesses any device or attachment of 
any kind designed, used or intended for use in 
silencing the report of any firearm; or 
    (7) Sells, manufactures, purchases, pos-
sesses or carries a machine gun, which shall be 
defined for the purposes of this subsection as 
any weapon which shoots, is designed to shoot, 
or can be readily restored to shoot, automatically 
more than one (1) shot without manually reload-
ing by a single function of the trigger, including 
the frame or receiver of any such weapon; or 
sells, manufactures, purchases, possesses or 
carries any combination of parts designed or in-
tended for use in converting any weapon into a 
machine gun, or any combination of parts from 
which a machine gun can be assembled if such 
parts are in the possession or under the control 
of a person, or any rifle having one (1) or more 
barrels less than sixteen (16) inches in length or 
a shotgun having one (1) or more barrels less 
than eighteen (18) inches in length, or a rifle or 
shotgun which does not have a fixed stock cap-
able of being fired from the shoulder, or any 
weapon made from a rifle or shotgun, whether 
by alteration, modification or otherwise, if such a 
weapon as modified has an overall length of less 
than twenty-six (26) inches, or any bomb, bomb-
shell, grenade, bottle or other container contain-
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ing an explosive substance of over one-quarter 
ounce for like purposes, such as, but not limited 
to, black powder bombs and Molotov cocktails or 
artillery projectiles; or ... 
    (10) Carries or possesses on or about his per-
son, upon any public street, alley or other public 
lands within the corporate limits of the city, ex-
cept when the invitee thereon or therein, for the 
purpose of the display of such weapon or the 
lawful commerce in weapons, or except when on 
his land or in his own abode or fixed place of 
business, any pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser 
or other firearm. A "stun gun or taser," as used 
in this paragraph (a) means (i) any device which 
is powered by electrical charging units, such as 
batteries, and which fires one (1) or several 
barbs attached to a length of wire and which, 
upon hitting a human, can send out a current 
capable of disrupting the person's nervous sys-
tem in such a manner as to render him incap-
able of normal functioning; or (ii) any device 
which is powered by electrical charging units, 
such as batteries, and which, upon contact with 
a human or clothing worn by a human, can send 
out a current capable of disrupting the person's 
nervous system in such a manner as to render 
him incapable of normal functioning; or 
    (11) Sells, manufactures or purchases any ex-
plosive bullet. For purposes of this subsection 
"explosive bullet" means the projectile portion of 
an ammunition cartridge which contains or car-
ries an explosive charge which will explode upon 
contact with the flesh of a human or an animal. 
"Cartridge" means a tubular metal case having a 
projectile affixed at the front thereof and a cap or 
primer at the rear end thereof, with the propel-
lant contained in such tube between the pro-
jectile and the cap; or 
    (12) Carries or possesses on or about his per-
son any bludgeon, blackjack, sling-shot, sand-
club, sand-bag, metal knuckles, throwing star, 
butterfly knife, nunchaku, switchblade knife, bal-
listic knife, tear gas gun projector bomb or any 
object containing noxious liquid gas, pistol or 
revolver or other firearm, bomb, grenade, bottle 
or other container containing an explosive sub-
stance of over one-quarter ounce, or cartridge 
while in the building or on the grounds of any 
elementary or secondary school, community col-
lege, college or university or while on the 
grounds of any public parks, playground forest 
preserve or residential property owned, operated 
or managed by a public housing agency or while 
on any public way within one thousand (1,000) 
feet of the real property comprising any school 
or public park or residential property owned, 
operated, or managed by a public housing agen-
cy. This subsection shall not apply to law en-
forcement officers or security officers of such 
school, college, university, park, forest preserve 
or public housing agency, nor to students car-
rying or possessing firearms for use in training 
courses, parades, hunting, target shooting on 
school ranges, or otherwise with the consent of 
school authorities and which firearms are trans-
ported unloaded and enclosed in a suitable 
case, box or transportation package. 
    (b) A person violating subsection (a) of this 
section shall be guilty of a Misdemeanor III. 
    (c) The presence in an automobile other than 
a public omnibus of any weapon, instrument or 
substance referred to in paragraph (a)(7) is a 
prima facie evidence that it is in the possession 
of, and is being carried by, all persons occupy-
ing such automobile at the time such weapon, 
instrument or substance is found, except under 
the following circumstances: 

    (1) If such weapon, instrument or substance is 
found upon the person of one (1) of the occu-
pants therein; or 
    (2) If such weapon, instrument or substance is 
found in an automobile operated for hire by a 
duly licensed driver in the due, lawful and proper 
pursuit of his trade, then such presumption shall 
not apply to the driver. 
    (d) Upon conviction of a violation of this sec-
tion, any weapon seized shall be confiscated by 
the trial court. Any weapon so confiscated shall 
be transferred to the police department for 
disposition.  
   29-44. Exemptions. 
    (a) Section 29-43, paragraphs (a)(3), (a)(4) 
and (a)(10) do not apply to or affect any of the 
following: 
    (1) Peace officers or any person summoned 
by any peace officers to assist in making arrests 
or preserving the peace while he is actually 
engaged in assisting such officer. 
    (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or con-
victed of an offense, while in the performance of 
their official duty, or while commuting between 
their homes and place of employment. 
    (3) Members of the Armed Services or Re-
serve Forces of the United States or the Illinois 
National Guard or the Reserve Officers Training 
Corps, while in the performance of their official 
duty. 
    (4) Special agents employed by a railroad or a 
public utility to perform police functions, or 
guards of armored car companies while actually 
engaged in the performance of the duties of their 
employment or commuting between their homes 
and places of employment; watchmen, while act-
ually engaged in the performance of the duties 
of their employment. 
    (5) Persons licensed as private security con-
tractors, private detectives, private alarm con-
tractors or employed by an agency certified by 
the department of registration and education if 
their duties include the carrying of a weapon un-
der the provisions of the Private Detective, Pri-
vate Alarm and Private Security Act of 1983 [225 
ILCS 445/1 et seq.], while actually engaged in 
the performance of the duties of their employ-
ment or commuting between their homes and 
places of employment, provided that such com-
muting is accomplished within one (1) hour from 
departure from home or place of employment, 
as the case may be. Persons exempted under 
this paragraph shall be required to have com-
pleted a course of study in firearms handling and 
training approved and supervised by the depart-
ment of registration and education as prescribed 
by section 28 of the Private Detective, Private 
Alarm and Private Security Act [225 ILCS 
445/28], prior to becoming eligible for this ex-
emption. The department of registration and ed-
ucation shall provide suitable documentation 
demonstrating the successful completion of the 
prescribed firearms training. Such documenta-
tion shall be carried at all times when such 
persons are in possession of a concealable 
weapon. 
    (6) Any person regularly employed in a com-
mercial or industrial operation for the production 
of persons employed and private property re-
lated to such commercial or industrial operation 
while actually engaged in the performance of 
their duty or traveling between sites or proper-
ties belonging to the employer of such security 
guards, and who as such security guards are 
members of a security force of five (5) persons 
or more registered with the department of regis-

tration and education, provided that such secur-
ity guard has successfully completed a course of 
study, approved by and supervised by the de-
partment of registration and education, consist-
ing of not less than forty (40) hours of training 
which shall include theory of law enforcement, 
liability for acts and the handling of weapons. 
The department of registration and education 
shall provide suitable documentation to demon-
strate the successful completion of such course. 
Such documentation shall be carried by the se-
curity guard at all times when he is in pos-
session of a concealable weapon. 
    (7) Agents and investigators of the state legis-
lative investigating commission authorized by 
the commission to carry the weapons specified 
in section 29-43, paragraphs (a)(3) and (a)(4), 
while on duty in the course of any investigation 
for the commission. 
    (8) Persons employed by a financial institution 
for the protection of other employees and prop-
erty related to such financial institution, while 
actually engaged in the performance of their 
duties, commuting between their homes and 
places of employment, or traveling between 
sites or properties owned or operated by such fi-
nancial institution, provided that any person so 
employed has successfully completed a course 
of study, approved by and supervised by the 
department of registration and education, con-
sisting of not less than forty (40) hours of 
training which includes theory of law enforce-
ment, liability for acts, and the handling of wea-
pons. The department of registration and educa-
tion shall provide suitable documentation to 
demonstrate the successful completion of such 
course, and such documentation shall be carried 
by the person so trained at all times when such 
person is in possession of a concealable wea-
pon. For purposes of this paragraph, "financial 
institution" means a bank, savings and loan 
association, credit union or company armored 
car services. 
    (9) Any person employed by an armored car 
company to drive an armored car while actually 
engaged in the performance of his duties. 
    (10) Persons who have been classified as 
peace officers pursuant to "an act relating to fire 
protection, amending certain acts herein 
named," [20 ILCS 2910/1] enacted by the 82nd 
General Assembly of the State of Illinois. 
    (11) Investigators of the office of the state's 
attorneys appellate prosecutor authorized by the 
board of governors of the office of the state's 
attorneys appellate prosecutor to carry weapons 
pursuant to section 7.06 of the State's Attorneys 
Appellate Service Commission Act [725 ILCS 
210/7.06]. 
    (12) Manufacture, transportation or sale of 
weapons to persons authorized under para-
graphs (1) through (11) of this subsection to 
possess those weapons. 
    (b) Section 29-43, paragraphs (a)(4) and 
(a)(10) do not apply to or affect any of the 
following: 
    (1) Members of any club or organization or-
ganized for the purpose of practicing shooting at 
targets upon established target ranges, whether 
public or private, patrons of such ranges while 
such members or patrons are using their fire-
arms on those target ranges. 
    (2) Duly authorized military or civil organiza-
tions while parading, with the special permission 
of the governor. 
    (3) Licensed hunters, trappers or fishermen 
while engaged in hunting, trapping or fishing. 
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    (4) Transportation of weapons broken down in 
a nonfunctioning state or not immediately acces-
sible. 
    (c) Section 29-43, paragraph (a)(7) does not 
apply to or affect any of the following: 
    (1) Peace officers while in the performance of 
their official duties. 
    (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or con-
victed of an offense. 
    (3) Members of the Armed Services or Re-
serve Forces of the United States or the Illinois 
National Guard, while in the performance of their 
official duty. 
    (4) Manufacture, transportation or sale of 
machine guns to persons authorized under para-
graphs (1) through (3) of this subsection to pos-
sess machine guns, if the machine guns are 
broken down in a nonfunctioning state or not 
immediately accessible. 
    (5) Persons licensed under federal law to 
manufacture any weapon from which eight (8) or 
more shots or bullets can be discharged by a 
single function of the firing device, or ammuni-
tion for such weapons, and actually engaged in 
the business of manufacturing such weapons or 
ammunition, but only with respect to activities 
which are within the lawful scope of such busi-
ness, such as the manufacture, transportation or 
testing of such weapons or ammunition. This 
exemption does not authorize the general pri-
vate possession of any weapon from which eight 
(8) or more shots or bullets can be discharged 
by a single function of the firing device but only 
such possession and activities which are within 
the lawful scope of a licensed manufacturing 
business described in this paragraph. During 
transportation, such weapons shall be broken 
down in a nonfunctioning state or not immedi-
ately accessible. 
    (6) The manufacture, transport, testing, deliv-
ery, transfer or sale, and all lawful commercial or 
experimental activities necessary thereto, of 
rifles, shotguns and weapons made from rifles or 
shotguns, or ammunition for such rifles, shot-
guns or weapons, where engaged in by a 
person operating as a contractor or subcontrac-
tor pursuant to a contract or subcontract for the 
development and supply of such rifles, shot-
guns, weapons or ammunition to the United 
States government or any branch of the Armed 
Forces of the United States, when such activities 
are necessary and incident to fulfilling the terms 
of such contract. 
    The exemption granted under this subsection 
shall also apply to any authorized agent of any 
such contractor or subcontractor who is operat-
ing within the scope of his employment, where 
such activities involving such weapon, weapons 
or ammunition are necessary and incident to 
fulfilling the terms of such contract. 
    During transportation, any such weapon shall 
be broken down in a nonfunctioning state, or not 
immediately accessible. 
    (d) Section 29-43, paragraph (a)(1) does not 
apply to the purchase, possession or carrying of 
a blackjack, sling-shot or nunchaku by a peace 
officer, nor does it apply to the possession of 
nunchaku pursuant to instruction in conjunction 
with an organized school or class, or as part of 
an authorized public demonstration, exhibition or 
tournament sponsored by an organized school 
or class. When transporting nunchaku for a pub-
lic demonstration, exhibition or tournament, they 
shall be transported in a closed container which 
is not immediately accessible. 

