ATF seal
ATF text
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Reward Notice

For Immediate Release

Thursday, June 23, 2022
Contact: PIO Ashlee J. L. Sherrill

ATF Offers Reward for Information Related to Harwood Church Arson

FARGO, N.D. – The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, along with its investigative partners, is offering a reward of up to $5,000 for information that leads to the arrest and conviction of the person or persons responsible for the arson of the Maple Sheyenne Lutheran Church near Harwood, North Dakota.

The church, located at 8711 40th Ave. North, just outside of Harwood, caught fire Friday morning, June 16, causing significant damage to the structure.

An ATF Certified Fire Investigator, who typically responds to fires related to houses of worship, worked alongside the Cass County Sheriff’s Office, the North Dakota State Fire Marshal’s Office, and the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation to determine that the fire at the church was a result of an act of arson, classifying the fire incendiary.

Anyone with information about this incident or identification of the individuals involved is asked to contact ATF. Call 1-888-ATF-TIPS (1-888-283-8477), email or submit information anonymously via or the Report It mobile app, available on Google Play or Apple Apps Store. When using Report It, select “ATF – St. Paul Field Division” as the reporting agency.

For those providing information, include as many details as possible relating to the fire and/or the identity and whereabouts of the individual or individuals responsible for the blaze. If a reward is sought, please include your name and contact information. To be eligible for the reward, information provided must lead to the arrest and conviction of those responsible for the arson.

ATF is the federal agency with jurisdiction for investigating fires and crimes of arson at houses of worship. For more information about ATF, go to or follow @ATFHQ on Twitter. Follow @ATFStPaul on Twitter for ATF news in North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

St. Paul Field Division