Permanent Brady Permit Chart

Prepared by: ATF Office of Enforcement Programs and Services

Last updated: August 10, 2023

Note: Notwithstanding the dates set forth below, permits qualify as alternatives to the background check requirements of the Brady law for no more than 5 years from the date of issuance. The permit must be valid under state law in order to qualify as a Brady alternative.

State / Territory Qualifying Permits
Alabama None
Alaska Concealed weapons permits marked NICS-Exempt
American Samoa None
Arizona Concealed weapons permits qualify.
Arkansas Concealed weapons permits issued on or after April 1, 1999 qualify. *
California Entertainment Firearms Permit only
Colorado None
Connecticut None
Delaware None *
District of Columbia None *
Florida None *
Georgia Georgia firearms licenses qualify.
Guam None *
Hawaii Permits to acquire and licenses to carry qualify.
Idaho Concealed weapons permits qualify.
Illinois None
Indiana None
Iowa Permits to acquire and permits to carry concealed weapons qualify.
Kansas Concealed handgun licenses issued on or after July 1, 2010 qualify as alternatives to the background check.
Kentucky Concealed Deadly Weapons License (CDW) and Judicial Special Status CDW issued on or after July 12, 2006 qualify.
Louisiana Concealed handgun permits issued on or after March 9, 2015 qualify. Lifetime Concealed Carry Permits qualify for the initial five-year period beginning on the original issuance date.
Maine None *
Maryland None *
Massachusetts None *
Michigan Licenses to Purchase a Pistol (LTP) are the only permits that qualify as a NICS alternative.


Mississippi License to carry concealed pistol or revolver issued to individuals under Miss. Stat. Ann. § 45-9-101 qualify. (NOTE: security guard permits issued under Miss. Stat. Ann. §97-37-7 do not qualify).
Missouri None *
Montana Concealed weapons permits qualify.
Nebraska Concealed handgun permit qualifies as an alternative. Handgun purchase certificates qualify.
Nevada Concealed carry permit issued on or after July 1, 2011, qualify.
New Hampshire None
New Jersey None
New Mexico None
New York None
North Carolina Concealed handgun permits qualify.
North Dakota Concealed weapons permits issued on or after December 1, 1999 qualify. *
Northern Mariana Islands None
Ohio Concealed weapons permits issued on or after March 23, 2015 qualify.
Oklahoma Self Defense Act Handgun Licenses issued after November 1, 2021 qualify (during the initial five-year period only) beginning on the original issuance date.
Oregon None *
Pennsylvania None
Puerto Rico None
Rhode Island None
South Carolina Concealed weapons permits qualify.
South Dakota

Gold Card Concealed Pistol Permits and Enhanced Permits to Carry a Concealed Pistol issued on or after January 1, 2017 qualify. Regular Concealed Carry Permits issued on or after July 1, 2018 qualify.

Tennessee None
Texas License to Carry qualify.
U.S. Virgin Islands None
Utah Concealed weapons permits qualify.
Vermont None
Virginia None
Washington None
West Virginia Concealed handgun license issued on or after June 4, 2014 qualify.
Wisconsin None
Wyoming Concealed weapons permits qualify.

* While certain permits issued in these states prior to November 30, 1998 were “grandfathered” as Brady alternatives, none of these grandfathered permits would still be valid under State law as of November 30, 2003.

Last Reviewed August 10, 2023