    (e) Section 29-43, paragraph (a)(8) does not 
apply to any owner, manager or authorized em-
ployee of any place specified in that subsection 
nor to any law enforcement officer. 
    (f) Section 29-43, paragraphs (a)(4) and 
(a)(10) do not apply to members of any club or 
organization organized for the purpose of prac-
ticing shooting at targets upon established target 
ranges, whether public or private, while using 
their firearms on those target ranges. 
    (g) Section 29-43, paragraph (a)(11) does not 
apply to: 
    (1) Members of the Armed Services or Re-
serve Forces of the United States or the Illinois 
National Guard, while in the performance of their 
official duty. 
    (2) Bona fide collectors of antique or surplus 
military ordinance. 
    (3) Laboratories having a department of foren-
sic ballistics, or specializing in the development 
of ammunition or explosive ordinance. 
    (4) Commerce, preparation, assembly or pos-
session of explosive bullets by manufacturers of 
ammunition licensed by the federal government, 
in connection with the supply of those organiza-
tions and persons exempted by paragraph (g)(1) 
of this section, or like organizations and persons 
outside this state, or the transportation of explo-
sive bullets to any organization or person ex-
empted in this section by a common carrier or by 
a vehicle owned or leased by an exempted 
manufacturer. 
    (h) A charge based upon a violation of any 
subsection need not negative any exemptions 
contained in this section. The defendant shall 
have the burden of proving such an exemption. 
    (i) Nothing in this section shall prohibit, apply 
to or affect the transportation, carrying or pos-
session of any pistol or revolver, stun gun, taser 
or other firearm consigned to a common carrier 
operating under license of the state or the fed-
eral government, where such transportation, car-
rying or possession is incident to the lawful 
transportation in which such common carrier is 
engaged; and nothing in this section shall pro-
hibit, apply to or affect the transportation, carry-
ing or possession of any pistol, revolver, stun 
gun, taser or other firearm, not the subject of 
and regulated by subsection 29-43, paragraph 
(a)(7), which is unloaded and enclosed in a 
case, firearm carrying box, shipping box or other 
container, by the possessor of a valid firearm 
owners identification card. 
    29-46. Possession of ammunition and fire-
arms by underage persons. 
    (a) No underage person shall acquire, pos-
sess or transport any firearm or firearm ammuni-
tion within the city, except for the purpose of fire-
arm instruction and any other lawful purpose 
while in the custody and immediate control of 
their parent, legal guardian or other person in 
loco parentis to the underage person so long as 
said parent, legal guardian or other person in 
loco parentis to the underage person has a 
currently valid State of Illinois Firearm Owner's 
Identification Card. 
    (b) This section shall not apply to: 
    (1) Any underage person who was honorably 
discharged from the United States military and 
can otherwise own a firearm under state and 
federal law; or 
    (2) The acquisition, possession or transporta-
tion of a shotgun or rifle by a person eighteen 
(18) years old or older who has a valid State of 
Illinois Firearm Owner's Identification Card and 
has successfully completed a hunter safety edu-
cation course certified by the State of Illinois. 

    (c) No person shall sell, loan or furnish to any 
underage person any firearm or firearm ammuni-
tion within the city, except as provided for in 
paragraph (a) above. 
    (d) A person violating subsection (a) or (c) of 
this section shall be guilty of a Misdemeanor III. 
    (e) Upon conviction of a violation of this sec-
tion, any weapons seized shall be confiscated 
by the trial court. Any weapon so confiscated 
shall be transferred to the police department for 
disposition. 
    (f) For the purpose of this section: 
    (1) Firearm, rifle and shotgun have the mean-
ings ascribed to them in section 29-49 of this 
Code. 
    (2) Firearm ammunition means any bullet, 
self-contained cartridge, shotgun shell, or pro-
jectile, by whatever name known, which is 
designed to be used or adaptable to use in a 
firearm; excluding, however, any ammunition 
exclusively designed for use with a device used 
exclusively for signaling or safety and required 
or recommended by the United States Coast 
Guard or the Interstate Commerce Commission, 
or any ammunition designed exclusively for use 
with a stud or rivet driver or other similar 
industrial ammunition. 
    (3) Underage person means a person under 
the age of twenty-one (21). 
    29-47. Air and spring guns. 
    (a) No person shall possess an air rifle, air 
gun, air pistol, spring gun, spring pistol, B-B gun, 
pellet gun or any other implement that is not a 
firearm and which impels a pellet constructed of 
hard plastic, steel, lead or other hard material 
with a force that reasonably may be expected to 
cause bodily harm, under the conditions speci-
fied for firearms in subsections (a)(4), (a)(10) or 
(a)(12) of section 29-43 of this article. ... 
    (c) Any person violating this section shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor, the fine for which shall 
be a minimum of two hundred dollars ($200.00) 
and a maximum of five hundred dollars 
($500.00) for each separate violation. 
    29-48. Vehicle seizure and impoundment. 
A motor vehicle, operated with the permission, 
express or implied, of the owner of record, that 
is used in the violation of sections 29-43, 29-45, 
29-46, 29-47, 29-49, 29-50, 29-101 or 29-102 of 
this Code ... shall be subject to seizure and 
impoundment under this section. The owner of 
record of such vehicle shall be liable to the city 
for a penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00) in 
addition to fees for the towing and storage of the 
vehicle. ... 
    29-49. Transfer or possession of assault 
ammunition or assault weapons. 
    (a) No person shall sell, offer or display for 
sale, give, lend, transfer ownership of, acquire or 
possess any assault weapon or large capacity 
ammunition feeding device. 
    (b) This section shall not apply to: 
    (1) Any law enforcement officer of this or any 
other municipality or state of the United States, 
members of the armed forces of the United 
States, or the organized militia of this or any oth-
er state to the extent that any such person is 
otherwise authorized to possess an assault 
weapon or large capacity ammunition feeding 
device and is acting within the scope of his or 
her duties; 
    (2) The transportation of assault weapons or 
large capacity ammunition feeding devices to 
persons exempt from this section, as set forth 
above, by federally licensed manufacturers and 
dealers, if the weapons or devices are broken 
down in a nonfunctioning state and not immedi-
ately accessible during transportation; or 
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    (3) The government of the United States or 
the government of any municipality, county, or 
state. 
    (4) Any person who, while in their home and 
in an act of self-defense, uses either an assault 
weapon owned by a person mentioned in para-
graph (1) above or such a weapon for which a 
certificate of ownership has been issued but for 
which they are not the certificate holder. 
    (c) Any assault weapon or large capacity am-
munition feeding device possessed, sold or 
transferred in violation of subsection (a) above is 
hereby declared to be contraband and shall be 
seized and appropriately disposed of by the po-
lice department. 
    (d) Any person found in violation of this sec-
tion shall be guilty of a Misdemeanor IV. 
    (e) Any person who, prior to the effective date 
of this section, was legally in possession of an 
assault weapon or large capacity ammunition 
feeding device prohibited by this section, shall 
have ninety (90) days from the effective date of 
this section to do any of the following without be-
ing subject to prosecution hereunder: 
    (1) Remove the assault weapon or large 
capacity ammunition feeding device from within 
the limits of the city; 
    (2) Modify the assault weapon either to render 
it permanently inoperable or to permanently 
make it a device no longer defined as an assault 
weapon; 
    (3) Surrender the assault weapon or large 
capacity ammunition feeding device to the police 
chief or his designee for appropriate disposal; or 
     (4) Obtain a certificate of ownership from the 
Aurora Police Department in accordance with 
subsection (g) below. 
    (f) This section shall not apply to: 
    (1) An antique firearm as defined below; 
    (2) Any semiautomatic rifle with a fixed stock 
that cannot accept a detachable magazine or 
clip that holds more than eight (8) rounds of am-
munition; 
    (3) Any semiautomatic shotgun that cannot 
hold more than five (5) rounds of ammunition in 
a fixed or detachable magazine; 
    (4) Any firearm that can only be operated 
manually by bolt, pump, lever or slide action. 
    (5) Any magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or 
similar device originally manufactured to accept 
more than fifteen (15) rounds of ammunition but 
which has been fitted with a permanent block so 
as to hold no more than fifteen (15) rounds of 
ammunition. 
    (g)(1) Persons who, prior to the effective date 
of this section, lawfully possess assault weap-
ons as defined herein may, within ninety (90) 
days of the effective date of this section, apply to 
the Aurora Police Department for a certificate of 
ownership for said assault weapons. 
    (a) No certificate of ownership shall, however, 
be granted for the following weapons: 
    Avtomat Kalashnikov AK-47 type (including all 
models of the Norinco, Mitchell and Poly Tech) 
    Franchi SPAS-12 and LAW-12 
    MAC-11 carbine type 
    Street Sweeper and Striker 12 revolving cylin-
der shotguns 
    USAS-12 
    Uzi carbine and mini-carbine 
    Any assault weapon with a folding or tele-
scoping stock which is not designed to be fired 
from the Shoulder 
    Any pistol which meets the definition of an 
assault weapon except as set forth in paragraph 
b. below 
    (b) A certificate of ownership may be granted 
for any pistol originally manufactured to accept, 

in the pistol grip, a magazine designed to con-
tain 16-17 rounds of ammunition but which does 
not extend below the pistol grip and does not 
otherwise meet the definition of an assault 
weapon. 
    (2) The Aurora Police Department shall issue 
a certificate of ownership for each applicable 
weapon owned by the applicant if the applicant 
has a currently valid State of Illinois Firearm 
Owners Identification card. Said certificate shall 
not be transferable, except upon the death of the 
certificate holder and then only to his heir or 
legatee. 
    (3) The Aurora Police Department shall not is-
sue a certificate of ownership, and shall revoke 
any existing certificate of ownership, if the appli-
cant or certificate holder is prohibited, under 
state or federal law, from possessing the assault 
weapon for which the certificate of ownership 
has been applied or issued. 
    (4) All assault weapons for which a certificate 
of ownership has been issued shall be kept un-
loaded and stored in a locked environment when 
being transported or kept within the City of 
Aurora. 
    (5) The City of Aurora shall not enact any or-
dinance imposing greater regulations upon as-
sault weapons for which a certificate of owner-
ship has been issued. 
    (h) For the purpose of this section: 
    (1) Antique firearm means: 
    (a) Any firearm, including any firearm with a 
matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar 
type of ignition system, manufactured in or be-
fore 1898; and 
    (b) Any replica of any firearm described in 
sub-paragraph (a) if the replica: 
    (1) Is not designed or redesigned for using 
rim-fire or conventional centerfire fixed 
ammunition; or 
    (2) Uses rimfire or conventional centerfire 
fixed ammunition which is not readily available in 
the ordinary channels of commercial trade. 
    (2) Assault weapon means: 
    (a) Any of the firearms (or types, replicas, or 
duplicates in any caliber of the firearms regard-
less of manufacturer) known as: 
    A.A. Arms AP-9 
    Algimec Agmi 
    Armalite AR-180 
    Australian Automatic Arms SAP Pistol 
    Australian Automatic Arms SAR 
    Auto-Ordnance Thompson type 
    Avtomat Kalashnikov AK-47 type (including all 
models of the Norinco, Mitchell, and Poly Tech) 
    Barrett Light-Fifty model 82A1 
    Beretta AR-70 (SC-70) 
    Beretta BM-59 
    Bushmaster Auto Rifle and Auto Pistol 
    Calico models M-900, M-950 and 100-P 
    Chartered Industries of Singapore SR-88 
    Claridge High Tech 
    Colt AR-15 and Sporter 
    Daewoo K-1, K-2, Max-1 and Max-2 
    Encom MK-IV, MP-9 and MP-45 
    Fabrique Nationale FN/FAL, FN/LAR or 
FN/FNC 
    FAMAS MAS 223 
    Feather AT-9 and Mini-AT 
    Federal XC-900 and XC-450 
    Franchi SPAS-12 and LAW-12 
    Galil AR and ARM 
    Heckler & Koch HK-91, HK-93, HK-94, PSG-
1, SP-89 
    Holmes Mp-83 
    Intratec TEC-9, TEC-DC-9, TEC-22 and 
Scorpion 
    Iver Johnson Enforce Model 3000 

    Iver Johnson PM30 Paratrooper 
    M14S type 
    MAC 10, M-10, MAC-11 and MAC-11 Carbine 
type 
    Ruger Mini-14/5F (folding stock only) and 
Mini-14/5RF 
    Scarab Skorpion 
    SIG 57 AMT, SIG 550SP, SIG 551SP, SIG 
PE-57 types and 500 series 
    Spectre Auto Carbine and Auto Pistol 
    Springfield Armory BM59, SAR-48 and G-3 
    Sterling MK-6 and MK-7 and SAR types 
    Steyr AUG 
    Street Sweeper and Striker 12 revolving 
cylinder shotguns 
    SWD M-10, M-11, M-11/9, M-12 
    Valmet M63, M71S, M76 or M78 
    USAS-12 
    UZI Carbine, Mini-Carbine and Pistol 
    Weaver Arms Nighthawk 
    Wilkinson "Linda" Pistol 
    (b) Any semiautomatic rifle that has a fixed 
magazine that can hold more than eight (8) 
rounds or an ability to accept a detachable mag-
azine and has at least two (2) of the following: 
    (1) A folding or telescoping stock; 
    (2) A pistol grip that protrudes beneath the ac-
tion of the weapon and which is separate and 
apart from the stock; 
    (3) A bayonet mount; 
    (4) A flash suppressor; 
    (5) A barrel with a threaded muzzle; 
    (6) A grenade launcher. 
    (c) Any semiautomatic pistol that has an 
ability to accept a detachable magazine and has 
at least two (2) of the following: 
    (1) An ammunition magazine that attaches to 
the pistol outside of the pistol grip; 
    (2) A barrel having a threaded muzzle; 
    (3) A shroud that is attached to, or partially or 
completely encircles, the barrel and which per-
mits the shooter to hold the firearm with the non-
trigger hand without being burned; 
    (4) A manufactured weight of fifty (50) ounces 
or more when the pistol is unloaded; 
    (5) A semiautomatic version of an automatic 
firearm 
    (d) Any semiautomatic shotgun that has either 
a fixed magazine with a capacity in excess of 
five (5) rounds or an ability to accept a detach-
able magazine and, in addition, has at least one 
(1) of the following: 
    (1) A folding or telescoping stock; 
    (2) A pistol grip that protrudes beneath the ac-
tion of the firearm and which is separate and 
apart from the stock; 
    (3) Firearm means any device, by whatever 
name known, which is designed to expel a pro-
jectile or projectiles by the action of an explo-
sion, expansion of gas or escape of gas; ex-
cluding, however: 
    (a) Any pneumatic gun, spring gun, paint ball 
gun or BB gun which either expels a single glob-
ular projectile not exceeding .18 inch in diameter 
and which has a maximum muzzle velocity of 
less than seven hundred (700) feet per second 
or breakable paint balls containing washable 
marking colors; 
    (b) Any device used exclusively for signaling 
or safety and required or recommended by the 
United States Coast Guard or the Interstate 
Commerce Commission; or 
    (c) Any device used exclusively for the firing 
of stud cartridges, explosive rivets or similar 
industrial ammunition. 
    (4) Large capacity ammunition feeding device 
means: 
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    (a) Any magazine, belt, drum, feed strip or 
similar device that has a capacity of, or can be 
readily restored or converted to accept, more 
than fifteen (15) rounds of ammunition; or 
    (b) Any combination of parts from which a de-
vice described in the above clause can be as-
sembled; 
    The term does not include an attached tubu-
lar device designed to accept and capable of op-
erating with only .22 caliber rimfire ammunition. 
    (5) Pistol means any firearm designed to be 
fired by the use of a single hand, as well as any 
combination of parts from which a pistol can be 
assembled. 
    (6) Rifle means a firearm designed or rede-
signed, made or remade, and intended to be 
fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed metallic cartridge to 
fire only a single projectile through a rifled bore 
for each single pull of the trigger. 
    (7) Semiautomatic means a firearm that util-
izes a portion of the energy of a firing cart-ridge 
to extract the fired cartridge case and chamber 
the next round, and which requires a separate 
pull of the trigger to fire each cartridge. 
    (8) Shotgun means a firearm designed or re-
designed, made or remade, and intended to be 
fired from the shoulder and designed or rede-
signed and made or remade to use the energy 
of the explosive in a fixed shotgun shell to fire 
through a smooth or rifled bore either a number 
of ball shot or a single projectile for each single 
pull of the trigger. 
    29-50. Unlawful storage of ammunition and 
firearms. 
    (a) No person shall keep firearm ammunition 
or a loaded firearm within any premises or 
vehicle under his or her custody or control which 
he or she knows, or reasonably should know, a 
minor is likely to be able to gain access to with-
out permission of the minor's parent or legal 
guardian, unless the firearm ammunition is in a 
locked container, the loaded firearm is equipped 
with a locking device, or said firearm is in a 
locked container. 
    (b) For the purposes of this section: 
    (1) Minor means a person under the age of 
eighteen (18) years; 
    (2) Firearm has the meaning ascribed to it in 
section 29-49 of this Code; 
    (3) Loaded firearm means a firearm in which 
there is an unexpended cartridge or shell, con-
sisting of a case that holds a charge of powder 
or a bullet or shot, in or attached in any manner 
to the firearm, including, but not limited to, in the 
firing chamber, magazine or clip thereof at-
tached to the firearm; except that a muzzle-
loader firearm shall be deemed loaded when it is 
capped or pinned and has a powder charge and 
ball or shot in the barrel or cylinder; 
    (4) Locking device means a device attached 
to a firearm other than the safety that temporar-
ily prevents the firearm from functioning. 
    (c) A person violating this section shall be 
guilty of a Misdemeanor II. 
 
[Code of Ordinances, City of Aurora codified 
through Ord. 007-69 enacted June 12, 2007] 
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Consumer Protection 
 

Chapter 4-144. Weapons 
 

Article I. Deadly Weapons 
 
    4-144-010. License - Required. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to engage in the busi-
ness of selling, or to sell or give away, any 
pistol, revolver or other firearm, dagger, stiletto, 
billie, derringer, bowie knife, dirk, stun gun or 
taser, as defined in Section 24-1 of the Illinois 
Criminal Code, 720 ILCS 5/24-1, or other deadly 
weapon which can be carried or concealed on 
the person, without securing a weapons dealer 
license. The license required by this chapter 
shall be in addition to any other license required 
by law. 
    4-144-020. License - Application. An appli-
cation for a weapons dealer license shall be 
made in conformity with the general require-
ments of this Code relating to applications for 
licenses. The superintendent of police shall ap-
prove said application before a license shall be 
issued. 
    4-144-030. License - Fee. The annual fee for 
a weapons dealer license shall be as set forth in 
Section 4-5-010. 
    4-144-040. Daily report required - Sales or 
gifts. Every person dealing in the aforemen-
tioned deadly weapons shall make out and deliv-
er to the superintendent of police every day be-
fore the hour of twelve noon, a legible and cor-
rect report of every sale or gift made under 
authority of his license during the preceding 24 
hours, which report shall contain the date of 
such sale or gift, the name of the purchaser or 
donee with his or her address and age, the num-
ber, kind, description and price of such weapon, 
the number of the purchaser's permit, and the 
purpose given by such person for the purchase 
of such weapon, which report shall be substan-
tially in the following form: 
       Number of permit 
       Number of weapon 
       Name of purchaser 
       Address of purchaser 
       Age of purchaser 
       Kind or description of weapon 
       For what purpose purchased 
       Price 
    4-144-050. Register required. Every person 
dealing in the aforementioned deadly weapons 
or ammunition at retail, within the city, shall keep 
a register of all such weapons and ammunition 
sold, loaned, rented or given away by him. Such 
register shall contain the date of the sale, loan-
ing, renting or gift, the number of the permit, the 
number of the weapon, the name and age of the 
person to whom the weapon or ammunition is 
sold, loaned, rented or given, the quantity of 
ammunition, the price of each item, and the pur-
pose for which it is purchased or obtained. The 
said register shall be in the following form (see 
diagram for Section 4-144-050)[omitted]. Such 
register shall be kept open for the inspection of 
the police at all reasonable times during busi-
ness hours. 
    4-144-060. Restrictions on sales or gifts. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to sell, barter or 
give away to any person within the city, any 
deadly weapon mentioned in Section 4-144-010, 
except to licensed dealers and to persons who 
have secured a permit for the purchase of such 
articles from the superintendent of police as 
hereinafter required. This section shall not apply 
to sales made of such articles which are to be 
delivered or furnished outside the city. 
    4-144-061. Sale of certain handgun ammu-
nition prohibited. Except as allowed by sub-

section (e) of Section 8-20-170 of this Code, it 
shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for 
sale, expose for sale, barter or give away to any 
person within the city, any ammunition of the 
following calibers and types: 
         .45 automatic 
         .380 automatic 
         .38 special 
         .357 magnum 
         .25 caliber 
         .22 caliber, including .22 long 
          9 millimeter 
Any other ammunition, regardless of the desig-
nation by the manufacturer, distributor or seller, 
that is capable of being used as a substitute for 
any of the foregoing. 
    4-144-062. Sale of handguns without child-
proofing or safety devices prohibited. Except 
as allowed by subsection (e) of Section 8-20-
170 of this Code, it shall be unlawful for any per-
son to sell, barter or give away to any person 
any handgun which does not contain: 
    (1) A safety mechanism to hinder the use of 
the handgun by unauthorized users. Such de-
vices shall include, but shall not be limited to, 
trigger locks, combination handle locks, and 
solenoid use-limitation devices, and 
    (2) A load indicator device that provides rea-
sonable warning to potential users such that 
users even unfamiliar with the weapon would be 
forewarned and would understand the nature of 
the warning. 
    Safety mechanism means a design adaption 
or nondetachable accessory that lessons the 
likelihood of unanticipated use of the handgun 
by other than the owner of the handgun and 
those specifically authorized by the owner to use 
the handgun. 
    A trigger lock means a device that when 
locked in place by means of a key, prevents a 
potential user from pulling the trigger of the 
handgun without first removing the trigger lock 
by use of the trigger lock's key. 
    A combination handle lock means a device 
that is part of the handgun which precludes the 
use of the handgun unless the combination tum-
blers are properly aligned. 
    A solenoid use-limitation device means a de-
vice which precludes, by use of a solenoid, the 
firing of the handgun unless a magnet of the ap-
propriate strength is placed in proximity to the 
handle of the weapon. 
    A load indicator means a device which plainly 
indicates that a bullet is placed in the handgun in 
a way that pulling the trigger or otherwise hand-
ling the handgun may result in detonation. 
    4-144-070. Permit required when - Issu-
ance conditions. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to purchase any deadly weapon men-
tioned in Section 4-144-010 which can be con-
cealed on the person, without first securing from 
the superintendent of police a permit so to do. 
Before any such permit is granted, an applica-
tion in writing shall be made therefor, setting 
forth in such application the name, address, age, 
height, weight, complexion, nationality and other 
elements of identification of the person desiring 
such permit, and the applicant shall present 
such evidence of good character as the superin-
tendent of police at his discretion may require. 
    The superintendent of police shall refuse such 
permit to any person under 18 years of age, any 
narcotic addict, any person who has been con-
victed of a felony under the laws of this state or 
any other jurisdiction within five years from 
release from penitentiary or within five years of 
conviction if penitentiary sentence has not been 
imposed, and any person who has been re-
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leased from a mental institution or from the cus-
tody of the Illinois Youth Commission within the 
last five years, or is mentally retarded. Other-
wise, in case he shall be satisfied that the appli-
cant is of good moral character, it shall be the 
duty of the superintendent of police to grant 
such permit. 
    4-144-080. Sales display restrictions. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to exhibit for 
sale in show cases or show windows, on coun-
ters or in any other public manner, any deadly 
weapon mentioned in Section 4-144-010, or to 
display any signs, posters, cartoons, or display 
cards suggesting the sale of any such deadly 
weapons, or any ammunition whose sale is pro-
hibited pursuant to Section 4-144-061 of this 
Code. 
    4-144-090. License - Revocation. In case 
the mayor shall determine that such applicant 
has violated any provision of this chapter, he 
shall revoke the license to such person for the 
selling of such weapons, and the money paid for 
such license shall be forfeited to the city. No 
other such license shall be issued to such 
licensee for a period of three years thereafter. 
 

Article II. Gunsmiths 
 
    4-144-100. License - Required. It shall be 
unlawful for any person to engage in the busi-
ness of repairing any pistol, revolver, derringer 
or other firearm which can be concealed on the 
person without securing a weapons dealer li-
cense so to do. 
    4-144-110. License - Application. An appli-
cation for said license shall be made in conform-
ity with the general requirements of this Code re-
lating to applications for licenses. The superin-
tendent of police shall approve said application 
before a license shall be issued. 
    4-144-120. License - Fee. The annual fee for 
a gunsmith's license shall be as set forth in Sec-
tion 4-5-010, but a person licensed under Sec-
tion 4-144-010 shall not be required to pay the 
additional fee for engaging in the business of 
repairing firearms, but shall be required to make 
the additional report provided in Section 4-144-
130. 
    4-144-130. Daily report required - Repairs. 
Every person licensed under this chapter shall 
make out and submit to the superintendent of 
police every day, before twelve noon, a legible 
and correct report of each firearm received for 
repair during the preceding 24 hours, which 
report shall contain the date, name, physical de-
scription, age, address and occupation of the 
owner of such firearm, the type of weapon, its 
make, and the serial number and bore length of 
such weapon, which report shall be substantially 
in the following form: 
         Date 
         Name of owner 
         Physical description of owner 
         Age of owner 
         Address of owner 
         Occupation of owner 
         Type of weapon 
         Make of weapon 
         Serial number 
         Bore and length of weapon 
 

Article III. Air Rifles and Toy Weapons 
 
   4-144-140. License required when. It shall 
be unlawful for any person to engage in the bus-
iness of selling or to sell or to give away any air 
rifle or air gun, or any toy firearms or other toy in 
the nature of a firearm in which any explosive 

substance can be used, without securing a wea-
pons dealer license, and no person having se-
cured such license shall sell or give away any 
such weapon to any person within the city who 
has not secured a permit from the superinten-
dent of police to purchase such weapon in the 
manner hereinafter provided. 
    4-144-150. License. - Application. An appli-
cation for said license shall be made in conform-
ity with the general requirements of this Code. 
The superintendent of police shall approve said 
application before a license shall be issued. 
    4-144-160. License - Fee. The annual license 
fee for said license shall be as set forth in 
Section 4-5-010 
    4-144-170. Daily report required. Every per-
son licensed under this chapter shall make out 
and deliver to the superintendent of police every 
day, before the hour of twelve noon, a legible 
and correct report of every sale or gift made 
under authority of said license to sell the kind of 
weapons or other articles named in Section 4-
144-140 during the preceding 24 hours, which 
report shall contain the date of such sale or gift, 
the name of the purchaser or donee with his or 
her address and age, the number, kind, descrip-
tion and price of such weapon or other article, 
the number of the purchaser's permit, and the 
purpose for the purchase of such weapon or 
other article, which report shall be substantially 
in the following form: 
          Number of permit 
          Number of weapon or article 
          Name of purchaser 
          Address of purchaser 
          Age of purchaser 
          Kind or description of weapon or other 
          article 
          For what purpose purchased 
          Price 
    4-144-180. Permit - Required. It shall be un-
lawful for any person to purchase any air rifle or 
air gun, or any toy firearms or other toy in the 
nature of a firearm in which any explosive sub-
stance can be used, without first securing from 
the superintendent of police a permit so to do. 
Before any such permit is granted, an applica-
tion in writing shall be made therefor, setting 
forth in such application, the name, address, 
age, height, weight, complexion, nationality and 
other elements of identification of such person 
desiring such permit. Such application shall also 
contain a recommendation from two persons 
who shall appear to be taxpayer residing within 
the city that the permit shall issue. 
    4-144-190. Replica firearms and pellet 
guns. 
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to pur-
chase, possess, use, sell, give away or other-
wise transfer, or to engage in the business of 
selling or to exhibit for sale, a replica firearm, 
paint pellet or paint pellet gun in the City of Chic-
ago, except as provided in subsection (c) of this 
section. 
    (b) For the purposes of this chapter, the fol-
lowing terms shall have the following meanings: 
    "Paint pellet" means a pellet or projectile of 
paint which explodes upon impact. 
    "Paint pellet gun" means any firearm, toy 
firearm or toy in the nature of a firearm which is 
powered by compressed gas and which fires 
paint pellets. 
    "Replica firearm" means any device, object 
or facsimile made of plastic, wood, metal or any 
other material, that a person could reasonably 
perceive as an actual firearm but that is incap-
able of being fired or discharged, except that the 
term shall not include any replica of an antique 

firearm, as defined in Section 8-20-030(b) of this 
Code. Each such replica firearm shall have as 
an integral part, permanently affixed, a blaze 
orange plug inserted in the barrel of such replica 
firearm. Such plug shall be recessed no more 
than six millimeters from the muzzle end of the 
barrel of such firearm. 
    (c) The manufacture, marketing, distribution, 
sale and possession of replica firearms are per-
mitted if the devices are manufactured, mar-
keted, distributed, sold or held (1) solely for sub-
sequent transportation in intrastate, interstate or 
foreign commerce, or (2) solely for use in theatri-
cal productions, including motion picture, televi-
sion and stage productions. Such devices shall 
not be displayed to the general public or sold for 
other use in the city. The use or possession of a 
paint pellet or paint pellet gun is permitted if the 
use or possession is solely within premises li-
censed as a public place of amusement; or if the 
use or possession is solely for the purpose of 
transporting the paint pellet or paint pellet gun to 
or from those premises by the licensee or agent 
or employee of the licensee, or by a common 
carrier, for purposes of initial delivery, repair or 
disposal of the paint pellet or paint pellet gun. 
    (d) Any person who violates the provisions of 
this section, upon conviction thereof, shall be 
fined not less than $100.00 nor more than 
$500.00 for each offense. Any such violation 
may also be punishable as a misdemeanor by 
incarceration in a penal institution other than a 
penitentiary for up to six months under the pro-
cedures set forth in Section 1-2-1.1 of the Illinois 
Municipal Code as amended, and in the Illinois 
Code of Criminal Procedure, Illinois Revised 
Statutes, Chapter 38, Sections 100-1 et seq. 
(1985), as amended, in a separate proceeding. 
All actions seeking the imposition of fines only 
shall be filed as quasi-criminal actions subject to 
the provisions of the Illinois Code of Civil Pro-
cedure, Illinois Revised Statutes, Chapter 110, 
Section 1-101, et seq. (1985), as amended. 
Each purchase, use, sale, gift or transfer of any 
such replica firearm, paint pellet or paint pellet 
gun shall be deemed a separate and distinct of-
fense, and each day a person unlawfully en-
gages in the business of selling or exhibits for 
sale any such replica firearm, paint pellet or 
paint pellet gun shall be deemed a separate and 
distinct offense. 

4-144-195. Replica military style weapons. 
It shall be unlawful for any person to purchase, 
possess, use, sell, give away or otherwise 
transfer, or to engage in the business of selling 
or to exhibit for sale, any replica rocket propelled 
grenade launcher, bazooka, artillery piece, 
grenade, mine, bomb, or items similar to 
weapons designed and manufactured for military 
purposes or replicas thereof, in the City of 
Chicago. Any person who violates this section 
shall be fined not less than $100.00 nor more 
than $500.00 for each offense. 
    4-144-200. Granting of permit - Conditions. 
It shall be the duty of the superintendent of po-
lice to refuse such permit to any person having 
been convicted of any crime, and any minor. 
Otherwise, if the applicant is of good moral char-
acter, the superintendent of police shall grant 
such permit upon the payment of a fee of $1.00. 
    4-144-210. Sale or transfer to minors pro-
hibited. It is unlawful for any dealer to sell, lend, 
rent, give or otherwise transfer an air rifle to any 
person under the age of 18 years where the 
dealer knows the person to be under 18 years of 
age, or where such dealer has failed to make 
reasonable inquiry relative to the age of such 
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person and such person is under 18 years of 
age. 
    It is unlawful for any person to sell, lend or 
otherwise transfer any air rifle to any person 
under 18 years of age. 
    4-144-220. Sales display restrictions. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to exhibit for 
sale in show cases, or show windows, on coun-
ters, or in any public manner, any air rifle or air 
gun, or any toy firearm or other toy in the nature 
of a firearm in which any explosive substance 
can be used, or to display any signs, posters, 
cartoons or display cards suggesting the sale of 
any such weapon or firearm. 
    4-144-230. Alteration restricted. No person 
shall alter any air rifle, air gun, toy firearm or toy 
in the nature of a firearm in such a way that it 
can fire any type of projectile other than that 
which it was designed by its manufacturer to fire. 
    4-144-240. License - Revocation condi-
tions. When the license of any said licensee 
shall be revoked, no other such license shall be 
issued to such licensee for a period of three 
years thereafter. 
 

Article IV. Violation of Chapter Provisions 
 
    4-144-250. Violation - Penalties. Any person 
violating Section 4-144-010 or Section 4-144-
060 Section 4-144-061 of this chapter shall be 
fined not less than $500.00 nor more than 
$1,000.00 for a first offense and $1,000.00 for 
each subsequent offense. Any person violating 
any other provision of this chapter shall be fined 
not less than $250.00 nor more than $500.00 for 
a first offense and not less than $500.00 nor 
more than $1,000.00 for each subsequent of-
fense. Each purchase, sale or gift of any weap-
on or article mentioned in this chapter shall be 
deemed a separate offense. 
    4-144-260. License - Revocation. In case 
the mayor shall determine that a licensee has vi-
olated any provision of this chapter, he shall re-
voke the weapons dealer license issued to such 
person, and the money paid for such license 
shall be forfeited to the city. No other such 
license shall be issued to such licensee for a 
period of three years thereafter. 
 

Title 8. Offenses Affecting Public Peace, 
Morals and Welfare 

 
Chapter 8-16. Offenses By or Against Minors 
 
8-16-090. Firearms for minors. No person shall 
sell, loan, or furnish to any minor any gun, pistol, 
or other firearm, or any toy gun, toy pistol, or 
other toy firearm in which any explosive sub-
stance can be used, within the city; except that 
minors may be permitted, with the consent of 
their parents or guardians, to use firearms on 
the premises of a duly licensed shooting gallery, 
gun club, or rifle club, or to shoot game birds in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 8-24-
050 of this Code. 

 
Chapter 8-20. Weapons 

 
Article I.  Possession of Firearms 

 
    8-20-010. Unlawful to carry - Exceptions. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to carry or 
maintain in any vehicle or about his or her per-
son except when on his or her property or in his 
or her residence or fixed place of business, any 
rifle, shotgun, or other firearm; provided, that this 
section shall not apply to: 

    (1) Peace officers or any person summoned 
by any such officers to assist in making arrests 
or preserving the peace while he is actually en-
gaged in assisting such officer; 
    (2) Wardens, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails, and other institu-
tions for the detention of persons accused or 
convicted of an offense, while in the perform-
ance of their official duty or commuting between 
their homes and places of employment; 
    (3) Members of the Armed Services or Re-
serve Forces of the United States or the Illinois 
National Guard or the Reserve Officers Training 
Corps, while in the performance of their official 
duty; 
    (4) Special agents employed by a railroad to 
perform police functions, or employees of a de-
tective agency, watchman-guard or patrolman 
agency, licensed by the State of Illinois, while 
actually engaged in the performance of the 
duties of their employment or commuting be-
tween their homes and places of employment; 
    (5) Agents and investigators of the Illinois 
Crime Investigating Commission authorized by 
the Commission to carry weapons, while on duty 
in the course of any investigation for the Com-
mission; 
    (6) Manufacture, transportation when the 
weapons are not immediately accessible to any 
person, or sale of weapons to persons autho-
rized under law to possess them; 
    (7) Members of any club or organization or-
ganized for the purpose of practicing shooting at 
targets upon established target ranges, whether 
public or private, while such members are using 
their firearms on such target ranges; 
    (8) Duly authorized military or civil organiza-
tions while parading, with the special permission 
of the Governor; 
    (9) Licensed hunters or fishermen while 
engaged in hunting or fishing; 
    (10) Transportation of weapons broken down 
in a nonfunctioning state. 
    8-20-015. Unlawful firearm or laser sight 
accessory in motor vehicle - Impoundment. 
    (a) The owner of record of any motor vehicle 
that contains an unregistered firearm, a firearm 
that is not broken down in a nonfunctioning 
state, or a laser sight accessory shall be liable to 
the city for an administrative penalty of $500.00 
plus any towing and storage fees applicable 
under Section 9-92-080. Any such vehicle shall 
be subject to seizure and impoundment pursu-
ant to this section. The subsection shall not 
apply: (1) if the vehicle used in the violation was 
stolen at the time and the theft was reported to 
the appropriate police authorities within 24 hours 
after the theft was discovered or reasonably 
should have been discovered; (2) if the vehicle 
is operating as a common carrier and the viola-
tion occurs without the knowledge of the person 
in control of the vehicle; or (3) if the owner 
proves that the presence of the firearm was per-
missible pursuant to paragraphs (1) through (10) 
of Section 8-20-010 or, in the case of an unreg-
istered firearm, the firearm was exempt from 
registration under subsection (b) of Section 8-
20-040; or (4) if the owner proves the presence 
of a laser sight accessory was permissible 
pursuant to Section 8-20-165. ... 
    8-20-020. Violation - Penalty. Any person 
violating the provisions of Section 8-20-010 shall 
be fined $500.00. 
 

Article II. Registration of Firearms 
 
    8-20-030. Definitions. As used in this Title 8: 

    (a) "Ammunition" means cartridge cases, 
shells, projectiles (including shot), primers, bul-
lets, propellant powder, or other devices or ma-
terials designed, or intended for use in a firearm 
or destructive device. 
    (b) "Antique firearms" means any firearm, in-
cluding, but not limited to, any firearm with a 
matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar 
type of ignition system, which is incapable of 
being fired or discharged; or any firearm manu-
factured before 1898 for which cartridge amm-
unition is not commercially available and is 
possessed as a curiosity or ornament or for its 
historical significance or value. 
    (c) "Corrections officer" means wardens, sup-
erintendents and keepers of prisons, penitenti-
aries, jails or other institutions for the detention 
of persons accused or convicted of an offense. 
    (d) "Crime of violence" is defined as any 
felony committed while armed with a weapon as 
defined in Chapter 38, Section 33 A-1 of Illinois 
Revised Statutes, as amended. 
    (e) "Duty-related firearm" shall mean any 
weapon which is authorized by any law enforce-
ment agency to be utilized by their personnel in 
the performance of their official duties. 
    (f) "Firearm" means any weapon which will, or 
is designed to or restored to, expel a projectile 
or projectiles by the action of any explosive; the 
frame or receiver of any such device; or any 
firearm muffler or silencer. Provided, that such 
term shall not include: 
    (1) antique firearm; 
    (2) any device used exclusively for line-
throwing, signaling, or safety and required or 
recommended by the United States Coast 
Guard or Interstate Commerce Commission; or 
    (3) any device used exclusively for firing 
explosives, rivets, stud cartridges, or any similar 
industrial ammunition incapable of use as a 
weapon. 
    (g) "Fragmenting bullet" means a bullet that is 
designed or modified to shatter on impact, or 
any other bullet that is designed or modified so 
that more than 50 percent of the mass of the 
bullet is likely to fragment inside a human or 
animal target. 
    (h) "Assault weapon" means any of the follow-
ing weapons: 
    (1) Assault Rifles 
    AK 47 type 86S type 
    AK 47S type 86S7 type 
    AK 74 type 87S type 
    AKS type Galil type 
    AKM type Type 56 type 
    AKMS type Type 565 type 
    84S1 type Valmet M76 type 
    Arm type Valmet M78 type 
    84S1 type M76 counter sniper type 
    84S3 type FAL type 
    HK91 type L1A1A type 
    HK93 type SAR 48 type 
    HK94 type AUG type 
    G3SA type FNC type 
    K1 type Uzi carbine 
    K2 type Algimec AGMI type 
    AR100 type AR180 type 
    M24S type MAS 223 type 
    SIG 550SP type Beretta BM59 type 
    SIG 551SP type Beretta AR70 type 
    Australian Automatic Arms  
    CIS SR88 type 
    SAR type 
    SKS type with detachable magazine 
    Colt AR-15 
    Springfield Armory SAR-48 
    Springfield Armory BM-59 
    Bushmaster Auto Rifle 
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    Auto-Ordinance Thompson M1 
    Ruger Mini 14/5F 
    Federal XC-900 and XC-450 
    Feather AT-9 Auto Carbine 
    Goncz High Tech Carbine 
    Auto-Ordinance Thompson 1927A1 
    Iver Johnson PM30 P Paratrooper 
    (2) Assault Pistols 
    Uzi type 
    Heckler & Koch Sp-89 type 
    Australian Automatic Arms SAP type 
    Spectre Auto type 
    Sterling Mark 7 type; and 
    (3) Any weapon that the superintendent of 
police defines by regulation as an assault 
weapon because the design or operation of such 
weapon is inappropriate for lawful use. 
    (i) "Assault ammunition" means any ammuni-
tion magazine having a capacity of more than 
twelve (12) rounds of ammunition. 
    (j) "Disc projectile ammunition" means any 
ammunition which is composed of multiple disc 
shaped objects stacked together to form a single 
round of ammunition, including but not limited to 
the following types of ammunition: (i) Magdisc 
type; and (ii) Shatterdisc type. 
    (k) "Handgun" means a firearm designed to 
be held and fired by the use of a single hand, 
and includes a combination of parts from which 
such firearm can be assembled. 
    (l) "Machine gun" means any firearm from 
which eight or more shots or bullets may be dis-
charged by a single function of the firing device. 
    (m) "Mayor" means the mayor of the City of 
Chicago or his or her designee. 
    (n) "Metal piercing bullet" means any bullet 
that is manufactured with other than a lead or 
lead alloy core, or ammunition of which the 
bullet itself is wholly composed of, or machined 
from, a metal or metal alloy other than lead, or 
any other bullet that is manufactured to defeat or 
penetrate bullet resistant properties of soft body 
armor or any other type of bullet resistant 
clothing which meets the minimum requirements 
of the current National Institute for Justice 
Standards for "Ballistic Resistance of Police 
Body Armor". 
    (o) "Organization" means partnership, com-
pany, corporation or other business entity, or 
any group or association of two or more persons 
united for a common purpose. 
    (p) "Peace officer" means any person who by 
virtue of his office or public employment is 
vested by law with a duty to maintain public 
order or make arrests for offenses, whether that 
duty extends to all offenses or is limited to 
specific offenses. 
    (q) "Person" shall mean any individual, corpo-
ration, company, association, firm, partnership, 
society, joint stock company or organization of 
any kind. 
    (r) "Sawed-off shotgun" means a shotgun 
having a barrel of less than 18 inches in length 
or a firearm made from a shotgun if such firearm 
is modified and has an overall length of less 
than 26 inches or a barrel of less than 18 inches 
in length. 
    (s) "Security personnel" means special agents 
employed by a railroad or public utility to perform 
police functions: guards of armored car com-
panies, watchmen, security guards and persons 
regularly employed in a commercial or industrial 
operation for the protection of persons employed 
by or property related to such commercial or 
industrial operation. 
    (t) "Short-barreled rifle" means a rifle having 
any barrel less than 16 inches in length, or a 
modified firearm if such firearm as modified has 

an overall length of less than 26 inches or any 
barrel of less than 16 inches. 
    (u) "Superintendent" means the superinten-
dent of the Chicago Police Department or his 
designated representative. 
    (v) "Safety mechanism" means a design 
adaption or nondetachable accessory that less-
ens the likelihood of unanticipated use of the 
handgun by other than the owner of the hand-
gun and those specifically authorized by the 
owner to use the handgun. 
    (w) "Trigger lock" means a device that when 
locked in place by means of a key, prevents a 
potential user from pulling the trigger of the 
handgun without first removing the trigger lock 
by use of the trigger lock's key. 
    (x) "Combination handle lock" means a device 
that is part of the handgun which precludes the 
use of the handgun unless the combination 
tumblers are properly aligned. 
    (y) "Solenoid use-limitation device" means a 
device which precludes, by use of solenoid, the 
firing of the handgun unless a magnet of the 
appropriate strength is placed in proximity to the 
handle of the weapon. 
    (z) "Load indicator" means a device which 
plainly indicates that a bullet is placed in the 
handgun in a way that pulling the trigger or 
otherwise handling the handgun may result in 
detonation. 
    (aa) "Laser sight accessory" means a laser 
sighting device which is either integrated into a 
firearm or capable of being attached to a fire-
arm. 
    8-20-040. Registration of firearms. 
    (a) All firearms in the City of Chicago shall be 
registered in accordance with the provisions of 
this chapter. It shall be the duty of a person own-
ing or possessing a firearm to cause such fire-
arm to be registered. No person shall within the 
City of Chicago, possess, harbor, have under his 
control, transfer, offer for sale, sell, give, deliver, 
or accept any firearm unless such person is the 
holder of a valid registration certificate for such 
firearm. No person shall, within the City of Chi-
cago, possess, harbor, have under his control, 
transfer, offer for sale, sell, give, deliver, or 
accept any firearm which is unregisterable under 
the provisions of this chapter. 
    (b) This section shall not apply to: 
    (1) Firearms owned or under the direct control 
or custody of any federal, state or local govern-
mental authority maintained in the course of its 
official duties; 
    (2) Duty-related firearms owned and pos-
sessed by peace officers who are not residents 
of the City of Chicago; 
    (3) Duty-related firearms owned or possessed 
by corrections officers; provided, that such cor-
rections officers are not residents of the City of 
Chicago; 
    (4) Firearms owned, manufactured or pro-
cessed by licensed manufacturers of firearms, 
bulk transporters or licensed sellers of firearms 
at wholesale or retail, provided that such per-
sons have, in addition to any other license re-
quired by law, a valid deadly weapons dealer li-
cense issued under Chapter 4-144 of this Code; 
    (5) Any nonresident of the City of Chicago 
participating in any lawful recreational firearm-
related activity in the city, or on his way to or 
from such activity in another jurisdiction; pro-
vided, that such weapon shall be unloaded and 
securely wrapped and that his possession or 
control of such firearm is lawful in the jurisdiction 
in which he resides; 
    (6) Peace officers, while in the course of their 
official duties, who possess and control any fire-

arm or ammunition issued by their department, 
bureau or agency in the normal course of 
business; 
    (7) Private security personnel who possess or 
control any firearm or ammunition within the City 
of Chicago; provided, that such firearms shall be 
owned and maintained by the security firm em-
ploying such personnel and shall be registered 
by the security firm in accordance with this 
chapter; 
    (8) Those persons summoned by a peace 
officer to assist in making an arrest or preserving 
the peace while actually engaged in assisting 
the peace officer. 
    8-20-050. Unregisterable firearms. No regis-
tration certificate shall be issued for any of the 
following types of firearms: 
    (a) Sawed-off shotgun, machine gun, or short-
barreled rifle; 
    (b) Firearms other than handguns, owned or 
possessed by any person in the City of Chicago 
prior to the effective date of this chapter which 
are not validly registered prior to the effective 
date of this chapter; 
    (c) Handguns, except: 
    (1) Those validly registered to a current owner 
in the City of Chicago prior to the effective date 
of this chapter, and which contain each of the 
following: 
    (i) A safety mechanism to hinder the use of 
the handgun by unauthorized users. Such de-
vices shall include, but shall not be limited to, 
trigger locks, combination handle locks, and 
solenoid use-limitation devices; and 
    (ii) A load indicator device that provides rea-
sonable warning to potential users such that 
even users unfamiliar with the weapon would be 
forewarned and would understand the nature of 
the warning; 
    (2) Those owned by peace officers who are 
residents of the City of Chicago, 
    (3) Those owned by security personnel, 
    (4) Those owned by private detective agen-
cies licensed under Chapter 111.2601, et seq., 
Illinois Revised Statutes; 
    (d) Firearm muffler or silencer; 
    (e) Assault weapons, as defined in Section 8-
20-030, unless they are owned by a person who 
is entitled to own them under Section 8-24-025. 
    Any person who receives through inheritance 
any firearm validly registered pursuant to this 
chapter will be eligible to reregister such firearm 
within 60 days after obtaining possession or title, 
provided such person shall be qualified to do so 
in accordance with this chapter. 
    8-20-060. Prerequisites to registration - Ap-
plication for registration. 
    (a) No registration certificate shall be issued 
to any person unless such person: 
    (1) Shall possess a valid Illinois Firearm 
Owner's Identification Card in accordance with 
Chapter 38 Section 83-4 of the Illinois Revised 
Statutes as amended; 
    (2) Has not been convicted of a crime of 
violence, as defined herein as weapons offense, 
or a violation of this chapter; and 
    (3) Has not been convicted within the five 
years prior to the application of any: 
    (i) Violation of any law relating to the use, 
possession or sale of any narcotic or dangerous 
drug, or 
    (ii) Violation of Chapter 38 Section 12-2(a)(1) 
of the Illinois Revised Statutes, as amended, for 
aggravated assault or any similar provision of 
the law of any other jurisdiction; and 
    (4) Has vision better than or equal to that 
required to obtain a valid driver's license under 
the standards established by the Illinois Vehicle 
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Code Chapter 95-1/2, Section 506-4 Illinois 
Revised Statutes, as amended; and 
    (5) Is not otherwise ineligible to possess a 
firearm under any federal, state or local law, 
statute or ordinance. 
    (b) All applicants for a registration certificate 
under this chapter shall file with the superinten-
dent on a form provided, a sworn application in 
writing. ... 
    8-20-140. Additional duties of registrant. 
Each person holding a registration certificate 
shall: 
    (a) Immediately notify the Chicago Police De-
partment on a form prescribed by the superin-
tendent of: 
    (1) The loss, theft or destruction of the regis-
tration certificate or of a registered firearm im-
mediately upon discovery of such loss, theft, or 
destruction; 
    (2) A change in any of the information 
appearing on the registration certificate; 
    (3) The sale, transfer or other disposition of 
the firearm not less than 48 hours prior to deliv-
ery. 
    (b) Immediately return to the superintendent 
his copy of the registration certificate for any fire-
arm which is lost, stolen, destroyed or otherwise 
disposed of. 
    (c) Each registrant shall keep any firearm in 
his possession unloaded and disassembled or 
bound by a trigger lock or similar device, unless 
such firearm is in his possession at his place of 
residence or business or while being used for 
lawful recreational purposes within the City of 
Chicago; provided, this paragraph shall not 
apply to law enforcement personnel as defined 
in paragraph 8-20-030(k) and provided further 
this paragraph shall not apply to security person-
nel as defined in paragraph 8-20-030(n), while in 
the course of their employment. 
    8-20-150. Exhibition of registration. Any 
person carrying or having in his possession or 
under his custody or control any firearm, shall 
have on his person or within his immediate cus-
tody a valid registration certificate for such fire-
arm issued hereunder, which shall be exhibited 
for inspection to any peace officer upon de-
mand. Failure of any such person to so exhibit 
his registration certificate shall be presumptive 
evidence that he is not authorized to possess 
such firearm. 
    Failure of any person to exhibit a registration 
certificate for any firearm in his possession, cus-
tody or control shall also be cause for the confis-
cation of such firearms and revocation of any 
registration certificates issued therefore under 
this chapter. 
    8-20-160. Possession of ammunition. No 
person shall possess ammunition in the City of 
Chicago unless: 
    (a) He is a person exempted pursuant to 
Section 8-20-040 of this chapter; or 
    (b) He is the holder of a valid registration 
certificate for a firearm of the same gauge or 
caliber as the ammunition possessed, and has 
the registration certificate in his possession 
while in possession of the ammunition; or 
    (c) He is a licensed weapons dealer pursuant 
to Chapter 4-144 or a licensed shooting gallery 
or gun club pursuant to Chapter 4-149 of this 
Code. 
    8-20-165 Possession of laser sight acces-
sories. No person shall sell, offer, or display for 
sale, give, lend, transfer ownership of, acquire or 
possess any laser sight accessory in the City of 
Chicago provided, that this section shall not 
apply to any members of the armed forces of the 
United States, or the organized militia of this or 

any other state, and peace officers as defined in 
this Code to the extent that any such person is 
otherwise authorized to acquire or possess a 
laser sight accessory and is acting within the 
scope of his or her duties. 
    8-20-170. Permissible sales and transfers 
of firearms and ammunition. 
    (a) No firearm may be sold or otherwise trans-
ferred within the City of Chicago except through 
a licensed weapons dealer as defined in Chap-
ter 4-144 of the Municipal Code of the City of 
Chicago. 
    (b) No ammunition may be sold or otherwise 
transferred within the City of Chicago except 
through a licensed shooting gallery or gun club 
as defined in Chapter 4-149, a licensed wea-
pons dealer as defined in Chapter 4-144 or as 
otherwise allowed by the Municipal Code of the 
City of Chicago. 
    (c) No firearm or ammunition shall be security 
for, or be taken or received by way of any mort-
gage, deposit, pledge or pawn. 
    (d) No person may loan, borrow, give or rent 
to or from another person, any firearm or ammu-
nition except in accordance with this chapter. 
    (e) A peace officer may additionally sell or 
transfer any lawfully held firearm or ammunition 
to another peace officer in accordance with the 
other provisions of this chapter. 
    (f) Except as allowed by subsection (e) of this 
section, no person may sell, offer for sale, barter 
or transfer within the city any ammunition listed 
in Section 4-144-061 of this Code. 
    8-20-175. Firearm Owners Identification 
Card Act - Compliance required. No person 
shall sell, give away or otherwise transfer any 
firearm, as defined in Section 8-20-030, without 
complying with Sections 3 and 3.1 of the Fire-
arm Owners Identification Card Act, Illinois Re-
vised Statutes, Chapter 38, paragraphs 83-3 
and 83-3.1. 
    8-20-180. False information - Forgery - 
Alteration. 
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person pur-
chasing any firearm or ammunition, or applying 
for any registration certificate under this chapter, 
or, in giving any information pursuant to the 
requirements of this chapter, to knowingly give 
false information or offer false evidence of 
identity. 
    (b) It shall be unlawful for anyone to forge or 
alter any application or registration certificate 
submitted, retained or issued under this chapter. 
    8-20-230. Authority of the superintendent.  
The superintendent shall have the authority to 
promulgate rules and regulations for the imple-
mentation of this chapter and to prescribe all 
forms and the information required thereon. 
    8-20-240. Acquisition or possession pro-
hibited by law. Nothing in this chapter shall 
make lawful the acquisition or possession of fire-
arms or firearm ammunition which is otherwise 
prohibited by law. 
    8-20-241. Firearm used illegally - Penalty. 
The owner of an unregistered firearm that is 
used in any criminal act shall be subject to a fine 
of $500.00 for each such use, regardless of 
whether the owner participated in, aided or 
abetted the criminal act. A fine under this section 
shall be in addition to any other penalty imposed 
on the criminal act or use of the firearm. 
    8-20-250. Violation - Penalty. Any person 
who violates any provision of this chapter, where 
no other penalty is specifically provided, shall 
upon conviction for the first time, be fined not 
less than $300.00, nor more than $500.00; or be 
incarcerated for not less than ten days nor more 
than 90 days or both. Any subsequent conviction 

for a violation of this chapter shall be punishable 
by a fine of $500.00 and by incarceration for a 
term of not less than 90 days, nor more than six 
months. 
 
Chapter 8-24. Firearms and Other Weapons 

 
    8-24-020. Carrying dangerous weapons. ... 
    No person shall sell, manufacture, purchase, 
possess or carry any weapon from which eight 
or more shots or bullets may be discharged by a 
single function of the firing device. ... 
    No person shall carry concealed on or about 
his person a pistol, revolver, derringer or other 
firearm or dagger, dirk, stiletto, bowie knife, 
commando knife, any blade of which is released 
by a spring mechanism, including knives as 
known "switch-blades" or any other type or kind 
of knife, any blade of which is more than two 
and one-half inches in length, ordinary razor or 
other dangerous weapon except that no person 
18 years of age or under shall carry concealed 
on or about his person, any knife, the blade of 
which is two inches in length or longer. This pro-
vision shall not apply, however, to the following 
officers while engaged in the discharge of their 
official duties: sheriffs, coroners, constables, po-
licemen, or other duly constituted police officers 
and warden, superintendents and keepers of 
prisons, penitentiaries, jails and other institutions 
for the detention of persons accused or con-
victed of crime; nor to the following employees 
or agents while engaged in the discharge of du-
ties of their employment: conductors, baggage 
men, messengers, drivers, watchmen, special 
agents and policemen employed by railroads or 
express companies; nor to persons lawfully 
summoned by an officer to assist in making ar-
rests or preserving the peace, while so engaged 
in assisting such officer.  
    Any person violating the provisions of this 
section shall be fined $200.00 for each offense, 
or shall be punished by imprisonment for a 
period of six months, or by both such fine and 
imprisonment.  
    In addition to all other penalties, weapons 
used in violation of this section shall be forfeited 
to, and confiscated by, the city. 
    8-24-025. Assault weapons or ammunition 
- Sale Prohibited - Exceptions. 
    (a) No person shall sell, offer or display for 
sale, give, lend, transfer ownership of, acquire or 
possess any assault weapon or assault ammuni-
tion, as those terms are defined in Chapter 8-20 
of this code. This section shall not apply to any 
officer, agent, or employee of this or any other 
municipality or state or of the United States, 
members of the armed forces of the United 
States, or the organized militia of this or any 
other state, and peace officers as defined in this 
code to the extent that any such person is other-
wise authorized to acquire or possess an assault 
weapon or assault ammunition and is acting 
within the scope of his or her duties. In addition, 
this section shall not apply to the acquisition or 
possession of assault ammunition by persons 
employed to provide security for armored car-
riers or mobile check cashing services while in 
the course of such duties, while commuting di-
rectly to or from the person's place of employ-
ment, and while at the person's home, if the 
assault ammunition (1) is acquired or possessed 
for the use with a weapon that the person has 
been authorized to carry under Section 28 of the 
Illinois Private Detective, Private Alarm and Pri-
vate Security Act of 1983; and (2) consists of an 
ammunition magazine that has a capacity of 15 
or fewer rounds of ammunition.  
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    (b) Any assault weapon or assault ammuni-
tion possessed, sold or transferred in violation of 
subsection (a) is hereby declared to be contra-
band and shall be seized and disposed of in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 8-20-
220.  
    (c) Any person found in violation of this sec-
tion shall be sentenced to not more than six 
months imprisonment or fined not less than 
$500.00 and not more than $1,000.00 or both.  
    (d) Any person who, prior to the effective date 
of the ordinance codified in this section, was 
legally in possession of an assault weapon or 
assault ammunition prohibited by this section 
shall have 14 days from the effective date of the 
ordinance codified in this section to do any of 
the following without being subject to prosecu-
tion hereunder: 
    (1) To remove the assault weapon or 
ammunition from within the limits of the city of 
Chicago; or 
    (2) To modify the assault weapon either to 
render it permanently inoperable or to perma-
nently make it a device no longer defined as an 
assault weapon; or 
    (3) To surrender the assault weapon or am-
munition to the superintendent of police or his 
designee for disposal in accordance with Sec-
tion 8-20-220. 
    8-24-026. Fragmenting bullets and metal 
piercing bullets - Sale prohibited - Excep-
tions. 
    (a) No person shall manufacture, sell, offer or 
display for sale, give, lend, transfer ownership 
of, acquire or possess any fragmenting bullets, 
metal piercing bullets, or disc projectile ammuni-
tion. This section shall not apply to any officer, 
agent, or employee of this or any other munici-
pality or state or of the United States, members 
of the armed forces of the United States, or the 
organized militia of this or any other state, and 
peace officers as defined in this code to the ex-
tent that any such person is otherwise autho-
rized to acquire or possess fragmenting bullets, 
metal piercing bullets, or disc projectile ammuni-
tion and is acting within the scope of his or her 
duties.  
    (b) Any fragmenting bullets, metal piercing 
bullets, or disc projectile ammunition manufac-
tured, possessed, sold or transferred in violation 
of subsection (a) are hereby declared to be con-
traband and shall be seized and disposed of in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 8-2-
220.  
    (c) Any person found in violation of this sec-
tion shall be sentenced to not more than six 
months imprisonment or fined $500.00, or both. 
    8-24-060. Violation - Penalty. Any person 
violating any of the provisions of this chapter, 
where no other penalty is specifically provided, 
shall be fined not more than $200.00 for each 
offense. 
 
[Municipal Code of Chicago codified through 
Council Journal of Dec. 13, 2006] 
 

Naperville Municipal Code 
 

Title 10. Police Regulations 
Chapter 2. General Offenses 

 
   10-2-6. Weapons; Firearms. It shall be un-
lawful for any person to: 
    1. Concealed Weapons: Carry any con-
cealed weapon in the City in violation of the laws 
of this State. ... 

[Naperville Municipal Code current through 
2007] 
 

Code of the City of Peoria 
 

Chapter 20. Offenses and Miscellaneous 
Provisions 

 
Article III. Minors 

 
Division 1. Generally 

 
    20-51. Selling, etc., weapons to prohibited. 
No person shall sell, give, loan, hire, barter, fur-
nish or offer to sell, give, loan, hire, barter or fur-
nish, to any minor within the city, any gun, pistol, 
revolver, fowling piece or toy firearm, in which 
any explosive substance can be used; or any 
Bowie knife, dirk, dagger or other deadly wea-
pon of a like character. 

 
Article VI. Weapons 

 
Division 2. Concealable Deadly Weapons 

 
    20-181. License to sell, etc. 
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to en-
gage in the business of selling, or to sell or give 
away, any pistol, revolver, dagger, stiletto, billie, 
derringer, Bowie knife, dirk or other deadly wea-
pon, which can be concealed on the person, 
without securing a license so to do. 
    (b) An application for the license required by 
subsection (a) of this section shall be made in 
conformity with the general requirements of 
article I of chapter 18 of this Code, relating to 
applications for licenses. 
    (c) The annual fee for a deadly weapon 
license shall be $20.00. 
    (d) In case the city manager shall determine 
that an applicant for a license under this section 
has violated any provision of this section, he 
shall revoke the license of such person for the 
selling of such weapons, and the money paid for 
such license shall be forfeited to the city. No 
other license shall be issued to such licensee for 
a period of three years thereafter. 
    20-182. Required certificate and thumb-
print. 
    (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, 
barter or give away to any person within the city 
any deadly weapon mentioned in section 20-
181, except to licensed dealers, without first ob-
taining from the person receiving such deadly 
weapon a signed statement in which he states 
that he is over 21 years of age; that he is not 
under indictment for, nor has been convicted of, 
a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term 
of one year or more; that he is not a fugitive from 
justice; nor an unlawful user or addicted to a de-
pressant, stimulant or narcotic drug; nor that he 
has been adjudicated mentally defective or has 
been committed to a mental institution; and 
which statement shall contain a thumbprint from 
the person receiving such weapon. Such thumb-
print shall be the right-hand thumbprint unless 
circumstances prevent, in which case it shall be 
the left-hand thumbprint. All such information re-
quired by this section shall be entered upon 
forms provided by the superintendent of police 
for that purpose. 
    (b) Any person violating the provisions of this 
section shall be punished as provided in section 
1-5 of this Code. 
    20-183. Record of weapons sold, loaned, 
etc., to be kept; form; inspection. 

    (a) Every person dealing in the weapons men-
tioned in section 20-181 at retail within the city 
shall keep a record of all such weapons sold, 
loaned, rented or given away by him. The record 
required herein shall be made at the time of the 
transaction, in a book kept for that purpose, and 
shall include the name of the person to whom 
such weapon is sold, loaned, rented or given; 
his age; date of birth; legal residence; social 
security number, if any; driver's license number, 
if any; the kind and description of the weapon; if 
a firearm, the make, caliber and finish thereof, 
together with the number or serial letter thereof, 
if any; his state firearm owner's identification 
number; the date of the sale, loaning, rental or 
gift and the name of the employee or other 
person making such sale, rental, loan or gift. 
    (b) Such book shall be kept open for the 
inspection of the police at all reasonable times 
during business hours. 
    (c) Any person violating the provisions of this 
section shall be punished as provided in section 
1-5 of this Code. 
    20-184. Report of sales, etc., to superinten-
dent of police. Every person dealing in the 
deadly weapons referred to in section 20-181 
shall deliver daily reports to the superintendent 
of police. The reports shall be on forms provided 
by the superintendent of police and shall be a 
legible and correct report of every sale or gift 
made under authority of his license during the 
preceding 24 hours and shall set forth the 
information required in section 20-183 and the 
certificate required by section 20-182. 
    20-185. Restriction on sale. It shall be un-
lawful for any person to sell, barter or give away; 
to any person within the city; any deadly weapon 
mentioned in section 20-181, to any person 
known to him to be under 21 years of age or of 
unsound mind or under indictment or a drug 
addict or a fugitive from justice or who has been 
convicted of a crime of violence. 
    20-186. Exhibiting firearms. It shall be un-
lawful for any person to exhibit or display any 
firearm capable of being concealed on the per-
son in any display window on the exterior of a 
business establishment during hours the 
establishment is not opened for business. 
    20-187. Registration. 
    (a) All permanent residents of the city and 
those persons who reside in the city continuous-
ly for more than ten days who have in their pos-
session any pistol, revolver or gun which may be 
concealed on the person shall register such gun 
or pistol with the superintendent of police, set-
ting forth the caliber, make, model and manufac-
turer's number of the weapon. No fee shall be 
required for such registration. 
    (b) For the purpose of this article only, the 
term "reside" shall mean either the physical 
presence of a person at a location for the reason 
of shelter or lodging, or the keeping of a dwelling 
by a person for the purpose of his shelter. 
    (c) Any person who does not register a deadly 
weapon as provided shall be fined not less than 
$50.00 nor more than as provided in section 1-5 
for failure to register such revolver, gun or pistol. 
    20-188. Carrying concealed - Prohibited. 
No person within the city shall carry or wear 
under his clothes or concealed about his person, 
any pistol, revolver, derringer, Bowie knife, dirk, 
knife, razor, dagger, slingshot, metallic knuckles 
or other dangerous or deadly weapons of a like 
character. 
 
[Peoria City Code codified through Ord. 
16214 enacted Nov. 27, 2007] 
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Code of Ordinances of the 
City of Rockford 

 
Chapter 7. Business Permits, Taxes and 

Licenses 
 

Article III. Miscellaneous Business 
Regulations 

 
Division 9. Weapons Dealers 

 
    7-260. License required. It shall be unlawful 
for any individual, firm, corporation, company or 
association to engage in the business of repair-
ing or selling, or to repair, sell or give away to 
any person within the city, a new or used hand-
gun without first having secured a license from 
the City of Rockford. The term "engaged in the 
business" means devoting time, attention and 
labor to engaging in such activity as a regular 
course of trade or business with the principal 
objective of profit. 
    7-264. Record required; inspection. It shall 
be the duty of every licensee hereunder to keep 
a permanent register of all weapons sold, re-
paired or given away by such licensee for a 
period of ten (10) years from the date of 
transaction, the register to be in substantially the 
following form: 
    (1) Date of transaction; 
    (2) Serial Number of weapon; 
    (3) To whom sold or given; 
    (4) Age and residence of purchaser; 
    (5) Kind and description of weapon; 
    (6) The number of purchaser's Firearm 
Owner's Identification card. 
Entries in this register shall be made at the time 
of the sale, repair, or gift, and the register shall 
be kept open for inspection by any member of 
the police department at all reasonable times. 
    7-265. Report required. Any licensee making 
any sale, repair or gift of any weapon referred to 
in section 7-260 shall report such sale or gift by 
mailing or delivering the report to the chief of 
police within seven (7) calendar days thereafter, 
upon a form to be furnished by the city, the 
report to contain the following information: 
    (1) The date of transaction; 
    (2) Serial number of weapon; 
    (3) To whom sold or given; 
    (4) For whom repaired; 
    (5) Age and residence of purchaser; 
    (6) Residence of person requesting weapon 
to be repaired; 
    (7) Kind and description of weapon; 
    (8) The number of purchaser's firearm 
owner's identification card. 
 

Chapter 19. Offenses – Miscellaneous 
 

Article II. Weapons 

 
    19-48. Unlawful use of weapons. 
    (a) A person commits the offense of unlawful 
use of weapons when he knowingly: ... 
    (3) Carries on or about his person or in any 
vehicle, a tear gas gun projector or bomb or any 
object containing noxious liquid gas or sub-
stance; or 
    (4) Carries concealed in any vehicle or con-
cealed on or about his person except when on 
his land or in his own abode or fixed place of 
business any pistol, revolver or other firearm; or 
... 
    (6) Possesses any device or attachment of 
any kind designed, used or intended for use in 
silencing the report of any firearm; or 
    (7) Sells, manufactures, purchases, posses-
ses or carries any weapon from which more than 
eight (8) shots or bullets may be discharged by a 
single function of the firing device, any shotgun 
with a barrel less than eighteen (18) inches in 
length, or any bomb, bomb--shell, grenade, bot-
tle or other container containing an explosive 
substance, such as but not limited to black 
powder bombs and Molotov cocktails; or ... 
    (b) A person convicted of a violation of this 
section shall be guilty of a violation of this Code. 
    (c) The presence in an automobile other than 
a public omnibus of any weapon, instrument or 
substance referred to in subsection (a) (7) is 
prima facie evidence that it is in the possession 
of, and is being carried by, all persons occupy-
ing such automobile at the time such weapon, 
instrument or substance is found, except under 
the following circumstances: (i) if such weapon, 
instrument or instrumentality is found upon the 
person of one of the occupants therein; or (ii) if 
such weapon, instrument or substance is found 
in an automobile operated for hire by a duly 
licensed driver in the due, lawful and proper 
pursuit of his trade, then such presumption shall 
not apply to the driver. 
    19-49. Carrying when operable or loaded. It 
shall be unlawful for any person, except persons 
permitted by law, to have or carry any shotgun 
or rifle or airgun in or on any vehicle, unless 
such shotgun or rifle or air gun is taken apart to 
render it incapable of being fired or is unloaded 
when enclosed in a case, and the mere remov-
ing of the bolt from a bolt action gun shall not be 
construed as taking the gun apart so as to ren-
der it incapable of firing. 
    19-52. Furnishing bullets, pellets, arrows, 
etc., to minors. It shall be unlawful for any per-
son to sell, give or deliver any ammunition, ball, 
bullet, pellet, steel-tipped arrow or other missile 
or projectile to any person under the age of eigh-
teen (18) years and it shall be unlawful for any 
person under the age of eighteen (18) years to 
obtain any ammunition, ball, bullet, pellet, steel-
tipped arrow or other missile or projectile by pur-
chase, sale or gift, or in any other manner. 
 

[Code of Ordinances of the City of Rockford 
codified through Ord. 2007-52-0 enacted 
March 12, 2007] 
 

Code of Ordinances of the 
City of Springfield 

 
Title IX. General Regulations 

 
Chapter 98. Nuisances 

 
    98.06. Chronic nuisances. 
    (a) Any property within the City of Springfield 
which becomes a chronic nuisance property is in 
violation of this chapter and is subject to its rem-
edies. Any person in charge who permits prop-
erty under his or her ownership or control to be a 
chronic nuisance property shall be in violation of 
this chapter and subject to its remedies. 
    (b) Definitions: 
    (1) Chronic nuisance property. Chronic nui-
sance property is property upon which two or 
more of the following criminal activities have oc-
curred during any sixty-day period, as a result of 
any two separate factual events that have been 
independently investigated by any law enforce-
ment agency: 
   (a) Unlawful use of weapons, 720 ILCS 5/24-1; 
   (b) Unlawful use or possession of weapons by 
felons or persons in the custody of the depart-
ment of corrections facilities, 720 ILCS 5/24-1.1; 
   (c) Aggravated discharge of a firearm, 720 
ILCS 5/24-1.2; 
   (d) Reckless discharge of a firearm, 720 ILCS 
5/24-1.5; 
   (e) Unlawful sale of firearms, 720 ILCS 5/24-3; 
   (f) Unlawful possession of firearms and firearm 
ammunition, 720 ILCS 5/24-3.1; ... 
   (f) Remedies. 
   (1) In the event a court determines property to 
be a chronic nuisance property, the court may 
order that the property be closed and secured 
against all use and occupancy for a period of not 
less than 30 days, but not more than one hun-
dred eighty days (180), or the court may employ 
any other remedy deemed by it to be appropri-
ate to abate the nuisance. 
    (2) In addition to the remedy provided in sub-
section (1) above, the court may impose upon 
the owner of the property a civil penalty in the 
amount of up to $100.00 per day, payable to the 
City of Springfield, for each day the owner had 
actual knowledge that the property was a public 
nuisance property and permitted the property to 
remain a chronic nuisance property. .... 
 
[Springfield City Code codified through Ord. 
858-11-07 enacted Nov. 20, 2007] 

 
 
 

INDIANA 
IND. CODE 

 
Title 35. Criminal Law and Procedure 

 
Article 47. Weapons and Instruments of 

Violence 
 

Chapter 1. Definitions 
 

    35-47-1-1. Applicability of definitions in 
chapter. The definitions in this chapter apply 
throughout this article. 
    35-47-1-2. "Alcohol abuser". "Alcohol abus-
er" means an individual who has had two (2) or 
more alcohol related offenses, any one (1) of 
which resulted in conviction by a court or treat-

ment in an alcohol abuse facility within three (3) 
years prior to the date of the application. 
    35-47-1-3. "Dealer". "Dealer" means any per-
son who holds himself out as a buyer and seller 
of handguns on a regular and continuing basis. 
    35-47-1-4. "Drug abuser". "Drug abuser" 
means an individual who has had two (2) or 


